Penn National Gaming Reviews | Glassdoor

Penn National Gaming Reviews

Updated April 20, 2018
212 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Penn National Gaming CEO Timothy J. Wilmott
Timothy J. Wilmott
49 Ratings

212 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Liked working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming part-time

    Pros

    great coworkers, flexible scheduling, fun environment

    Cons

    customers can be pretty rude, hours can be odd because it is open 24/7

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review! It is nice to hear how you Work Happy at Penn National Gaming, Inc. We are glad to have you on our team!


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Current employee (non-casino floor)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, KS
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, some good managers, and some great co-workers.

    Cons

    Pay could be a little better. Some managers are not worth working for, while others bend over backwards.

    Advice to Management

    Pay people for what they are worth. More employee rewards/recognition for back of house employees (not just people working on the casino floor)because they need reminded that they matter to the company.

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Apr 3, 2018 – Employment Brand Digital Designer

    Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to provide helpful feedback. Thank you!

  3. "Poker Room Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Poker Room Supervisor
    Former Employee - Poker Room Supervisor
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Penn National Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    the pay was pretty decent for a poker room

    Cons

    Dealing with poker players, management talked down/seemed like they knew everything

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Apr 23, 2018 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review. Please know that we take your comments very seriously and will use them to provide a better Team Member experience at Penn.

    We thank you for your time and dedication to... More


  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penn National Gaming full-time

    Pros

    They take care of their employees

    Cons

    I didn't see anything wrong.

    Advice to Management

    I wish the management team the best.

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Mar 26, 2018 – Employment Brand Digital Designer

    Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you and the time you have taken to provide a helpful review on Penn National Gaming!


  5. "Service Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming full-time

    Pros

    No bosses standing over you every minite

    Cons

    Heavy work load, long hours, excessive daily driving. No help or guidance from management.

    Advice to Management

    Show some interest in something besides profits.

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Apr 23, 2018 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review and for choosing to Work Happy with Penn. Please visit your property HR Team to discuss any feedback that will help improve the Team Member experience for you and your... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Love the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Slot Technician in Jamul, CA
    Current Employee - Slot Technician in Jamul, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Co-Workers and management is great
    Able to transfer to many locations and are not limited to one location

    Cons

    I wish some policies were rewritten but besides that its great
    Pay could be a bit better

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Mar 12, 2018 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your great review! We thank you for your time and dedication with the Company and are very glad that you chose Penn to Work Happy!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Table Games Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Penn National Gaming full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, supervisors are hourly. Good benefits such as 401k and tuition reimbursement. Many of the night schedules are 4 - 10s.

    Cons

    For me the general environment is negative. I don't think it has to do with the employer, it is simply that when you are in an industry where you take people's money it is a negative experience.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be hourly and have an incentive for night workers.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Too Much Corporate Influence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Henderson, NV
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Henderson, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Penn National Gaming full-time

    Pros

    When the M Resort was privately owned, it was a fantastic place to work. The family atmosphere made employees loyal, and go that extra mile. Benefits are decent, pay is average.

    Cons

    Corporate influence has made employees overworked, bitter, and less willing to do the jobs of three people. The trend is to hire younger people with degrees and pay them little, and get rid of those with more experience to save their bottom line. Not so classy anymore. Management did little to improve morale, even when they were made aware of how negative it was becoming, and why.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your team members, and the feedback they give in your surveys. The answers are all there in those surveys, if you'd just pay attention.

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Mar 29, 2018 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. Please know that we will take your comments into consideration when analyzing and perfecting the Team Member experience at Penn. We thank you for your time and... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming part-time

    Pros

    Up tempo environment, caring people, new technology, engaging, opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    Benefits seem to be shrinking by the year.

    Advice to Management

    Keep reinvesting in your people.

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Mar 12, 2018 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for the great review! We thank you for your time and dedication with the Company and are very glad that you chose Penn to Work Happy!


  10. "Loved it at first, after unionization this place has gone downhill fast."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Technician in East Toledo, OH
    Former Employee - Facilities Technician in East Toledo, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Penn National Gaming full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    - Great Advancement potential for some jobs
    - Good company to work for if transferring around the country is your thing.

    Cons

    - The Union
    - managers trying to be friends.
    - Corporate trying to stick too much responsibility on one manager across multiple properties.
    - Management bonuses based off budgets.
    - HR fighting to keep bad employees

    Advice to Management

    Tough love is necessary, performance goals don’t get met because the atmosphere is too relaxed here because management is forced to keep bad employees because of the Union and/or HR. HR doesn’t back up it’s managers when discipline is needed. This leaves the subordinates knowing they can get away with everything because if HR doesn’t fight for them the Union will and vise versa. Biggest challenge in keeping good workers here is to not hold onto the bad employees that drive the good ones away.


Showing 212 of 217 reviews
Reset Filters