Penguin Random House Reviews | Glassdoor

Penguin Random House Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Penguin Random House  CEO Markus Dohle (no image)
Markus Dohle
196 Ratings
  1. "Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Head - Infrastructure in Noida
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Good and Open Culture. - Low work pressure.

    Cons

    -Too much politics. - No area to grow.

    Penguin Random House 2019-10-18
  2. "Great work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really great work/life balance. People are passionate about what they do.

    Cons

    Salary isn't very competitive unless you have prior financial experience. Have to take a lot of initiative to move up and take on more responsibility.

    Penguin Random House 2019-10-17
  3. "buen ambiente de trabajo y beneficios"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Buenos Aires

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    varios beneficios corporativos y buen ambiente laboral

    Cons

    poca revisión salarial y bajo ajuste por inflación

    Penguin Random House 2019-10-15
  4. "Wonderful Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Publicity Manager 

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time

    Pros

    Excellent company, team, and place to work

    Cons

    It can be tough to raise salaries without moving around.

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-24
  5. "Buena"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Buen ambiente, personas amigables, bien ubicado

    Cons

    bajo sueldo no saber como seguira

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for but slow growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Graphic Designer in New York, NY
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexible hours, good company for parents, and nice office space

    Cons

    Growth is very slow, tight deadlines, and volume of work is high, salaries are low compared to other publishers

    Advice to Management

    Competitive salaries and more room for growth in the design departments would be a great incentive and motivator.

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-21
  7. "Good starting place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forklift Operator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good pay for factory work, even for those with little to no factory experience -Open opportunities for quick advancement -Overall workload isn't too hard

    Cons

    -Upper level/manager issues in certain areas of the factory provide for an undesirable work environment -Not a place for those who do not like to work in relatively hot or cold temperatures (at least in the factory)

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-20
  8. "PRH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working conditions are good, company takes care of you, good benefits

    Cons

    Pay, lack or upward movement

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-19
  9. "Largest Traditional Publisher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager in London, England

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great list and good ethos.

    Cons

    Progression difficult. Prefer you to work more for less where they can

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-12
  10. "Overall positive experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Internship in New York, NY

    I worked at Penguin Random House part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great company culture. Really friendly co-workers. I felt like they really wanted to help me learn and grow during my time there. -Was given many opportunities and tools by HR to grow my network, learn about the company, and grow professionally.

    Cons

    -Was a little isolated in my internship. There were no other interns in my department, and I received a lot of delegation via email.

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-10
Found 447 reviews