Pendleton Woolen Mills Reviews | Glassdoor

Pendleton Woolen Mills Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
49%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Pendleton Woolen Mills CEO John Bishop (no image)
John Bishop
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Culture throughout production facilities and corporate office and stores is archaic which becomes negative to the point of oppressive(in 4 reviews)

  • "No 401K matching, no wifi, very few positions have work trips, no work phone, barely any events where employees can bond(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Building Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pendleton Woolen Mills full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work for

    Cons

    Location of the corporate office

    Pendleton Woolen Mills2018-05-08

    Pendleton Woolen Mills Response

    October 16, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to express that you enjoy working here. Your comments are very much appreciated.

    Continue reading
  2. "Dead end job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pendleton Woolen Mills full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great product but over priced.

    Cons

    Product is over priced to a degree that it’s insulting to the customers. Manager was a bully and incompetent, punished employees who did well or otherwise did anything management wasn’t capable of doing. I spent 5 years with this company and I’ve seen how terrible they treat the retail store workers, only managers and corporate employees are valued at all. Don’t expect good work ethic to get you anywhere.

    Continue reading
    Pendleton Woolen Mills2019-11-19
  3. "Part Time Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pendleton Woolen Mills part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great coworkers, laid back, flexible hours, positive work environment.

    Cons

    technology used is extremely outdated and causes many inconveniences.

    Pendleton Woolen Mills2019-10-29
  4. Helpful (10)

    "The dream of the 80's is alive and well at Pendleton!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Corporate Office Employee in Portland, OR

    I have been working at Pendleton Woolen Mills full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pendleton products are generally quite good, and the discount provided is possibly the only benefit to working for this company

    Cons

    The company is run by entitled white men with no awareness of how deep the divide between their employees and their own is. Senior management regularly and openly espouse extreme right-wing ideology in the work environment Most lower-level employees are required to do what would be two or more full-time positions in another company, while getting paid significantly less than industry standard. Promotion in the company is strictly based on personal preference, social networking, or shared religious practices. There is nearly no diversity in the corporate office where all decisions are made- there are possibly as many as six non-white people in the entire downtown office of a couple hundred. No person of color will ever rise above entry level. Jobs are created and posted to direct toward specific individuals without consideration of others who may be qualified. Internal applications are regularly "lost" until it's too late to be considered for another role. Human Resources works diligently to cover all abuses and protect any senior management from the consequences of sexist, racist, or overtly politically charged behavior. The body of employees knows that they cannot bring workplace misconduct to HR because they will be exposed, humiliated, and retaliated against. They solicit feedback to improve the company, and when provided with less-than-stellar reviews, they argue with and humiliate the employees instead of trying to learn from it.

    Continue reading
    Pendleton Woolen Mills2019-10-11

    Pendleton Woolen Mills Response

    October 16, 2019

    Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. It is unfortunate that you are not satisfied with the outcome of working with HR. HR's door is always open and if you feel that you cannot talk with HR, we encourage you to share your concerns with your Manager or department head. We want all of our employees to feel safe, comfortable, supported and productive. We hope that we can work together to address your concerns.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Lots of pros, and lots of cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apparel Creation in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pendleton Woolen Mills full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Amazing place to learn the ins and outs of the corporate world -The heritage is strong and the product has a history -You have lots of responsibility. If you're good, they trust you and you can have your hands in many aspects of the business. -Easy to discuss ideas and your work alongside VP's so many can hear your idea if you speak up -Great place to start if you are young and just need to get started in the apparel/textile industry -In the Pearl, although many homeless, it is very accessible with the max and walking distance to many great lunch and dinner spots -Like a mini work family, you can learn everyone's name in a few months and people are friendly -They recently invested in a new PLM/ERP system that although has kinks, is now very helpful -The sample sales are amazing -Some managers are great and very understanding

    Cons

    -A great place to get in and get out because of the extremely low salaries (unless your partner makes a lot of money or you have a trust fund - no one else can survive while working here long term) -No movement in the company because all managers and senior positions are held by people that have been there for 10 to 40 years. -When someone does leave and a position opens up, they prefer to high external candidates -They will allow you to take on a lot more responsibility but say there is no way they can pay you more -HR listens to the issues going on and does nothing -There are many in upper management that are not motivated to get their work done -No 401K matching, no wifi, very few positions have work trips, no work phone, barely any events where employees can bond -Only 2-4% raises each year, even if your department or you personally exceeded goals -Very few people have ever been approved to do home office (no laptops) -If high up managers stay in their budget (by not paying employees more) they get a yearly bonus. Only probably the top 5% (VPs and Directors) get bonuses. -Recently many people have been leaving and they have not been filling the positions because they want to save money, but this could be their chance to promote from within, move people around or give people covering for them a raise

    Pendleton Woolen Mills2019-09-19

    Pendleton Woolen Mills Response

    October 16, 2019

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your time at Pendleton Woolen Mills. I'm sorry you did not have a great experience during your time here, and it is true that working at Pendleton Woolen Mills is not for everyone. We thank you for your time here and your contributions while you were with us. We wish you the best.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Dead End Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pendleton Woolen Mills part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Customers are nice -Amazing discount -Newest products to buy -Pacific Northwest Pride -Amazing coworkers, like family

    Cons

    -Management is awful -Hours were sporadic. -Pay was not livable. -Coworkers were miserable. -Nothing ever was fixed or updated.

    Continue reading
    Pendleton Woolen Mills2019-10-18

    Pendleton Woolen Mills Response

    November 6, 2019

    We appreciate that you have taken the time to leave a review of your time working here, but wish your experience had been more positive. We are working every day to engage and recognize our store ambassadors. We would like to hear your ideas for improving the employee environment if you'd like to share with us. Our Director of Stores would be happy to hear from you by phone or email.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Dazed and confused from the top down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pendleton Woolen Mills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The discount is good overall

    Cons

    The good discount is necessary to allow employees to purchase the items as the cost is high and pay is low. Quality of product is declining. No chance for advancement unless you're one of the chosen few. Extreme clique mentality in stores, bullying and harassment is ignored. Corporate only thinks/cares about what works in their location.

    Continue reading
    Pendleton Woolen Mills2019-08-28

    Pendleton Woolen Mills Response

    November 6, 2019

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your taking the time to let us know about your experience, even though it is not a positive one. We are committed to building a fair, warm, and supportive environment in our stores. We want to identify the roadblocks that are keeping us from that goal, and our Director of Stores would appreciate and welcome hearing from you via email or phone.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It can be whatever you make it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pendleton Woolen Mills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Patient leadership and unique brand. The size allows and encourages employees to stretch beyond job titles and responsibilities.

    Cons

    Tough place to work if you expect your job and responsibilities to be specialized. Generalists with diverse knowledge do much better. It can be perceived as an opportunity or a burden based on perspective and personal drive.

    Continue reading
    Pendleton Woolen Mills2019-04-20
  9. "Used to be a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 

    I worked at Pendleton Woolen Mills full-time

    Pros

    Great products and great direct reports but they leave because the pay is bad

    Cons

    Poor culture and no learning and development

    Pendleton Woolen Mills2019-04-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "After 100 years, still don’t know who their consumer is."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Portland, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pendleton Woolen Mills full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open to new ideas and little micro management

    Cons

    Unqualified management/owners Pay is well under the typical standard Lean personnel so many positions should actually be held by multiple people

    Pendleton Woolen Mills2019-02-19
Found 59 reviews