Penguin Random House Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Penguin Random House Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Penguin Random House  CEO Markus Dohle (no image)
Markus Dohle
198 Ratings
  1. "Wonderful Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Publicity Manager 

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time

    Pros

    Excellent company, team, and place to work

    Cons

    It can be tough to raise salaries without moving around.

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-24
  2. "Buena"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Buen ambiente, personas amigables, bien ubicado

    Cons

    bajo sueldo no saber como seguira

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company to work for but slow growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Graphic Designer in New York, NY
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, flexible hours, good company for parents, and nice office space

    Cons

    Growth is very slow, tight deadlines, and volume of work is high, salaries are low compared to other publishers

    Advice to Management

    Competitive salaries and more room for growth in the design departments would be a great incentive and motivator.

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-21
  4. "Good starting place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forklift Operator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Good pay for factory work, even for those with little to no factory experience -Open opportunities for quick advancement -Overall workload isn't too hard

    Cons

    -Upper level/manager issues in certain areas of the factory provide for an undesirable work environment -Not a place for those who do not like to work in relatively hot or cold temperatures (at least in the factory)

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-20
  5. "PRH"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Account Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working conditions are good, company takes care of you, good benefits

    Cons

    Pay, lack or upward movement

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-19
  6. "Largest Traditional Publisher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager in London, England

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great list and good ethos.

    Cons

    Progression difficult. Prefer you to work more for less where they can

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-12
  7. "Overall positive experience."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Internship in New York, NY

    I worked at Penguin Random House part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Great company culture. Really friendly co-workers. I felt like they really wanted to help me learn and grow during my time there. -Was given many opportunities and tools by HR to grow my network, learn about the company, and grow professionally.

    Cons

    -Was a little isolated in my internship. There were no other interns in my department, and I received a lot of delegation via email.

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-10
  8. "Friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Publicity Manager 

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good range of benefits, opportunities to meet variety of authors, kind team.

    Cons

    Limited flexibility and room for growth. Lack of diversity.

    Penguin Random House 2019-09-09
  9. "Good first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Editorial Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice staff, successful company, amazing perks

    Cons

    Feel like a #, publishing pays very little across the industry, editors are expecting to give over all their personal time to succeed

    Advice to Management

    Value work life balance and make your editorial team feel more valued

    Penguin Random House 2019-08-26
  10. "Great Benefits and Culture, Poor Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Free books all the time - Relaxed hours and flexible schedule - Company closes between Christmas and New Years (this is in addition to 20 standard vacation days) - Interesting work - Great people who are very knowledgeable

    Cons

    - I'm sure it is up to par for publishing specific jobs, but if you work in marketing or any sort of digital role the pay is waaaay below market rate. You have to love what you are doing because you could definitely make more money elsewhere.

    Advice to Management

    - Look at competitive salaries for similar IT jobs and invest in qualified employees.

    Penguin Random House 2019-08-25
Found 453 reviews