Pei Wei Asian Diner Reviews | Glassdoor

Pei Wei Asian Diner Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 331 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
John 'J ' Hedrick
34 Ratings
Pros
  • "Fast paced, no late nights or early mornings(in 28 reviews)

  • "Great people, good management, good food and food discount for employee(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Upper management has ZERO loyalty nor do they care about their field operators(in 13 reviews)

  • "Bad Managers, Medium or Long Hours(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Solid Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Busser 

    I worked at Pei Wei Asian Diner part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid hours whether it was part-time or full-time. I like food so this was an easy place to enjoy working at.

    Cons

    If you don't like the restaurant/food & beverage industry, then you probably should not work here.

    Pei Wei Asian Diner2019-06-17
  2. "It’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

      I worked at Pei Wei Asian Diner part-time

      Pros

      Somewhat free food Cool coworkers

      Cons

      No sitting Short breaks Long hours

      Pei Wei Asian Diner2019-06-18
    • "Great place, amazing environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Cashier/Front of House Team Member in Sugar Land, TX
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Pei Wei Asian Diner full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Helpful co workers, everyone is friendly, When you have questions they answer patiently and kind. Managers very flexible and understanding.

      Cons

      Not too much bad to say, they are understaffed but they are working on it. They were honest about the things that need to be fixed within the store as far as getting it up to company standards.

      Advice to Management

      Nothing bad to say, I have two great managers, Marvin and Carl, very helpful, honest and only ask for you to do your job, and they like to check on you to make sure you're not overwhelmed.

      Pei Wei Asian Diner2019-06-12
    • "Overworked and Underpaid"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Front of House in Charlotte, NC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Pei Wei Asian Diner part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      50% Off Employee Discount on food items Very Flexible Work Schedule Individual Tasks are Simple and Easy Hours are always available at request

      Cons

      Often Underemployed, causing employee to be seriously overworked No Employee Contract (You don't have a definition of what you signed up to work for) Company demands employees deceive and overcharge customers Company often requires employees to engage in potentially fraudulent sales activity to boost profits Customers often take advantage of management and employees to get free food No cameras or protection for employees...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Please, do not refund every customer with a supposed complaint- many of them are just trying to get free food. Please, do not refund or aid a customer complaining about their meal when they already got halfway through it- they're usually just trying to rip you off. Please, consider how your employee's ideas or work methods may help to improve your work environment and profits. Please, protect your employees and...

      Show More
      Pei Wei Asian Diner2019-06-26
    • "It's Fine"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Dishwasher 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Pei Wei Asian Diner part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      It paid the bills. Interim manager at the time was good.

      Cons

      The manager at the time was rarely present.

      Pei Wei Asian Diner2019-06-11
    • "Pei Wei Asian Diner"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Supply Chain Specialist 

        I worked at Pei Wei Asian Diner full-time

        Pros

        Small department, so everyone helped each other with the tasks at hand. Supportive team that pushes each other to learn more about the industry and promotes self growth.

        Cons

        I could not tell you, I loved working there!

        Pei Wei Asian Diner2019-05-31
      • "Good food"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Dishwasher in Bee Cave, TX
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Pei Wei Asian Diner full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        They have some good sushi

        Cons

        Their peanuts on noodles are bad

        Advice to Management

        Y'all need some help

        Pei Wei Asian Diner2019-05-04
      • "Nice Job , horrible management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Guest Service Team Member - Cashier in Plantation, FL
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Pei Wei Asian Diner part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Nice environment, nice people and co workers

        Cons

        management sucks , low on product

        Advice to Management

        get it together

        Pei Wei Asian Diner2019-05-01
      • "Not recommended"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Dishwasher 

          I worked at Pei Wei Asian Diner part-time for less than a year

          Pros

          No pros at all really

          Cons

          Very hard work. 1 star

          Pei Wei Asian Diner2019-06-04
        • Helpful (1)

          "Its ok"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Restaurant General Manager in San Antonio, TX
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at Pei Wei Asian Diner full-time

          Pros

          Pay is good. Nice bonus if you qualify

          Cons

          Since the split from changs. They have cut labor to almost nothing. And all thry care about is SMG even telling you to just get it done. We dont czre how

          Advice to Management

          No

          Pei Wei Asian Diner2019-04-22
        Found 331 reviews