Peking Handicraft Reviews | Glassdoor

Peking Handicraft Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Dicky Lo
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Home Goods Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Goods Account Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Peking Handicraft full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great experience working with a top notch team. Working in a cross cultural atmosphere was challenging in a positive aspect. I learned to be very clear and concise with my team members as their native language was not english. The management was excellent!

    Cons

    3 day trips back and forth to China were killers, but that really isn't a con. The president always made sure we explored the cites and country side, and he was our guide. What fun!

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    Peking Handicraft2015-09-11
  2. "PD/Design"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peking Handicraft full-time

    Pros

    Nice owners. Good working hours.

    Cons

    Seems all reviews are always about the two horrible VPs. Sad to say it's all true. The third VP I have to say is the only decent human being who stays professional and fair at all time. I have seen her grow and groom her design team, and she is a wonderful boss and asset to the company. She plans ahead and thinks big picture.

    Advice to Management

    Give the VP of design a big raise. She deserves it.

    Peking Handicraft2019-01-14
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Only good if you need a paycheck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Development Coordinator in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peking Handicraft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A steady paycheck, nice co-workers

    Cons

    Toxic senior management, two women in particular who are so profoundly professionally insecure, they will make sure anyone who is seen as equally competent will get fired or never get promoted. As a result, there is no career advancement in design or product development possible here. The company owners have allowed this to exist for more than a decade. Nothing will change until the two women in question retire. New...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    These women in senior management may be seen as "knowing everything" but this is not brain surgery or rocket science, it's comforters, shams and sheets. Everyone is replaceable.

    Peking Handicraft2019-01-07
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Awful place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peking Handicraft full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    On-site parking, friendly co workers

    Cons

    Unprofessional management, micro management, no career growth since it’s a small family-owned company.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management needs to more professional. There were some managers that would scream and bully their employees.

    Peking Handicraft2018-04-23
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Dont work for a chinese run company.. They are only nice to their own kind..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peking Handicraft full-time

    Pros

    none could think of.

    Cons

    Treat employees not equal.. And alot of management issues. Due to cultural difference thought process is not fair and needs improvement. From communication, trusting their employees.. Dirty... office , break room, bathrooms..

    Advice to Management

    Without your employees you wouldn't have a business. Treat them with respect and fairly.

    Peking Handicraft2018-03-27
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Toxic PD Mgmt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Peking Handicraft full-time

    Pros

    Good support from China, free parking.

    Cons

    Long-time complaints on key managers with no action.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to attract and keep good people, you have to develop people under the current toxic managers and hold these managers accountable for their behavior.

    Peking Handicraft2017-11-15
  7. "Not Good for a First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peking Handicraft full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Parking on site and close-ish to city.

    Cons

    Frankly terrible Company Community. Very micro-managed.

    Peking Handicraft2017-10-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "good company if you want to work hard with less pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Peking Handicraft full-time

      Pros

      none , nothing at all

      Cons

      no management at all, so everything by yourself

      Advice to Management

      need improve management

      Peking Handicraft2017-08-03
    • Helpful (4)

      "horrible upper management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Peking Handicraft full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      owners are nice. not too involved. not in a crowded area so parking is great! close to SF.

      Cons

      Wonderful leadership from the VP of Design. She is a forward thinker, and very supportive. The other VPS are gossipy and horrible humans. They love to talk about about the staff.

      Advice to Management

      Get rid of the two bad seeds. People will not stay in these conditions under these two.

      Peking Handicraft2017-07-28
    • Helpful (1)

      "Business analyst"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South San Francisco, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Peking Handicraft

      Pros

      Laid back environment. Nice coworkers, great 401 k,

      Cons

      Poor management. You have no right to explain your side. You must follow whatever they say. You should work by your own and shouldn't gossip.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your employees.

      Peking Handicraft2017-05-20
    Found 24 reviews