Penn Station Reviews | Glassdoor

Penn Station Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 105 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Jeff Osterfeld
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Food, learn a lot, some good employees(in 6 reviews)

  • "Owner is willing to show you anything he knows Easy job to learn(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "relatively low pay without much chance for a raise(in 14 reviews)

  • "No Benefits, No 401K, No vacations(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Staff Member"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Member in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penn Station part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fast and involved environment

    Cons

    Not a lot of upwards growth

    Penn Station2018-10-22
  2. "Low pay but cool environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at Penn Station part-time

      Pros

      My franchise owner was pretty laid back and the people I worked with were fun

      Cons

      Extremely low pay. Not very flexible

      Penn Station2019-04-01
    • "Nice High School Job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Cashier 

        I worked at Penn Station part-time

        Pros

        Valuable experience in terms of learning what a work environment is like.

        Cons

        Sometimes slow paced, overall not a bad job

        Penn Station2019-03-08
      • "Okay depending on location"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Shift Manager 

          I have been working at Penn Station full-time

          Pros

          Flexible hours, discount food, fast paced

          Cons

          Food Industry, unreliable workers, shady management

          Penn Station2019-02-26
        • "Good job while looking for better."

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Penn Station

            Pros

            Employees were friendly, management understanding.

            Cons

            Dies down after summer, hours aren’t always there. Paper checks still, no direct deposit.

            Advice to Management

            Upgrade your technology, give employees the option for direct deposit and some 401k

            Penn Station2019-02-10
          • "Good and easy job"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

              I worked at Penn Station part-time for more than 5 years

              Pros

              Co-workers are like family, discounted food, easy first job and makes you learn a lot about customer service and dealing with people

              Cons

              Management and rule changes can sometimes be annoying

              Penn Station2019-01-22
            • "host"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
              Doesn't Recommend
              Negative Outlook
              Disapproves of CEO

              I worked at Penn Station part-time

              Pros

              They had good cookies and a funny manager and the work wasn’t too hard. I was never super tired after a day of work.

              Cons

              Lots of men were disrespectful to me and the staff didn’t do anything about it. Cleaning bathrooms was also dirty.

              Advice to Management

              They should have better hours for everyone and make sure you work every week and look out for harassment.

              Penn Station2018-12-30
            • "Prep cook"

              StarStarStarStarStar
              • Work/Life Balance
              • Culture & Values
              • Career Opportunities
              • Compensation and Benefits
              • Senior Management
              Former Employee - A M Prep Cook in Bloomington, IN
              Doesn't Recommend
              Negative Outlook
              Disapproves of CEO

              I worked at Penn Station part-time (Less than a year)

              Pros

              There werent any pros only free fountain drinks. But i brought my own drinks

              Cons

              They overlooked all my hard work

              Advice to Management

              Promote the people who worked like dogs for you

              Penn Station2018-12-09
            • "Crew member"

              StarStarStarStarStar
                Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

                I worked at Penn Station part-time

                Pros

                Food, learn a lot, some good employees

                Cons

                Overworked and not enough pay

                Penn Station2018-10-03
              • "Great Company"

                StarStarStarStarStar
                  Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

                  I have been working at Penn Station full-time

                  Pros

                  Great support from upper management

                  Cons

                  Can be long hours when short staffed

                  Penn Station2018-07-27
                Found 105 reviews