Peninsula "employment law" Reviews | Glassdoor

Peninsula Employee Reviews about "employment law"

Updated Jan 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Peninsula Managing Director Peter Done
Peter Done
520 Ratings
Pros
  • "This week I will be celebrating 10 years service at peninsula working in the Employment Law Advice Department(in 43 reviews)

  • "They reward hard work and treat people fairly(in 42 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are no cons to working here(in 41 reviews)

  • "Very fast paced environment which is not for everyone(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employment law"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Shocking Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BST in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Made some great friends along the way

    Cons

    Cannot believe how an employment law company treats its own staff, the 6th floor is nothing short of a 1940's sweatshop ran by horrific management.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2020-01-02

    Peninsula Response

    February 10, 2020Employee Engagement Manager

    The sales team in Peninsula is extremely successful and with this success comes expectations. We expect that everyone comes into the office everyday and works to their highest potential. We're aware that everyone is different and that potential is higher with some than others. We're sorry you feel that being encouraged to become successful in your role and maximise your earnings like a 1940's sweatshop, we'd respectfully disagree. We are however, thankful for your contribution to our Glassdoor page.

    Continue reading
  2. "Graduate Employment Law Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Employment Law Consultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I would highly recommend this role. Everyone in the office is very friendly, inclusive and always asks me if I need any help. The recruitment process was very efficient. Great induction into the company and opportunities to get to know the team. Training is very good and reviews take place regularly. A genuine interest from all in the company, at all levels, in my personal and professional development. Very positive office environment and good facilities within the office. Currently working within the advice team which is a good way to build knowledge of employment law, the IT systems, and building rapport with clients.

    Cons

    There are no cons of working with this company!

    Peninsula2019-10-14

    Peninsula Response

    October 29, 2019Employee Engagement Manager

    We're pleased to read you've been impressed with the start of your Peninsula career. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Culture of Presenteeism, Overworked, Underpaid, but well trained"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula

    Pros

    Good experience to a range of employment law and HR issues Friendly staff and atmosphere Transparent and clear incentives for promotion

    Cons

    Intense workload, pressure to do overtime, graduate training fee of £1200 if you leave within 2 years of joining

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2019-07-11

    Peninsula Response

    July 18, 2019Employee Engagement Manager

    We're disappointed to read your experience of working at Peninsula. We aim to make everyone's time with us enjoyable. Upon agreeing to the graduate programme you're offered the opportunity to gain fantastic first hand exposure to a wide variety of clients and issues gaining invaluable experience. You're provided as you've mentioned with a high level of training and development and enrolled on the CIPD level 7 qualification. Training agreements are standard practise across all graduate schemes and businesses in general when looking to place resources into developing its employees. We're sorry to read you don't agree that you should have to repay this if you decide to leave within a set period of time. Our graduate programme has been ranked as the number one in the Uk for 4 consecutive years and the vast majority of our graduates welcome the opportunity to progress and develop within a market leader.

    Continue reading
  4. "review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Peninsula full-time

    Pros

    Excellent experience in all Employment Law areas

    Cons

    disparity in Quality focus and KPI's

    Peninsula2019-04-16
  5. "Graduate Employment Law Field Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula for less than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for Peninsula for just over 2 months on the graduate employment law consultancy programme and the training I have received so far is second to none. Coming from a non-HR and employment law background (attaining a degree in Business Management and gaining experience in general management roles), I have been provided with excellent resources to get up to speed with the required knowledge for the role. Previously I worked on a graduate programme with another company and the materials provided pale in comparison. The company are also funding my CIPD level 7 in employment law showing continued support in my learning. My role is field based in London, where I work from home and travel across London to conduct visits with our clients. Being based from home could seem somewhat lonely but the regional managers, existing consultants and development team based at head office have been extremely supportive throughout my development and are always on hand with any questions I may have. Plus, saving time and money each day not having to commute each way to an office and the strong ethos of employees having a work life balance make it the perfect role for me. The role also includes great holiday entitlements, including your Birthday off, comes with a company car and the opportunity to earn additional commission through sales. Overall, the package for a graduate is great and I would strongly recommend a role with the company!

