Peninsula Senior Employment Law Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Peninsula Senior Employment Law Consultant Reviews

Updated Mar 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Peninsula Managing Director Peter Done
Peter Done
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Shocking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with are lovely and get you though the day. Training is good but if you leave will pay unrealistic amounts back which isn’t clear when you join.

    Cons

    The targets are not realistic, they encourage you to not give your best as so strapped for time. They have managers who wouldn’t know leadership skills if it slapped them. They treat you like children. You are expected to stay and finish your tasks but if you take public transport or travel far you could be three minutes late and feel like you have murdered someone. All in all a very poor company that isn’t advising on HR more risk management so clients can do what they want and not face legal action, not ethical at all.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-03-03

    Peninsula Response

    March 11, 2020Employee Engagement Manager

    As a business, we're always looking to provide our employees with opportunities to expand their knowledge and training. This commitment is a mutual partnership and is fully explained to anyone who decides to take part before it starts. Our internal targets are always under review and have allowed us to maintain our position as an industry leader. We're sorry you found this focus on providing the best level of service to our clients as a downside to the business. Thanks for taking the time to contribute to our Glassdoor page.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Employment Law Consultant in Hinckley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Superb training offered to all employees. Everyday I learn something new and if I don’t know the answer there is always someone that does. Support from management is great, they are always willing to drop everything to help you out. The benefits package is good with the opportunity to get a regular increase. It really is a good place to develop you as a person and your career.

    Cons

    None, I can not think of any.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2019-12-15

    Peninsula Response

    February 10, 2020Employee Engagement Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback, we always love reading how people love working here.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Shocking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Employment Law Consultant in Hinckley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get exposure to multiole cases

    Cons

    You are treated like a robot. There is a lack of leadership and you should not have an opinion as you will be out the door. If you want to work in a call centre and beg every customer for 5 star reviews so you hit your target and are eligible for bonus then this is the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2019-12-11

    Peninsula Response

    December 13, 2019Employee Engagement Manager

    We encourage all employees to have an opinion and give constructive feedback and new ideas. We, as you'll know reward our staff for doing this. We're sorry you didn't take the opportunity to participate in the scheme. We're sorry you appear to have been unhappy in your role, employee engagement and well being is high on the agenda at Peninsula.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (12)

    "Don’t Work Here!! Leadership let Peninsula down Massively!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Employment Law Consultant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An organisation with great potential based on recruiting the right leaders for the Glasgow office. The training staff & the relevant courses & learning resources available are fantastic. I did meet some wonderful bright & passionate staff members in the Manchester & Glasgow offices. I think Peninsula have a lot of talented individuals working there.

    Cons

    My contract was breached. I was underpaid & when I challenged it, the issue was never rectified. Instead of an apology I received complete lack of accountability & deflection. The 2 line managers I had were extremely egotistical, rude, self absorbed, insensitive, non-transparent & unapproachable. I have never came across such characteristics from leadership in my working career. I had to take time off for an traumatic eye operation & recovery which affected my eye sight & ability to work. It meant I had to claim benefits to pay my bills. Peninsula deducted my final pay to cover “training costs” then the legal department sent me a letter saying “whilst we’re empathetic to your situation. We would like full payment of the training costs. Yes you heard right folks. This empathetic multi billion pound company utilised their legal powers to recuperate training costs from my when I currently am not able to work & earn £146 a fortnight form benefits and have a 2 year old son. There are no words. This was after they breached my contract of employment. Avoid this company like the plague!!!

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2019-07-25
  5. Helpful (3)

    "The Sales Department has changed my life!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked for Peninsula for over 5 years in a number of different roles in departments across the organisation. I can honestly say I have never come across a Company so committed to not only providing a fantastic service, but also to looking after their employees. I joined the sales team on floor 6 18 months ago after working within the advice and documentation departments for a number of years, and I am so happy that I made this career move. The atmosphere is fantastic and all of the Management team are so encouraging as they want to see each and every employee strive to achieve the best that they can. Employees are truly happy to come to work here each day and it is clear to see that reasons behind this relate to not only the fantastic rewards on offer, but also because of the constant support provided by the Management team. There is an extremely generous commission structure in place which is really achievable if you work hard and are dedicated to the success of the business. There are also regular incentives to encourage employees to achieve the best that they can. Those who work hard are really rewarded here. My life has been changed completely since joining the sales department, I have been able to purchase a beautiful first home and a brand new car, and I now have so much financial freedom and feel so secure. At our recent sales conference we had the big prize draw based on an incentive that had been running over the past year. Each employee in the sales team won raffle tickets throughout the year leading up to the draw based on performance and other incentives that ran. The prize was £20,000! Life changing money! I am so thrilled to say that I won!! This is just another way the company looks to reward hard work. Hard work really does pay off! I am so excited to continue building my career within Peninsula and progress further within the sales department to continue to achieve financial freedom and security.

