Peninsula Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Peninsula Consultant Reviews

Updated Mar 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
69%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Peninsula Managing Director Peter Done
Peter Done
133 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having worked in a number of in- house HR roles for several years I can honestly say that Peninsula has given me a new lease of life. I’ve been with the company for 6 months now and am on the ‘Debut Team’. I have work/life balance (something which was lacking in my previous positions) I have access to training to ensure I’m kept up to date with the latest legislation and all of the tools I need to ensure I develop and be the best I can be. Everyone is supportive from my manager to peers and it’s genuinely such a positive environment - Really glad I took the leap of faith and hope for a bright future ahead with Peninsula!

    Cons

    Not experienced any thus far.

    Peninsula2020-03-09

    Peninsula Response

    March 11, 2020Employee Engagement Manager

    We really appreciate the positive feedback. We love reading how happy our advisors are.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing atmosphere with people who you can depend on and really good company benefits.

    Cons

    None at the minute but I know if any was to arise, I could speak to my manager.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-03-12
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Workhouse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Documentation Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    HR in the job title so you can easily find a HR role elsewhere. All staff are in the same boat and you will make fast friends.

    Cons

    If you are considering a role as a HR Documentation please, please read some of these reviews in FULL. Staff are incentivised to post positive reviews and there is a culture of fear to put anyone off leaving honest reviews. On the surface, this role sounds like the ideal introduction to HR for those with little to no experience. However, the role as described in job adverts/interview/training is entirely different. This is not a HR role, you will be working in a high volume, heavily targeted call centre. There is no incentive - nor reward - for providing good service or solid HR advice to clients. The purpose of the role is so simply provide clients with one size fits all HR documents. The nature of the productivity targets means you will be penalised if you spend more that a whopping 12.5 minutes per task, a target that is simply unrealistic if you wish to truly understand what a client actually needs. If you’re happy to blindly copy and paste phrases into the same three documents day in, day out in effectively a sales-based role, then you will excel here. If you actually have any interest or regard for proper HR, look elsewhere. Peninsula appear to pride themselves on the training they provide, but if you’re looking to join the documentation team prepare to teach yourself the role while being punished for ‘not knowing’ things you’ve never been taught. Management are spread thin between a team of inexperienced employees as the staff turnover is incredibly high. This means there is little support for new staff and even less once you’ve been there over 3 months and are left to your own devices. While I understand and appreciate that EVERYONE at Peninsula is overworked, I found that there was a complete lack of respect in the way senior staff spoke to employees who were asking questions they needed answers to in order to provide a service to a client. While this would still be unacceptable if proper training were provided, it seems absolutely outrageous to be spoken to like an idiot for asking questions you’ve never EVER had the answer to. The targeted nature of the role means your every single movement is monitored. Upper management sent emails to all staff in error listing EVERY employees length of toilet break in a day, with an instruction to speak to those employees who were deemed to go over the ‘acceptable’ length of time away from the phone. They target everything. your productivity, whether you make sales, whether your calls are quality, whether you’ve signed people up to the app, whether you’ve had enough customer compliments, if you’ve had mentions on feefo. If you’re not prepared to sell yourself to meet these targets, go elsewhere. Work an internal HR role where you will gain exposure to a range of HR processes and learn to understand them, instead of learning Peninsula’s fixed answers to problems. The business as a whole has a huge problem with blame-culture, with different departments falling over each other to send work elsewhere to try and keep on top of theirs with workload. This means that clients are passed from pillar to post on a regular basis, so prepare to deal with an endless number of unhappy clients who are out for blood. And forget support from management if a client is complaining, you either fix it yourself or you become the problem. If you are considering a role in documentation I would urge you to look elsewhere. This is not what HR is about and the role will affect your confidence, mental health and enthusiasm for HR. Peninsula love to mention that they provide a full Employee Assistance Programme to staff who are struggling, but this is a bandaid to a bullet wound when the company culture itself is the root cause of most employees issues. Providing counselling to fix work-related stress is counter intuitive, and the problem ends up circular. Wait it out, find a better role. Don’t rush into a position with Peninsula, consider your options. Nobody there wishes to stay, few employees make it over a years service.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-03-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Career Changer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employment Law Consultant 

    I worked at Peninsula full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic job for establishing a robust thought process when handling HR/ Employment Law issues.

