Peninsula "employment law" Reviews | Glassdoor

Peninsula Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Peninsula Managing Director Peter Done
Peter Done
532 Ratings
  1. Helpful (13)

    "What they don’t tell you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s in the center of town. Close to transport links. Nice people to sell, work with.

    Cons

    Well where can I start, First they only give you half hour dinner and know other breaks throughout the day. If your doing sales they change the commission structure ever other month and they don’t tell you at interview have to work for 9 months till you get your first months comms. obviously they do that because if you leave they don’t pay you any commission what so ever!!!! If your a women forget bout maternity pay you don’t get it at all!! And you don’t get sick pay at all. They don’t lower your target on annual leave if your on sales so it cost you to take time of. Obviously because they are an employment law based company they know what they can and can’t get away with. They tell all there staff they have to put good reviews on sites like this, obviously because of high turnover of staff because new starters don’t stay. Please please avoid at all cost you will only regret it. I was genuinely looking forward to working there but they ground me down so save yourself the time and go somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-10-17

    Peninsula Response

    November 1, 2018Employee Engagement Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to contribute to our high glassdoor ratings. With several inaccuracies within your review, it'll be too long to address each one in turn. We'd much rather discuss your time with us face 2 face, if you'd like the opportunity to give us feedback on how we could have made your short time with us better please contact us on feedback@peninsula-uk.com

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employment Law Advisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training and experience in employment law. Great autonomy given in liaising with clients which forces you to become good at building client relationships, improving your communications skills and trying your best to improve your knowledge. Would recommend Peninsula to anyone who is not afraid of a challenge, of a fast pace environment and someone who wishes to become an employment law expert.

    Cons

    Salary banding system could be improved to try to recognize people's work outside of the set KPIs.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-09-19

    Peninsula Response

    September 26, 2018Employee Engagement Specialist

    Thanks for the recommendation, we really appreciate it. We have the salary banding in place so it's clear and transparent for anyone looking to achieve their maximum potential at Peninsula. We do however take on board your feedback and we may look into ways this can be improved.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "10 years service and still loving my job & work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    This week I will be celebrating 10 years service at peninsula working in the Employment Law Advice Department. What can I say peninsula have fantastic career opportunities, great staff benefits, 1st class training and development, experience management teams and amazing staff who all work their socks off. I absolutely love my job and have been fortunate enough to have worked in some fantastic roles within the Advice Teams that have kept me motivated and personally challenged. My colleges are like my extended family and I have been blessed enough to have worked with some fantastic Team Leaders & Managers that have always supported me. It’s people like Kate Palmer the Head of Advice that inspire me to keep working at Peninsula because even as the Head of an ever changing Employment Law team she always makes time for people and encourages people to push themselves out of their comfort zone and use their creativity and individual personalities to deliver exceptional customer service as well as practical legal advice to our clients.

    Cons

    If you want to work for a company that is a leader in its market place then be prepared for hard work, fun and it’s important to be open minded to change.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-08-05

    Peninsula Response

    September 26, 2018Employee Engagement Specialist

    Thanks for the fantastic review, we love to engage with our employees and we're delighted reading the great feedback we get.

    Continue reading
  4. "Company review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent training provided, always opportunities to expand knowledge and skill set across a wide range of areas like Employment Law / HR, Health & Safety. Great atmosphere and working environment in the Dublin Office. Constant career development opportunities, always looking to promote from within the business

    Cons

    If I'm being fussy, could improve on employee engagement

    Peninsula2018-08-01

    Peninsula Response

    September 26, 2018Employee Engagement Specialist

    We appreciate the time you've taken to give us your feedback. We read and take on board all the feedback we receive via Glassdoor.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Dublin - Low Salaries compared to market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time

    Pros

    Nice friendly staff, everyone gets on well together

    Cons

    Very high staff turnover in Dublin. The salaries are on the low side and you get loaded with extra work but no reward. Manchester head office doesn't care about the staff in the Dublin office, you do not get any of the extras they say you get in the job spec. They hide behind the employment law ethos but it is all about sales and making money. They have US style sales conferences where the sales guys all clap about buying new cars etc. and get ridiculous bonus cheques.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-08-09

    Peninsula Response

    September 26, 2018Employee Engagement Specialist

    Everyone in the Dublin office has access to the same benefits that Manchester employees do. If you feel like this wasn't the case we'd love to hear in more detail why, please contact us via feedback@peninsula-uk.com

    Continue reading
  6. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is opportunity for internal progression. Very rarely do we advertise externally for roles and I have managed to progress to a Team Leader from an Employment Law Advisor within my 5 years. Peninsula offers great benefits for colleagues. Free breakfast on a Monday, gym classes, drinks after work every month, Kids Xmas Party just to name a few.

    Cons

    Can't think of one con

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-07-27

    Peninsula Response

    September 26, 2018Employee Engagement Specialist

    There are always opportunities internally and internationally to work within the group. Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, we really appreciate it.

    Continue reading
  7. "Employment Advice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Increased knowledge in Employment Law. Dealing with a wide range of queries from private and public sectors. Great team work

    Cons

    Doesn't acknowledge work/life balance Very little benefits. No room to grow

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-04-20
  8. "Career Starter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Employment Law Onsultant in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits package, pay and incentives. Good opportunity for to commence a career in employment law for HR professionals. Always presents opportunity for growth and career development.

    Cons

    Working hours/ different shifts can be an issue. Weekends on-call.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2018-04-16

    Peninsula Response

    April 19, 2018Directors Office

    We really appreciate the review, thanks for taking the time to tell us what it's like to work for Peninsula.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Atmosphere Great Stepping Stone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Atmosphere in the office, everyone seems to gel well together. For the advice and health and safety teams it's a great stepping stone for their career. For sales, they do quite well financially with commission's.

    Cons

    Salary can be on the low side but for new grads straight from college it opens many doors in HR and Employment Law. It's a Sales company rather than an Employment Law and HR company to be honest

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2017-11-15

    Peninsula Response

    December 4, 2017Directors Office

    We're pleased you find the atmosphere great within the Dublin office and that there is a togetherness about the departments. We would, however, have to disagree that we're regarded as a stepping stone. We're the market leader in our fields and we take great pride in recruiting from within.

    Continue reading
  10. "Graduate Scheme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time

    Pros

    Hit the ground running and there is a very high expectation for the graduates, but provided with the support to achieve this. Training sessions on areas of employment law are interesting and leave with a huge amount of info to digest. It’s clear that the company wants you to do well, but also that they expect a lot of a hard work on your own part. It seems like there are significant opportunities for progression. Overtime opportunities available as well. Graduate team leader is great and very helpful.

    Cons

    9-5 with only 30 minute break for lunch.

    Peninsula2017-10-06

    Peninsula Response

    October 13, 2017Directors Office

    We're pleased to read you've found the graduate program enjoyable, we have high expectations of all our employees that why we've become the market leader in HR. We're not quite sure why 9-5 with 30 minute break is a 'con' but happy to discuss if you could contact the grad team leader?

    Continue reading
Found 52 reviews