    Cons

    There are none that I have come across. I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at Peninsula so far and look forward to the future here.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-10-10

    Peninsula Response

    October 15, 2018Employee Engagement Specialist

    Thanks for the great feedback, we're so pleased you've taken the time to write your review. Peninsula, with the right mindset and focus, can be a life chaining place! Congratulations on winning the £20,000

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Room for improvement - the potential is already there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Employment Law Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at peninsula for 3 years and had some interesting times. The training and development put into their advice team is exceptional. Genuinely you would struggle to find the kind of exposure to such a broad range of employment law issues anywhere else.

    Cons

    It's not HR. Commercially focused advice is not attractive for genuine HR professionals. More effort should be put on best practice, employee engagement, reward and recognition etc. These are the things that make real positive changes to companies and the clients moss our on all that. There's more to HR than the bare minimum legal requirements

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-10-08

    Peninsula Response

    October 10, 2018Employee Engagement Specialist

    We're sorry to read you didn't enjoy your time with the advisory team. We would like to thank you for making reference to the training and development, I'll make sure to pass your praise onto the L&D team. We would like to point out we are completely HR focused and providing world-class support to our clients is essential. Thanks for contributing to our page.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Employment Law Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Generous salaries - Family feeling contact centre - Training is second to none - Progress from within

    Cons

    - Little permanent progression opportunity at smaller sites

    Peninsula2018-07-25

    Peninsula Response

    September 26, 2018Employee Engagement Specialist

    There are always areas to progress within the company, unfortunately, the smaller sites will always have limited opportunities due to the number of employees. However, when these sites have opportunities and they are advertised internally.

    Continue reading
  8. "Fantastic Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Employment Law Consultant in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You are really valued for your contribution to the Company. It is a dynamic and fun Company to work for. Hard work is recognised and financially rewarded also. I have worked in several departments, including field based Consultant, HR Advisor and have recently moved into a sales role. The atmosphere on the sales floor is electric. I feel highly motivated to achieve whilst also enjoying a fun environment. All the staff are fully supportive of each other.

    Cons

    Not really a con, but you are expected to work hard and to put your clients first by delivering excellent service. However, the recognition and rewards for this are phenomenal.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2017-09-19

    Peninsula Response

    September 27, 2017Directors Office

    Your feedback is very much appreciated, I'll make sure to pass on your comments to Monica. The sales teams are exposed to the best rewards available to anyone within the company, but as you said to achieve these you need to put in the work. Good luck, all the best

    Continue reading
  9. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Employment Law Consultant in London, England

    I have been working at Peninsula

    Pros

    Personal development and training at peninsula are great. Being such a large company there are good opportunities for career development.

    Cons

    i am field based so the only con really is that you miss out on the social aspect of working in an office with your colleagues, however we do get to each other throughout the year.

    Peninsula2017-05-19

    Peninsula Response

    May 23, 2017Directors Office

    We do invite all our field based employees to as many of our social events as we can, however, we do know that geographically sometimes it's not possible. We really appreciate your feedback. Kind Regards, Directors Office

    Continue reading
  10. "Work, Reward, Repeat!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Employment Law Consultant in Harrogate, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love working for a Company where I can receive Commission - and I'm not in a sales role! I am a HR professional and last month alone I received over £1000 just by doing my job well and asking the question to my members "Do you know anyone else that might like an Introduction to Peninsula" and boom Sales team do the rest. I trust every department and know their team will do everything they can to ensure the members are happy so if I come across a member that has an issue, I know it will be picked up and rectified ASAP which makes life so much easier and makes the members happy! I have a Manager and department that care greatly about personal development and I have a clear path to achieve progression.

    Cons

    The quality of work expected is of a very high standard so you must want to strive for excellence, and have a good attention for detail.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2017-05-17

    Peninsula Response

    May 23, 2017Directors Office

    We need to know what your secret techniques are for getting those introductions! We really appreciate your feedback and we're delighted with how much you love working here. Thank you. Kind Regards, Directors Office

    Continue reading
Found 20 reviews