Penn Mutual "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Penn Mutual Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated Feb 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
51%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Penn Mutual Chairman and CEO Eileen McDonnell
Eileen McDonnell
86 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with and experts in life insurance matters(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great culture, great people, progressive leadership, newly renovated building(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Horsham can be particularly cold in the winter, apart from that, not too many company specific complaints(in 5 reviews)

  • "It was a major factor in my decision to leave a field office that I thoroughly enjoyed working at(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "really really great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penn Mutual

    Pros

    great culture, great people, intimate environment

    Cons

    small-midsized, sometimes people leave to find oppertunity elsewhere

    Continue reading
    Penn Mutual2019-01-11
  2. "Warning to potential field office employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Internal Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Penn Mutual full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fantastic culture at the field office level. Great people to work with and experts in life insurance matters. Regional Office leadership is competent and visionary.

    Cons

    Many decisions come from the top down with a home office leadership that is unsure of what it is doing and appears to be squeezing the field offices for money and resources. My former colleagues recently had their incentive compensation heavily cut and I was told after I resigned that I would have been eligible for a bonus that year (the company decided to not pay out the bonus to me despite almost a decade of service). While the regional offices were the catalyst for the growth of the company for the last 15-20 years Penn appears to be cutting corners. It was a major factor in my decision to leave a field office that I thoroughly enjoyed working at.

    Penn Mutual2020-02-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Software Engineer in Horsham, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Penn Mutual for less than a year

    Pros

    In my (thankfully) very brief stint there, I met a handful of great people. For the most part, it was a very pleasant bunch.

    Cons

    Substandard technology adoption. Software engineering leaders are not adequately experienced in technology or modern software engineering workflows.

    Continue reading
    Penn Mutual2019-05-05
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Vice President in Horsham, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penn Mutual full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great people, progressive leadership, newly renovated building. Provides lot's of opportunity for advancement and the ability to get involved in different ways!

    Cons

    Hard to find many to complain about...

    Penn Mutual2017-08-12
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Financial Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penn Mutual full-time

    Pros

    Great people and senior managment

    Cons

    Focus more on just insurance

    Continue reading
    Penn Mutual2017-03-23
  6. "Internship Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Horsham, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penn Mutual

    Pros

    At Penn Mutual, I could truly say that I loved my job. Great people, great environment. I was part of their rugby sponsorship team in the marketing department.

    Cons

    I wouldn't have changed one thing about my internship experience.

    Penn Mutual2016-09-07
  7. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penn Mutual full-time

    Pros

    Great people, awesome environment and company culture, and have all the resources you could need available at anytime.

    Cons

    Don't really have much to say here, but could have a higher salary base i suppose.

    Penn Mutual2016-09-06
  8. "Good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Horsham, PA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penn Mutual full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great people, a lot of company events and volunteer opportunities to help with the community

    Cons

    Pay scale is low, not enough hiring internally

    Penn Mutual2016-06-20
  9. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internal Wholesaler in North Attleboro, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Penn Mutual full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for overall. Great people and culture. Small-company feel with big company footprint in the life insurance space.

    Cons

    Benefits could be a little better

    Penn Mutual2016-05-28
  10. "manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Horsham, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Penn Mutual

    Pros

    The company has great people to work with. Everyone gets along to achieve company goals. Nice environment..

    Cons

    There are two companies PML and HTK their broker dealer. Sometimes not enough attention and marketing support for the latter.

    Continue reading
    Penn Mutual2016-04-28
Found 12 reviews