KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Penguin Group

Is this your company?

Penguin Group

Add a Review

Penguin Group Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 106 of over 137 reviews

4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Penguin Group Chairman and CEO John C. Makinson
John C. Makinson
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "I learned a lot and took home a lot of free books(in 17 reviews)

  • "Summer fridays hour lunch, vacation time(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Increasing pressure to produce "hits" meant long hours under a lot of pressure(in 7 reviews)

  • "Low pay and limited progression(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great place to work. Run well, great benefits, clear expectations.

      Apr 17, 2020 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great hours, passionate work, organized teams, summer fridays!

      Cons

      Some favoritism, pay could be better.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good!

      Feb 1, 2020 - Business Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong Management- great benefits, Vacation time

      Cons

      Compensation, extensive travel schedule, HR

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place

      Jun 27, 2019 - Customer Service Representative in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Summer fridays hour lunch, vacation time

      Cons

      Ot long hours poor management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      good place to get started

      Feb 16, 2019 - Associate Publicist in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learned a lot, pay wasn't bad, opportunity for growth.

      Cons

      Many staff and supervisors did not care enough. It was understood you would work a lot of unpaid overtime. Friends who still work there tell me that after the merger, everyone over 50 was let go.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Production Assistant

      Jan 7, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent, supportive company. Fun but also driven work environment. Treats employees very well.

      Cons

      None I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Nice atmosphere, poor management

      Nov 15, 2010 - Editor in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Penguin has a good reputation and a lot of talented editors, so there are opportunities to work on interesting/high profile projects and the quality of work is high. Editorial staff here learn a lot and make important contacts. Depending on your immediate supervisor the atmosphere is relaxed and the benefits are good.

      Cons

      Many of Penguin's practices are antiquated - even for the generally old-fashioned publishing industry - and instead of helping productivity end up creating busy work. Promotions are slow in coming and happen haphazardly. Many editors are frustrated by publisher and management decisions, but there is no way to communicate dissatisfaction or problems within departments to higher level supervisors. There is constant pressure to publish "commercial" projects and to steer away from "literary" titles, and you can expect to work late or on the weekends a few times a month.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Depends

      Feb 2, 2013 - Associate Editor in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you're really gung-ho to be in publishing, this is a good place to learn the ropes and establish contacts - especially if you happen to have a good mentor. Pleasant working environment unless you happen to work for one of the few tyrants. Okay pay but good benefits.

      Cons

      Very entrenched bureaucracy that is slow to move. There's a factory, tunnel-vision corporate mentality at management level that ensures there is a splashy, flash-in-the-pan best seller out ever season. Editors are basically allowed, occasionally, to work on innovative, quality books of long lasting value on the side. There is very high turnover, at least in my experience, and people seem to be happier with their jobs elsewhere than they were at Penguin..

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      OK if you're just starting out, but little promise for mid-career individuals.

      Apr 14, 2013 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Intelligent people who care about the products.

      Cons

      Antiquated in absolutely every category. Slow uptake on trends, technology, and collaborative thinking methods popular in other large companies. Org structure is very top-down with many in the mid- to high-level management having been in their post for several years. This is a pro as well as a con, as the people know the company, but have no other point of reference for current approaches and little interest in change. Promotions are difficult to receive as there is little elasticity in the structure and compensation is very poor.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company

      Mar 19, 2014 - Subsidiary Rights Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay was decent. Entry level was 32,000, which was a lot of money to me at the time. My supervisors were great. The environment was great. I learned a lot and took home a lot of free books. My colleagues were smart, friendly and professional. And there was a discounted gym membership which I wish I had utilized.

      Cons

      The workload was insane, and the first couple months were hell. It was very difficult to get acclimated, and I never really got comfortable. The training could have been better.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work, stuck in current position

      Jan 17, 2010 -  in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ample vacation time, half days on Friday in the summer, generally don't lay people off, 70% discount on books, casual environment, Christmas week office is closed. I work with a nice group of people. The Penguin name/buying power enables me to work with vendors in a way I wouldn't be able to with smaller publishers.

      Cons

      Bad managers aren't fired, people say in their positions for years, work not challenging/lots of downtime due to department bloat. I work on very few titles. Advances in technology has made my job more efficient but there are still the same number of people in my department, doing the same tasks. Penguin is behind the times when it comes to technology and has a lack of urgency with regards to change.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 106 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Penguin Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Penguin Group? Share Your Experiences

    Penguin Group logo
    or