Penn National Gaming Reviews | Glassdoor

Penn National Gaming Reviews

Updated September 18, 2017
188 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Penn National Gaming CEO Timothy J. Wilmott
Timothy J. Wilmott
44 Ratings

188 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • There are great people that work here (in 9 reviews)

  • Great place towork, excellent team (in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Chef in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great health benefits, great amount of paid time off, positive work environment, does lots of charity work, good equipment, super affordable insurance

    Cons

    Not always flexible on hours, no other cons that a large corporation would not have. For instance lots of red tape and many hands in decision making

    Advice to Management

    None

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Sep 18, 2017 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for the great review! It is nice to hear how you Work Happy at Penn National Gaming, Inc. and we are glad to have you on our team!

    We understand that there are challenges in a... More


  2. "Disrespectful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service in Charles Town, WV
    Former Employee - Food Service in Charles Town, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penn National Gaming full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Working with great people and making friends.
    Enjoyed what I loved to do.

    Cons

    Management not working or caring for the job you do or working 68+ hours.
    Management going behind your back and not confronting you for anything that you are responsible for.
    Pay is ok but not good. Sheetz pays better.

    Advice to Management

    Need better management who cares and observe better. Pay more than 3% every year. Weed out the chefs or workers who does not work.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Floor Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floor Supervisor in Columbus, OH
    Former Employee - Floor Supervisor in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Penn National Gaming full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fun position, you gain industry experience, full authority over area you are supervising, ongoing exposure to all areas floor games except poker.

    Cons

    Poor training, very unprofessional management. Gaming managers are biased against new hires, favoritism abounds within management. State Gaming standards and laws are compromised in order to appease corporate revenue.

    Advice to Management

    Unless you start cleaning up the favoritism and rule bending that is prevalent, you are due for some serious HR law suits.

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Sep 7, 2017 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review. We take this feedback seriously and value your opinion. Please feel free to reach out to our Corporate office if you feel the need to address any of your concerns.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Core Value # 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charles Town, WV
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charles Town, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    They truly live by their Core Value #1 - Employees Are Our # 1 Priority. Great benefits, 401K, HAL, paid breaks, Café, drawings, A health clinic for team members and their families, advancement opportunities, computer access -just to name a few.

    Cons

    Absolutely no cons to report

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Sep 7, 2017 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for the great review! It is nice to hear how you Work Happy at Penn National Gaming, Inc. We are glad to have you on our team!


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Steady but unrewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people to work with.
    Fast paced environment.
    Easy work with minimal skill set
    Middle management is open to feedback and honest communication

    Cons

    Unpaid job related training
    Low compensation for the market/industry
    Upper management is nearly impossible to talk to
    VERY poor health benefits
    Few advancement opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to hear your employees feedback directly. Quit cutting health benefits while raising costs. Compensate fairly for training and career development


  6. "Company is the best company I've worked for. They strive to make the employees happy almost to the point it's negative."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Tech in Toledo, OH
    Current Employee - Facilities Tech in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great opportunities to move up if you qualify , fun atmosphere where they try their best to make us happy, great equipment to get work done, supportive leadership with the exception of a few most leadership is helpful at wanting to see you rise up the ranks.

    Cons

    The fun atmosphere tends to lead to a complacent atmosphere. The leadership wants to be everyone friend and that leads to disrespect. The union also supports workers that shouldn't be supported and makes the good workers want to leave because they are overworked.

    Advice to Management

    If you want to get a handle on high turnover stop treating the working base like kids that need prizes for doing their job. Stand up to the union and get rid of the ridiculous point system.

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Sep 7, 2017 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for the great review! It is nice to hear how you Work Happy at Penn National Gaming, Inc. We are glad to have you on our team!


  7. "Great place to Work Happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming full-time

    Pros

    Know how to exemplify Core Values- especially Employee Appreciation!! Always treating employees well from free Health & Wellness Fairs to Free Employee BBQ'S to All Employee Appreciation Events!! Great place to work!! I've worked here for over 4.5 years and as long as I can, I plan on staying with Penn!

    Cons

    None to report as long as you come to do your job, you are all set!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good job!

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Sep 7, 2017 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for the great review! It is nice to hear how you Work Happy at Penn National Gaming, Inc. We are glad to have you on our team!

  8. "Not worth the money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming full-time

    Pros

    They pay well, offer a free gym on site, free drinks, fruit during the day.

    Cons

    Do not give clear direction, outline expectations, or even train you properly. Are condescending and unhelpful when asked direct questions. Senior management cannot handle honest feedback.

    Advice to Management

    Don't expect your employees to do well, or be happy in the workplace, if you cannot outline clearly your goals and expectations. And drop the ridiculous overuse of jargon.


  9. "Worst Employer Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Supervisor in Jamul, CA
    Former Employee - Food and Beverage Supervisor in Jamul, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Penn National Gaming full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The pay was decent, and the co-workers were the only pro

    Cons

    Lack of leadership, Management, work environment, abusive tones by senior leadership, disrespectful bosses, childish petty office games, retaliatory practices towards whistle blowers.

    Advice to Management

    Look into how the Food and Beverage department is being mismanaged, and review your Management's behavior towards employees. You could also develop an actual training guide for your supervisors.

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Sep 7, 2017 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review. We take this feedback seriously and value your opinion. Please feel free to reach out to our Corporate office if you feel the need to address any of your concerns.


  10. "Extremely Unique Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Table Games Supervisor in Grantville, PA
    Former Employee - Table Games Supervisor in Grantville, PA
    Recommends

    I worked at Penn National Gaming full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    It is a very fun and entertaining environment. You get to meet tons of different people each and every day. Great pay! Truly entertaining and fun work.

    Cons

    You will work weekends and holidays, no way around it. Some hours are very odd and inconvenient. No union for most departments, and the company actively keeps unions away.

    Advice to Management

    Work with a union!

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Sep 7, 2017 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for the great review! It is nice to hear that you had a great career experience at Penn National Gaming, Inc. We wish you the best in your future career endeavors!


Showing 188 of 190 reviews
Reset Filters