Pei Wei Asian Diner Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
51%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Pei Wei Asian Diner Owner Lorne Goldberg (no image)
Lorne Goldberg
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced work environment, great people to train(in 29 reviews)

  • "Culture, location, free food benefit(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management has ZERO loyalty nor do they care about their field operators(in 14 reviews)

  • "Takes a lot of multitasking and fast paced decision making that isn't good for a first job, despite paying like a first job(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great first job

      Mar 4, 2021 - Keyholder 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is great and it’s easy to get promoted.

      Cons

      Workload can be overwhelming and long hours can be taxing.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee

      pretty good

      May 30, 2021 - Front of House Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      pretty good, very chill environment

      Cons

      it can be slow sometimes

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pei Wei Asian Diner Response

      Sr HR Manager

      Thanks for your feedback! We are glad that you had a positive experience working for Pei Wei. Pei Wei is always hiring so keep us in mind for your future employment needs.

    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It was good

      May 28, 2021 - Server in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good food. Pay was good

      Cons

      Not many tips. Very busy

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pei Wei Asian Diner Response

      Sr HR Manager

      Thanks for your feedback! We agree that that we have great food and service and we are glad that your experience was a positive one. Pei Wei is always hiring and we have many Team Members that are "re-hires". Please keep us in mind as a potential "new" employer.

    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      May 29, 2021 - Cashier/Food Runner in Bixby, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone I worked with over the years were so great in helping me understand the restaurant business and I was able to develop really proficient customer service skills because of it.

      Cons

      Like at any restaurant, some customers are more displeasing than others. Just part of the job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pei Wei Asian Diner Response

      Sr HR Manager

      Thanks for your comments. It sounds like you found your time spent with the company beneficial to your career. I will pass on your feedback about the food quality. Pei Wei has always prided itself on providing great qualify food and excellent guest service. You should check out our newest menu items crafted by celebrity Chef Jet Tila.

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      pretty solid first job

      May 24, 2021 - Sales Associate in Brea, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very lenient management and straight forward job

      Cons

      understaffed most of the time

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pei Wei Asian Diner Response

      Sr HR Manager

      Thanks for your comments! AT Pei Wei, our Management team strives to work with our Team Members and create a good working environment for all. Staffing is always a challenge. If you are looking for employment, you might re-visit working for Pei Wei. Many of our Team Members are re-hires.

    6. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Nice

      May 24, 2021 - Line Cook 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Okay Nice company nice people.

      Cons

      Nothing bad at all nice job

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pei Wei Asian Diner Response

      Sr HR Manager

      Thanks for your feedback! We are glad that your experience with Pei Wei was a positive one. If you are are seeking employment in the future, please consider coming back to Pei Wei. We are always looking for passionate, energetic people who love great food!

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Nice enough for near minimum-wage food service

      May 19, 2021 - Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers were great, food discount was nice

      Cons

      Like most food service: stressful, low pay, no benefits, crazy scheduling

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pei Wei Asian Diner Response

      Sr HR Manager

      Thanks for your feedback! We agree that our employees are the best! You are correct when you say food service can be stressful and scheduling can get "crazy". It has been difficult over the past year. We do offer benefits to employees that average 30 hour or more per week and we offer a Tele-Medicine benefit FREE to ALL of our employees. Pei Wei is committed to improving our environment. If it has been a while since you worked for us, maybe it's time to re-visit us as a potential employer. We are hiring at most locations!

    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not ideal for an Adult with experience.

      Mar 12, 2021 - Server/Waiter in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The food, it's wonderful! Oh and some service alcohol so that's a plus

      Cons

      Your treated like your an incompetent idiot, talked down to, previous experience has like 0 concideration, you will be humiliated in front of co-workers and if you have any problems with anyone above you and voice your concerns, you better start looking for a new job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      fair overall

      May 7, 2021 - Cashier 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      free food on doubles. half off otherwise. Worked there for 3 years and never got sick of the food.

      Cons

      got bored during dead hours.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pei Wei Asian Diner Response

      Sr HR Manager

      We agree with you when you say you will never get tired of our Menu. You should stop by and try our NEW House Special Chicken and Mongolian Green Beans inspired by Celebrity Chef, Jet Tila. These days, there are not many "dead hours" so I can assure you that you won't get bored. Pei Wei is looking to hire more people like you. Check out our openings on Glassdoor or at peiwie.com/careers!

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      General manager

      May 10, 2021 - General Manager in Pembroke Pines, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pei Wei let’s me be me

      Cons

      Heavy work load for less pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pei Wei Asian Diner Response

      Sr HR Manager

      Thanks for your review! It is part of Pei Wei's culture to encourage Team Members to be themselves and to help them grow to become their "Best Self" though training and development. There have been many challenges over the past year which we could not have overcome without the dedication and hard work of so many Team Members like you. Thank You!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 426 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Pei Wei Asian Diner Job Seekers

    General Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Cashier/Front of House Team Member
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Pei Wei Asian Diner? Share Your Experiences

    Pei Wei Asian Diner logo
    or