Peninsula Employment Law Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Peninsula Employment Law Consultant Reviews

Updated Mar 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
58%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Peninsula Managing Director Peter Done
Peter Done
57 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having worked in a number of in- house HR roles for several years I can honestly say that Peninsula has given me a new lease of life. I’ve been with the company for 6 months now and am on the ‘Debut Team’. I have work/life balance (something which was lacking in my previous positions) I have access to training to ensure I’m kept up to date with the latest legislation and all of the tools I need to ensure I develop and be the best I can be. Everyone is supportive from my manager to peers and it’s genuinely such a positive environment - Really glad I took the leap of faith and hope for a bright future ahead with Peninsula!

    Cons

    Not experienced any thus far.

    Peninsula2020-03-09

    Peninsula Response

    March 11, 2020Employee Engagement Manager

    We really appreciate the positive feedback. We love reading how happy our advisors are.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Career Changer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employment Law Consultant 

    I worked at Peninsula full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic job for establishing a robust thought process when handling HR/ Employment Law issues.

    Cons

    Everything is constantly monitored. I understand that this is important in order to deliver a consistent service but personally I disliked the lack of agency.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-02-19
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Not sustainable."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great exposure to a variety of clients in different industries. It genuinely can be a good service that is very beneficial to some clients. Good holiday allowance.

    Cons

    Advertised as a HR Adviser, but it's a call centre. Ridiculous targets that don't encourage good working practices. They basically have more clients than they can reasonably handle so everyone is stretched to breaking point. Negative culture. I have personally seen several members of staff crying because they are so overworked.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-02-23
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Shocking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with are lovely and get you though the day. Training is good but if you leave will pay unrealistic amounts back which isn’t clear when you join.

    Cons

    The targets are not realistic, they encourage you to not give your best as so strapped for time. They have managers who wouldn’t know leadership skills if it slapped them. They treat you like children. You are expected to stay and finish your tasks but if you take public transport or travel far you could be three minutes late and feel like you have murdered someone. All in all a very poor company that isn’t advising on HR more risk management so clients can do what they want and not face legal action, not ethical at all.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-03-03

    Peninsula Response

    March 11, 2020Employee Engagement Manager

    As a business, we're always looking to provide our employees with opportunities to expand their knowledge and training. This commitment is a mutual partnership and is fully explained to anyone who decides to take part before it starts. Our internal targets are always under review and have allowed us to maintain our position as an industry leader. We're sorry you found this focus on providing the best level of service to our clients as a downside to the business. Thanks for taking the time to contribute to our Glassdoor page.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Poor Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employment Law Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Head office training in Manchester is ok

    Cons

    Unachievable SLAs and targets, management expect you to meet this targets every week and if they are not met it impacts your pay review. Call after call with not enough time between the calls so unable to provide sound advice. On top of this there tasks which you have to manage, which sets you up to fail. Management do not listen and are unfair, always expecting more and more from you and never rewarded for hard work. Toilet and tea breaks are monitored and is shown on a report if you spend too long on the toilet!

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-01-07

    Peninsula Response

    February 10, 2020Employee Engagement Manager

    We do work towards targets, these are reviewed and set in accordance to the industry and maintaining out position as the market leader. We expect everyone who comes to work for us to have the same drive and focus to achieving these targets and providing the best support we can to 45,000 clients. Toilet and tea breaks are not monitored we record all of our calls and absence away the software is highlighted. This would only become a problem if a regular theme is found, but even then we'd be making sure you're ok and if you needed any assistance or support yourself. Our advice line handles over 1 million queries each year and we're very proud of everyone who contributes to this. We'd be interested to read how you feel this can be improved, please contact us on feedback@peninsula-uk.com.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Employment Law Consultant in Hinckley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Superb training offered to all employees. Everyday I learn something new and if I don’t know the answer there is always someone that does. Support from management is great, they are always willing to drop everything to help you out. The benefits package is good with the opportunity to get a regular increase. It really is a good place to develop you as a person and your career.

    Cons

    None, I can not think of any.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2019-12-15

    Peninsula Response

    February 10, 2020Employee Engagement Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback, we always love reading how people love working here.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing team and colleagues, supportive management. Everyone has the chance to progress, whether it is to a different team or into management. Working on the high risk team the pressure is high but the support is there for us all. Teamwork is amazing and I’ve made friends for life. My team leader is so helpful and supportive and genuinely wants to help us succeed. I don’t ever see myself leaving Peninsula.

    Cons

    None! It’s not for everyone, people complain about targets but the targets are there so that the client gets the best experience! That’s why we are the market leader by a mile!

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2019-12-03

    Peninsula Response

    December 9, 2019Employee Engagement Manager

    We delighted to read how much you love your job, we really appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Shocking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Employment Law Consultant in Hinckley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get exposure to multiole cases

    Cons

    You are treated like a robot. There is a lack of leadership and you should not have an opinion as you will be out the door. If you want to work in a call centre and beg every customer for 5 star reviews so you hit your target and are eligible for bonus then this is the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2019-12-11

    Peninsula Response

    December 13, 2019Employee Engagement Manager

    We encourage all employees to have an opinion and give constructive feedback and new ideas. We, as you'll know reward our staff for doing this. We're sorry you didn't take the opportunity to participate in the scheme. We're sorry you appear to have been unhappy in your role, employee engagement and well being is high on the agenda at Peninsula.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employment Law Consultant in Wells, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None, I would absolutely beg anyonewith any sense of professionalism and/or bound by CIPD rules of practice NOT to get involved with these cowboys.

    Cons

    Awful management, toxic culture, terrible drive to sell even though I wasn't in a selling role. Even worse they pay someone to manage the brand's 'online reputation', because if they didn't, you'd see what it's really like.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2019-11-26

    Peninsula Response

    November 28, 2019Employee Engagement Manager

    I'm sorry it appears you didn't enjoy your time with Peninsula. We take all reviews we receive very seriously and yes we manage our online reputation, with over 40,000 reviews its needed. If you have any evidence to support your claim of illegal activities which is an extremely serious allegation please send to us urgently via feedback@peninsula-uk.com

    Continue reading
  10. "Graduate Employment Law Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Employment Law Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I would highly recommend this role. Everyone in the office is very friendly, inclusive and always asks me if I need any help. The recruitment process was very efficient. Great induction into the company and opportunities to get to know the team. Training is very good and reviews take place regularly. A genuine interest from all in the company, at all levels, in my personal and professional development. Very positive office environment and good facilities within the office. Currently working within the advice team which is a good way to build knowledge of employment law, the IT systems, and building rapport with clients.

    Cons

    There are no cons of working with this company!

    Peninsula2019-10-14

    Peninsula Response

    October 29, 2019Employee Engagement Manager

    We're pleased to read you've been impressed with the start of your Peninsula career. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

    Continue reading
Found 82 reviews