Penn National Gaming Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Penn National Gaming President and Chief Executive Officer Jay Snowden
Jay Snowden
37 Ratings
Pros
  • "Tends to encourage casino owners to personalize their management(in 16 reviews)

  • "Great people, great growth potential(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Crazy hours, but that’s to be understood in the casino industry(in 27 reviews)

  • "Leadership, no work life balance, unrealistic expectations - the list goes on(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Penn National OTW York

      May 2, 2021 - Janitorial in York, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I liked working there because the coworkers all worked together. If it weren't for the covid and OTW closing down to move to a new location. I would hopefully have still be there.

      Cons

      If I would have any cons, they are not worth saying. I had more good experiences than bad.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent place to work

      Apr 19, 2021 - Chef De Parties in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      steady paycheck, decent work environment. Nice chefs, good place to learn and grow.

      Cons

      extremely corporate environment problems either dont get fixed until they are extremely serious, or take so long to fix that it becomes a serious problem too many individuals are allowed to become comfortable and do a subpar job without being reprimanded or fired.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Ok

      May 7, 2021 - Customer Service in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ok great coworkers make it fun

      Cons

      Ok have to contend with grumpy people

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great people. Underpaid. Heavy Workload.

      Apr 10, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Black Hawk, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - The amount of experience you can expect is invaluable. - Great networking opportunities. - Challenges everyday that help you to grow - People you meet turn into family - Lots of energy and memories to be made

      Cons

      - Upper management is very demanding/not understanding - Politics between departments, specifically directors, creates roadblocks into effectively getting your job done - Lack of employee development or growth - Bonuses are paid out as low as possible even when casino is hitting milestones of achievement - Work/Life balance is basically nonexistent

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Apr 13, 2021 - Slot Attendant in Baton Rouge, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They listen to their employees concerns.

      Cons

      Working possible late and over night hours.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Decent

      Apr 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good co-workers, ample training and sufficient PTO.

      Cons

      Under paid employees, as is the industry standard for casinos. High turnover.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Depends upon property

      Mar 17, 2021 - Undefined 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone's experience is going to be based upon which property they work at and how long they've been there

      Cons

      Same as the pros above

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place for growth

      Mar 7, 2021 - Cage Shift Manager in Aurora, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PTO, 401k w match, low cost insurance

      Cons

      The administration side just does not understand the operational side of things

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Penn National Gaming Response

      Thank you for your five star review! We agree we are proud to offer competitive benefits for our team members and their families, supporting them in living their best lives. I'm sorry to hear that your experience with admin is not reflective of our company values. I'd be open and interested to hear more about your specific team experience, if you'd like to contact me directly.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company

      Mar 16, 2021 - Food and Beverage Manager in Kansas City, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, people, good job security.

      Cons

      Late nights, always busy, can be stressful

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Sales and marketing

      Mar 9, 2021 - Business Development Executive 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good management and benefit is great

      Cons

      I don't have cons for penn

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Penn National Gaming Response

      Thank you for your five-star review and feedback! We appreciate all you have shared, and will share it with others! We are glad to have had you on our team!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 335 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Penn National Gaming Job Seekers

    Surveillance Agent
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Talent Acquisition Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    Assistant Digital Marketing Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Penn National Gaming? Share Your Experiences

    Penn National Gaming logo
    or