    Cons

    So far I am yet to find any downsides- the only thing that might not be for everyone is because the role is field based there is no requirement to go into an office everyday.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-11-12

    Peninsula Response

    November 16, 2018Employee Engagement Specialist

    Thank you for the detailed review, we love reading such positive comments. We're pleased to see your excitement in your new role and wish you all the best for your career with us.

    Continue reading
  6. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Litigation Consultant in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working for Peninsula for less than a year. This is Fast Paced, varied, interesting work covering a variety of employment law issues. This is an amazing team, very supportive and helpful. A lovely group of people especially in the legal services and work force planning departments. The work itself is engaging and requires attention to detail. Management are very supportive and take time to listen and respond. It is a very open and supportive environment. An excellent opportunity if you enjoy travel and Law.

    Cons

    There can be such a thing as too much travel at times, and the workload can vary from manageable to extremely pressured, but it is swings and roundabouts depending on client needs.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-10-05

    Peninsula Response

    October 10, 2018Employee Engagement Specialist

    Thanks for providing a review of what it's like working at Peninsula from a field perspective. We are always looking for new ways to make sure workloads are more consistent and managing travel for everyone. We appreciate the great feedback you've provided and we take on board all sections of your review.

    Continue reading
  7. "A different Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time

    Pros

    I have always worked as an 'in-house' HR professional and coming to Peninsula, specifically HRFace2Face, has certainly broadened my experience and knowledge of employment law. The role is extremely versatile in terms of what business's and people you see. I work with a fantastic team of people who are really supportive and even though you spend a lot of time on your own doing the job there is always support at the end of the phone and regular catch-up.

    Cons

    Sometimes can be long days with travel but this is something that was expected with the role.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-10-05

    Peninsula Response

    October 10, 2018Employee Engagement Specialist

    We're really pleased to see that your change of career and joining the HRFace2Face team has been successful. Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. We take on board all the feedback you've provided.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic team, really supportive, best place to gain employment law knowledge and develop further

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-10-05
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Room for improvement - the potential is already there."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Employment Law Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at peninsula for 3 years and had some interesting times. The training and development put into their advice team is exceptional. Genuinely you would struggle to find the kind of exposure to such a broad range of employment law issues anywhere else.

    Cons

    It's not HR. Commercially focused advice is not attractive for genuine HR professionals. More effort should be put on best practice, employee engagement, reward and recognition etc. These are the things that make real positive changes to companies and the clients moss our on all that. There's more to HR than the bare minimum legal requirements

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-10-08

    Peninsula Response

    October 10, 2018Employee Engagement Specialist

    We're sorry to read you didn't enjoy your time with the advisory team. We would like to thank you for making reference to the training and development, I'll make sure to pass your praise onto the L&D team. We would like to point out we are completely HR focused and providing world-class support to our clients is essential. Thanks for contributing to our page.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (13)

    "What they don’t tell you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s in the center of town. Close to transport links. Nice people to sell, work with.

    Cons

    Well where can I start, First they only give you half hour dinner and know other breaks throughout the day. If your doing sales they change the commission structure ever other month and they don’t tell you at interview have to work for 9 months till you get your first months comms. obviously they do that because if you leave they don’t pay you any commission what so ever!!!! If your a women forget bout maternity pay you don’t get it at all!! And you don’t get sick pay at all. They don’t lower your target on annual leave if your on sales so it cost you to take time of. Obviously because they are an employment law based company they know what they can and can’t get away with. They tell all there staff they have to put good reviews on sites like this, obviously because of high turnover of staff because new starters don’t stay. Please please avoid at all cost you will only regret it. I was genuinely looking forward to working there but they ground me down so save yourself the time and go somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-10-17

    Peninsula Response

    November 1, 2018Employee Engagement Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to contribute to our high glassdoor ratings. With several inaccuracies within your review, it'll be too long to address each one in turn. We'd much rather discuss your time with us face 2 face, if you'd like the opportunity to give us feedback on how we could have made your short time with us better please contact us on feedback@peninsula-uk.com

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 51 reviews