Penn National Gaming Reviews | Glassdoor

Penn National Gaming Reviews

Updated January 2, 2018
203 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Penn National Gaming CEO Timothy J. Wilmott
Timothy J. Wilmott
47 Ratings

203 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "An interesting employer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming full-time

    Pros

    - Tends to encourage casino owners to personalize their management. This is both a pro and a con.
    - Generally handles themselves well as a parent company; supportive but not overbearing.
    - Transfers between Penn National Gaming companies tend to be simple.

    Cons

    -Tends to encourage casino owners to personalize their management. This is both a pro and a con.
    -Somewhat nebulous; it can be difficult to tell what is done by Penn and what is done by local owners.
    - Expanding rapidly. Uncertain if this is a good thing yet.

    Advice to Management

    Potentially add in a way to communicate directly with Penn on more global topics; benefits and the like.

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Jan 5, 2018 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review and suggestions! It is nice to hear how you Work Happy at Penn National Gaming, Inc. We are glad to have you on our team!


  2. "Great people, great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Slot Technician in Biloxi, MS
    Current Employee - Slot Technician in Biloxi, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    strong leadership, numerous resources to utilize, competitive salary

    Cons

    work / life balance can be tricky

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Jan 5, 2018 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review! It is nice to hear how you Work Happy at Penn National Gaming, Inc. We appreciate your dedication in the long tenure working with us. We are glad to have you on our team!

  3. "Best colleagues ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Table Games Dealer in Grantville, PA
    Current Employee - Table Games Dealer in Grantville, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming (More than a year)

    Pros

    The people are incredible. Absolutely the best part of job are your colleagues

    Cons

    Scheduling is not very flexible

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Jan 5, 2018 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review! It is nice to hear how you Work Happy at Penn National Gaming, Inc. We appreciate your dedication in over a year working with us. We are glad to have you on our team!


  4. "Slot Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Penn National Gaming full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    It was a small Casino with a family feel. I really enjoyed most of the guests there too!

    Cons

    Poor management and way too much favoritism towards some employees.

    Advice to Management

    My advice is to be more involved with the department workers instead of listening to the managers.

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Jan 5, 2018 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time that you spent working with us and value your opinion. Please know that we take this feedback seriously.

    Please feel free to reach out to our... More


  5. "Hollywood Columbus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Discounts on restaurants in the casino.

    Cons

    Schedule is based on seniority not based on what works for your life.

    It’s open for 24 hours so you may have to work holidays.

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review! It is nice to hear how you Work Happy at Penn National Gaming, Inc. We appreciate your dedication in the long tenure working with us. We are glad to have you on our team!


  6. "Liked working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming part-time

    Pros

    great coworkers, flexible scheduling, fun environment

    Cons

    customers can be pretty rude, hours can be odd because it is open 24/7

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review! It is nice to hear how you Work Happy at Penn National Gaming, Inc. We are glad to have you on our team!


  7. "Security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charles Town, WV
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charles Town, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penn National Gaming part-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good co workers to work with

    Cons

    Split hours covering racing and such

    Advice to Management

    It’s hard with split hours have to flex according to overall needs

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review! It is nice to hear how you Worked Happy at Penn National Gaming, Inc. We thank you for the time that you spent working on our team and wish you the best of luck in your... More

  8. "Dual-Rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Penn National Gaming full-time

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    The shifts and the schedules.

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Oct 25, 2017 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review! It is nice to hear how you Worked Happy at Penn National Gaming, Inc. . We thank you for the time that you spent working on our team and wish you the best of luck in your... More


  9. "Dont care about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Penn National Gaming full-time

    Pros

    Pay is good until they eliminate your position for making too much.

    Cons

    Poor managment who cuts cost by taking away all benefits from employees. Treats people like slaves.

    Advice to Management

    Your employees should be your number one asset.

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time that you spent working with us and value your opinion. Please know that we take this feedback seriously.

    Please feel free to reach out to our... More


  10. "Dealer Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Penn National Gaming part-time

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, good benefits for fulltime employees

    Cons

    Fluctuating pay from dealer tokes

    Penn National Gaming Response

    Oct 25, 2017 – Human Resources Business Partner

    Thank you for your review! It is nice to hear how you Work Happy at Penn National Gaming, Inc. . We are glad to have you on our team!


Showing 203 of 206 reviews
Reset Filters