    Cons

    Everything is constantly monitored. I understand that this is important in order to deliver a consistent service but personally I disliked the lack of agency.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-02-19
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Not sustainable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great exposure to a variety of clients in different industries. It genuinely can be a good service that is very beneficial to some clients. Good holiday allowance.

    Cons

    Advertised as a HR Adviser, but it's a call centre. Ridiculous targets that don't encourage good working practices. They basically have more clients than they can reasonably handle so everyone is stretched to breaking point. Negative culture. I have personally seen several members of staff crying because they are so overworked.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-02-23
  6. "Bright employee review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It is face pace but love that, love to help our bright clients with solutions to there employee problems

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-02-11
  7. "Best place for Hard Workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Documentation Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula

    Pros

    Great Location, great people & great opportunities to succeed in your role. The support is superb!

    Cons

    Not the place for people that are afraid of working hard.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-02-04

    Peninsula Response

    February 10, 2020Employee Engagement Manager

    It isn't easy working for the market leader and we're open and honest about that. If you want to succeed and do we within the business you make your own luck and have to show initiative and go above and beyond your daily workloads. Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback we really appreciate it.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Untrustworthy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Earn lots of money if you have no conscience.

    Cons

    Just a poor numbers game, no interest in client or staff welfare. Saw colleagues crying by the way they are treated, shameful. Also clients beware of the scam, you will be signing auto renewable contracts - sales staff are told not to inform new clients of this....!!!!!! Read before you sign anything.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-03-09

    Peninsula Response

    March 11, 2020Employee Engagement Manager

    I'm disappointed to read your feedback as you'll be aware staff welfare is very high on the agenda with all employees having access to EAP support 24 hours a day and a dedicated team offering support to all our clients. We're sorry if you were not aware you had this support available, we do have posters throughout the building, articles on the internal intranet and regular updates from the EAP team. You also appear to be confused over an optional auto-renewal clause. It would appear you were unhappy for unknown reasons while with Peninsula and if you'd taken the time to raise your concerns we'd have worked happily with you to support you in any way or given you the extra training you needed to understand the business and products more clearly.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Shocking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with are lovely and get you though the day. Training is good but if you leave will pay unrealistic amounts back which isn’t clear when you join.

    Cons

    The targets are not realistic, they encourage you to not give your best as so strapped for time. They have managers who wouldn’t know leadership skills if it slapped them. They treat you like children. You are expected to stay and finish your tasks but if you take public transport or travel far you could be three minutes late and feel like you have murdered someone. All in all a very poor company that isn’t advising on HR more risk management so clients can do what they want and not face legal action, not ethical at all.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-03-03

    Peninsula Response

    March 11, 2020Employee Engagement Manager

    As a business, we're always looking to provide our employees with opportunities to expand their knowledge and training. This commitment is a mutual partnership and is fully explained to anyone who decides to take part before it starts. Our internal targets are always under review and have allowed us to maintain our position as an industry leader. We're sorry you found this focus on providing the best level of service to our clients as a downside to the business. Thanks for taking the time to contribute to our Glassdoor page.

    Continue reading
  10. "Decent First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Consultant in Toronto, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of internal movement and promotion, easy work. Amazing team members and coworkers. Great social environment.

    Cons

    Pay isn't fantastic, on the lower end of an entry level sales position. High turnover so you watch a lot of people quit or get fired soon after joining. Certain higher management can pressure managers to focus on metrics rather than deal value. Cold calling sucks so if you can't get around that then this isnt for you.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-02-01

    Peninsula Response

    February 11, 2020Employee Engagement Manager

    As a member of the sales team you're exposed the highest rewards and benefits we provide, its disappointing you've raised your pay as a con. Everyone is encouraged to perform highly and achieve the maximum for their own personal benefits. We accept this can't be achieved all day everyday, if you don't feel you're receiving the support we suggest you raise this with your manager so we can discuss it.

    Continue reading
Found 185 reviews