Peninsula "employment law" Reviews | Glassdoor

Peninsula Reviews

Updated Feb 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Peninsula Managing Director Peter Done
Peter Done
532 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Training and Development Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The training offered is first class and ensures that you are constantly updated with the developments in employment law. Excellent support from middle management as well as top management.

    Cons

    It is very fast paced and the advice is usually quite commercial, which isn't for everyone.

    Peninsula2016-06-18

    Peninsula Response

    June 21, 2016Online Reputation Coordinator

    We really appreciate your feedback, we are really pleased with your positive review. The advice department is always providing updates on legislation changes and updates so we can provide the very best support to our clients. Kind Regards, Dan - Directors Office

    Continue reading
  2. "Amazing opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Employment Law Consultant in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Peninsula Business Services have provided a really positive start to my career in HR and Employment Law. The training provided and constant development of both technical knowledge and general administrative skills is truly invaluable. I joined Peninsula three years ago shortly after graduating from University with a Law Degree, and I am already experiencing the fantastic opportunities for progression and career development that are on offer here. In September of last year I embarked upon the award winning Graduate scheme offered by the Employment Advice department and it was the best decision I have ever made. The level of training involved in the scheme is phenomenal and every single member of the department is approachable if ever there are any questions which crop up following a training session. Every training session was followed by an assessment to test the knowledge obtained from the training. Many different methods of assessment were used which is a fantastic way to challenge yourself (particularly in areas which are not necessarily your strongest point - my weak area is presentation work). I was lucky enough to be successful in completing the first stage of the Graduate scheme and am now putting my knowledge into practice as an Employment Law Consultant. The people of Peninsula are really friendly, knowledgeable and supportive (both on my own level and at Management level). I can honestly say that I have made some really close friends within the business during my time here so far. The Management team are by far the best I have ever experienced in my experiences of working life. The support that is offered and the achievable incentives that are put in place on a weekly or monthly basis are fantastic, this provides the requisite drive in each employee to achieve both high output of work whilst also focusing on the quality of the work that is created for our clients. The Peninsula main office in Manchester city centre is situated in an ideal location, there are fantastic benefits packages available and amazing team building/bonding activities on offer. This is truly the best place to work!!!

    Cons

    I am disappointed that I did not come across the organisation sooner. I feel that many of my years were wasted before joining Peninsula in job positions with no prospects. I have now found the perfect business where I wish to build my career.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2016-06-15

    Peninsula Response

    June 21, 2016Online Reputation Coordinator

    Thank you for such a glowing review of Peninsula. We are very grateful for your detailed experienced of the graduate scheme and employment advice department. Employee progression and development is high on the agenda here at PBS and we are always looking to improve the ways in which we push and challenge our staff. Kind Regards, Dan - Directors Office

    Continue reading
  3. "HR Documentation Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time

    Pros

    Since I've started with Peninsula, I have learnt a great deal of HR and Employment Law knowledge in a short amount of time. The work is very fast paced and great if you thrive on that as it pushes you to achieve higher. Also, the support I've had from my managers has been an excellent learning curve for me and still continues with them mentoring me.

    Cons

    I always want to achieve higher and progress quicker and the only con is that you have to wait at least 18 months to do that. I understand the reasons why but I do get itchy feet to get to the next level.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2016-06-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Ground Control ...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Employment Law Adviser in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent initial training. Commercially astute pragmatic approach to employment law

    Cons

    Diminish candidates previous qualifications, knowledge and experience to keep salary levels below what people are worth. Call Centre environment.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2016-05-14

    Peninsula Response

    May 18, 2016Directors Office

    Hello, We are disappointed with the feedback you've provided of your time with Peninsula. All employees are encouraged and pushed to achieve their full potential, this also includes increasing of salaries across the Employment Law Department. Peninsula Business Services is a professional business consultancy company and never do we refer to ourselves as a call centre nor to we treat any employees as such. Our fantastic ratings and reviews on Glassdoor are evidence of this. It is regrettable as always when someone doesn't settle with us, we wish you all the best for the future. Kind Regards, Dan - Directors Office

    Continue reading
  5. "Employment Law Consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Peninsula are a very professional and dynamic Company with a great work ethic and a drive to continuously improve its offering and customer service. It is the best Employment Law Consultancy in the UK

    Cons

    Work at Peninsula is relentless and staff can spend all day on the phone or staring at a computer screen. Interaction with colleagues is sometimes just a brief conversation about a Case.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2016-03-11

    Peninsula Response

    March 24, 2016Directors Office

    Hello, We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. We do push all departments to achieve via targets and incentives and handsomely reward those that do hit targets. Kind Regards, Dan - Directors Office

    Continue reading
  6. "Good for the short term but not a long term career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peninsula

    Pros

    -You'll learn so much about employment law in a very short time which will help massively to put you ahead of competition if you want to progress in house HR - Great internal training available -Colleagues are very keen to help. Great people there -Great bonus scheme and decent holiday entitlement

    Cons

    -Zero opportunity for flexible working or job sharing -The main thing that ruined working there for me and pushed me to pursue a long term career elsewhere is they refer to themselves as a call centre and 'call centre workers' which is a bit disheartening for professionals qualified in law and HR -Lack of earning potential. £30k seems to be the maximum (with most I'd say on £22k) and they do like putting loop holes in place so you don't get increments. Bit of a kick in the teeth when you're probably advising a client whose on at least £10k more than you within HR but with less knowledge

