Penn Medicine "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Penn Medicine Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Dec 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
85%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Penn Medicine CEO Ralph Muller
Ralph Muller
89 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I had no cons about working this job(in 9 reviews)

  • "Very low pay for technical positions(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Environment, Slightly low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Philadelphia, PA

    I have been working at Penn Medicine part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Environment to work in. Very nice people.

    Cons

    Slightly low pay for the work required.

    Penn Medicine2019-12-02
  2. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Surgery Scheduler 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penn Medicine full-time

    Pros

    Management is very nice and understanding. Benefits are great. Work environment is good.

    Cons

    I have no cons for this job.

    Penn Medicine2019-11-15
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "specimen processor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penn Medicine full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great benefits, good work environment

    Cons

    not really any cons working for penn

    Penn Medicine2019-10-27
  5. "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Desktop Support Technician in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penn Medicine for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience and work environment.

    Cons

    Hard to move ahead

    Penn Medicine2019-07-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Ruined health care for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Penn Medicine

    Pros

    Benefits, Penn employee perks. Some Coworkers

    Cons

    Management/HR have no desire to listen to your input or ideas. Reports and complaints can be made and nothing will ever be done about them. The offices are out of control, anyone can say or do whatever they want without any repercussions. Completely unprofessional work environment. Because of this job I will no longer be working in healthcare.

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees. We’re the ones taking care of the patients. Without us, there is no patients. There should be zero tolerance for childish behavior. HR should be more than just an ear to listen. Do something!

    Penn Medicine2019-03-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Falls short despite great potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Penn Medicine full-time

    Pros

    A handful of the people in some of the business areas are amazing and wonderful to work with. The potential for a great and collaborative working environment is there. The potential.

    Cons

    Poor leadership and management. They don’t want to confront problems, they prefer avoidance. There’s no consequence for workplace bullying by managers and micromanagement styles seem to be rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees, confront difficult decisions and situations and you could end up with the best teams in academic healthcare.

    Penn Medicine2019-02-09
  8. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends

    I worked at Penn Medicine for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management, Good employees. Good Work environment.

    Cons

    No Cons at this time.

    Penn Medicine2018-11-16
  9. "Administrative Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penn Medicine

    Pros

    The employees are willing to help you succeed. Great work environment, and always felt comfortable of asking questions. They really do want input from all levels.

    Cons

    It took long time to make changes because they want opinions and ideas from various levels.

    Penn Medicine2018-09-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Staff RN"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN, SFAS in Phila, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penn Medicine part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Penn values the nurses skill, judgement, and needs. They promote a comfortable working environment.

    Cons

    Because of it's sheer size, sometimes there was difficulty connecting different service lines. For example dietary option for patients was limited and often not in the best interest of the patients especially in ordering healthy dietetic options.

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice for my manager at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania. It was a wonderful place to work and my manager was supportive and amazingly competent at her job.

    Penn Medicine2018-08-14
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penn Medicine for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, very friendly managers and good pay

    Cons

    If you're not near the office in center city the travel may be inconvenient or expensive

    Penn Medicine2018-05-25
Found 34 reviews