Pen-Cal Administrators Reviews | Glassdoor

Pen-Cal Administrators Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Bob Penland
1 Ratings
  1. "Longevity and Still on The Rise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - California in Livermore, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pen-Cal Administrators full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    After surviving many turns in the economy through fifty years of business. Executive Management is on a the right path for new growth by strategizing and aligning with some of the major players in the financial industry. Flexible schedule and easy drama free environment.

    Cons

    Some communication gaps and a thinly spread workforce.

    Pen-Cal Administrators2017-01-18
  2. "Client service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Pen-Cal Administrators full-time

    Pros

    Good people and environment office settings

    Cons

    Bad communication with upper management

    Pen-Cal Administrators2018-09-12
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Don't work here in management if you are a woman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Manager in Danville, CA

    I worked at Pen-Cal Administrators full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Generally great people in non-management roles

    Cons

    When I worked there, I was the only woman manager. I tried to tell myself that it wasn't a big deal, but there was a reason. It really felt like a "good old boys" environment. They preferred mediocre work from someone who kept his head down all the time to someone who got her work done quickly and efficiently and kept a work-life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees and treat them with the respect they deserve. Reward good work and not just long hours.

    Pen-Cal Administrators2016-07-24
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Do not recommend this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pen-Cal Administrators

    Pros

    Casual environment. Cafeteria contribution of $500/month for health insurance expenses - the only meaningful benefit.

    Cons

    Nepotism at its highest degree. Most hire/promotion are among friends and families or by default with or without merit. The CEO seems to care only about his sales and commissions and forgets he also has a company to run. There is no sharing of profit or bonus, instead the CEO gives one employee an “employee of the year” award. The value is very small, considering there is only one person to give to once a year!...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The problem is the off putting culture and very poor management approach and decisions. More collaboration, respectfulness, humility and less arrogance will be the starting point. Notice all reviews are the same over the years? There’s got to be some truth in it.

    Pen-Cal Administrators2016-01-23
  5. "Status Quo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Pen-Cal Administrators

    Pros

    Friendly work environment and flexible scheules

    Cons

    Not many move up opportunities available and usually short staffed

    Pen-Cal Administrators2015-02-09
  6. "Do not Join!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pen-Cal Administrators full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small family owned company that has been in business for over 50 years. Not a meritocracy. Management is attempting to merge departments and cross train, creating more teamwork. Unfortunately creating more work for everyone.

    Cons

    No retirement benefits, bonuses, or even direct deposit. They lay off or fire employees about every couple of months since I've worked there.

    Advice to Management

    Management does not care of employees. It only cares of its family members.

    Pen-Cal Administrators2013-08-19
  7. "Employees do not feel valued"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Pen-Cal Administrators

    Pros

    Small family owned company that has been in business for over 50 years. Management is attempting to merge departments and cross train, creating more teamwork.

    Cons

    No retirement benefits, bonuses, or even direct deposit. They lay off or fire employees about every 6 months since I've worked there.

    Advice to Management

    Work on retaining your employees and keeping them happy. Provide more incentives for a job well done. Discourage gossip and encourage teamwork. More education and training opportunities.

    Pen-Cal Administrators2010-02-03
Found 7 reviews