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2016-03-19

    Peninsula Response

    March 29, 2016Directors Office

    Hello, At Peninsula we pride ourselves, and are very focused, on internal development, whether in terms of technical specialisation or management training. All Peninsula employees are exposed to numerous opportunities to develop and progress, following in the footsteps of several Directors who started with us as trainees. The average salary for the advice department is much higher than you suggest and potential earning is well in excess of £30,000, with several members of the team enjoying such salaries. All members of the advice team are encouraged and pushed to achieve their maximum potential during their time with us, and we regret that you didn’t feel this was the case. The term ‘call centre’ isn’t used within Peninsula. We are a professional services and consultancy company that delivers expert HR, employment law and health and safety advice in instantaneous time frames to meet the needs of over 30,000 clients. To deliver this expertise at that speed, some of our functions are based in a contact centre environment, but no one is referred to as a call centre worker. We are disappointed you feel there were no opportunities for flexible working, as we do offer a wide range of shift patterns. Flexibility of working hours to maximise work life balance is high on our agenda, which is why we have reduced total working hours, whilst maintaining salary, twice over the past couple of years. It is always regrettable when an employee leaves us, but we wish you all the best for the future

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "No Monday morning fear here!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked at PBS for almost 5 years and have enjoyed my time with the company. I enjoy the fast pace and meeting different clients across every industry sector. It is a great role to build knowledge and experience in HR and Employment Law. No two clients are the same which adds variety and interest to the day. I have had a great career so far and have been recognised for my hard work over the years. I am proud to work for Peninsula.

    Cons

    There are very few cons as I really enjoy my job. I do not fear Monday mornings as I enjoy the working week. However, if I have to say a con it would be that I would like to see more positivity towards flexible working as I think that is vital in a modern workplace, also the benefits package is not so good for new starters.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2016-02-15

    Peninsula Response

    March 8, 2016Directors Office

    Hello We are always looking for new ways to improve and enhance our employees working life balance. Thank you for taking the time to provide your review and we are really pleased your so happy in your role, we love Mondays too !!! Kind Regards, Directors Office

    Continue reading
  8. "Experience, knowledge, autonomy and decent salary."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employment Law Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The opportunity to learn knowledge on an employment law and HR focused environment is unlike anything you will learn at any other company. Within weeks you are trained in all areas compared to more traditional backgrounds where the focus is relatively narrow. Peninsula gives employees this incredible broad knowledge that is implemented daily in tasks. It is an incredibly fast paced environment - no hiding at your desk for us.

    Cons

    There is a culture within the workplace that peninsula as an organisation are very inflexible. No employees seem to be successful in their flexible working request, not good for those with children. Also, they expect a high level of commercial advice given to clients and this is mirrored with a commercial approach to dealing with staff at times.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2016-02-20

    Peninsula Response

    March 8, 2016Directors Office

    Hello We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your thoughts of working for Peninsula. Internal progression and employee training is one of our main goals at Peninsula. We read each review and take all feedback on-board when we look to make improve makes to the working environment. Kind Regards, Directors Office

    Continue reading
  9. "An Amazing Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Employment Law Consultant in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time

    Pros

    Peninsula has been the best company I have worked so far with, they truly care about their employees and their clients. Everyone is so friendly, even people from different departments will go out their way to help you and the managers are very approachable and kind. Peninsula provides the best training programmes to help their employees to increase their knowledge and expertise in employment law and also provide amazing job opportunities. I have joined the graduate scheme this September and it has been an amazing experience, I have gained so much knowledge and understanding in employment law through this scheme and the trainers have been fantastic, they really make everything easier to understand and are very approachable and understanding during the training sessions.

    Cons

    To be honest, I cant think of anything wrong with Peninsula, It is the perfect company to work for when starting your career in HR.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2015-12-01

    Peninsula Response

    December 2, 2015Social media intern

    Hello, I'm pleased to hear you have been enjoying your experience as one of our graduates. We really appreciate all your comments. Thank you. Kind Regards Directors Office

    Continue reading
  10. "Excellent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employment Advice Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peninsula full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I am working for Peninsula in Dublin for almost 7 years now and have loved every minute of it. There are fantastic opportunities to progress your career and virtually everyone in a managerial role in the office has progressed internally. This emphasises the value the company places in its people. From a developmental perspective, you would learn more in two years working with the Employment Advice Service than you would in 20 years in an internal HR role. I would highly recommend that anyone interested in a career in HR or employment law start their career with the Advice Service. The introduction of structured salary guidelines in the last 12 months has been great. Highly achievable targets set against generous pay increments is a huge motivator.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons. I posted on this site previously and highlighted some cons and the company seems to have taken all on board and rectified same. This is why I have spent 7 years working here - if you give the feedback then Peninsula takes it on board.

    Continue reading
    Peninsula2015-11-24

    Peninsula Response

    December 2, 2015Social media intern

    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave us these fantastic comments about your time working for Peninsula. It's great to hear you have stayed with us so long and we are very proud to have you as one of our employees. Again we'll be sure to take all your feedback on board. Kind Regards Directors Office

    Continue reading
Found 52 reviews