Penguin Random House Reviews | Glassdoor

Penguin Random House Reviews

Updated Nov 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Penguin Random House  CEO Markus Dohle (no image)
Markus Dohle
198 Ratings
  1. "HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A people-friendly environment with great policies to encourage work-life balance and enhance the domain knowledge of individuals.

    Cons

    Nothing that I can think of

    Penguin Random House 2019-08-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits, questionable culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Editorial Assistant 

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and perks, access to world's best books/

    Cons

    Benefits don't make up for low salaries. Little room for growth with constant corporate restructuring and questionable path for junior employees to grow. Lack of diversity.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your junior employees and provide a path for them to grow, rather than get a job elsewhere that will pay them a real living salary.

    Penguin Random House 2019-08-16
  3. "Really great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Publishing Assistant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time

    Pros

    Great company, great coworkers, great books

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons

    Penguin Random House 2019-08-13
  4. "Great balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Contracts Assistant 

    I worked at Penguin Random House full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and hours, nice people

    Cons

    Work could get boring/tedious, lack of natural light for some workspaces

    Penguin Random House 2019-08-11
  5. "most people get stuck."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penguin Random House part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    best books in the world

    Cons

    The family friendly PR doesn't translate to a family friendly culture.

    Penguin Random House 2019-08-10
  6. "Fantastic company, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic company, great benefits, focus on learning

    Cons

    low entry salary, but highest entry salary in industry

    Penguin Random House 2019-07-31
  7. "Valoración"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ejecutivo De Cuentas Por Cobrar 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Tiene buenas prestaciones, superiores a la ley

    Cons

    No hay crecimiento, te quedas en el mismo puesto si no te llevas bien con el jefe

    Penguin Random House 2019-07-21
  8. "Best employer, ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Group Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penguin Random House full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits, management, people, an all around wonderful place to work.

    Cons

    During my employment, I really enjoyed working at this location and don’t have negative feedback.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Penguin Random House 2019-07-17
  9. "Good to their employees!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Subrights Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penguin Random House full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really felt valued. Excellent benefits and work/life balance, and the best starting salary within the big 5.

    Cons

    You can’t transfer departments in your first year

    Penguin Random House 2019-07-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Soul-sucking and exploitative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Editor in Gurgaon, Haryana
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Penguin Random House full-time

    Pros

    The best in the business.

    Cons

    You are literally working 24/7. It doesn't matter even if you are hospitalised. And terrible pay. Don't invest more than 2 years of your life here.

    Advice to Management

    Increased pay and hire more.

    Penguin Random House 2019-06-25
Found 453 reviews