Pennrose Reviews | Glassdoor

Pennrose Reviews

Updated September 16, 2017
41 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Richard K. Barnhart
3 Ratings

41 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pennrose full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits, salary, friendly atmosphere and great management.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any besides the Philadelphia City Wage Tax.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Pennrose Response

    Jan 12, 2017 – Vice President, Marketing & Communications

    Thank you for your review! Glad to hear that you're happy in your role in supporting our mission.


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Supervisor
    Former Employee - Maintenance Supervisor
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pennrose full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fair pay, Incentive program, Paid time off, Holidays and decent health insurance.

    Cons

    High turnover with employees and tenants. Management and Maintenance are not team oriented. Lots of training for management but few for Maintenance.

    Advice to Management

    Need to balance the training and try to get both teams on the same page. Encourage team work and respect each employee equally as everyone is just as important as the other. Make it a priority and Pennrose will surely be a better place to work.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible, horrible & horrible!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pennrose full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Absolutely nothing. And the company asked their employees to help write good reviews on this site so don't believe the score. Before the campaign it was about 1.5 or so.

    Cons

    No room for growth, no training, management, salary, properties, you name it.

    Advice to Management

    I have none. They're a lost cause. But advice to applicants, do yourself a favor and don't apply!


  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager in Chattanooga, TN
    Former Employee - Property Manager in Chattanooga, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pennrose full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Training great for all employees

    Cons

    Make sure to have staff that is williing to work instead of someones friend of a friend.

    Advice to Management

    Great, continue to listen to employees and never over look bullies.

    Pennrose Response

    Jan 26, 2017 – Vice President, Marketing & Communications

    Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed our training and development programs. We have made tremendous strides in the sourcing of employees in the last year to find the most qualified... More


  5. "Loved this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Former Employee - Property Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pennrose full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits. Great region in the Pittsburgh PA area. More like a family and the team is always willing to help where needed

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for advancement most of there properties are in PA, New Jersey and eastern states. Needs to expand to Texas area

    Advice to Management

    Purchase properties in the San Antonio area

    Pennrose Response

    Jan 12, 2017 – Vice President, Marketing & Communications

    Thank you for your review. Sorry that we were not able to meet your geographic requirements.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pennrose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Multi- Site Assistant Property Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Former Employee - Multi- Site Assistant Property Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pennrose (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance was good.

    Cons

    No support from senior management

    Advice to Management

    When there is a high turnover rate in a particular region owners or HR should look into the matter. Fish rot from the head down.

    Pennrose Response

    Jan 12, 2017 – Vice President, Marketing & Communications

    Thank you for your review and your suggestions. We have been focused on leadership training at all levels, and have also implemented better tracking of trends related to employees who join and leave... More


  7. "Assistant Property Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pennrose full-time

    Pros

    Company offers good benefits. The training department is getting a lot better compared to two years back, although it is still in the works. Also, there are opportunities to advance within the company - may take some time ( a few years) but it is achievable.

    Cons

    Employees sometimes are underpaid compared to other property management companies.

    Pennrose Response

    Jan 12, 2017 – Vice President, Marketing & Communications

    Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you mentioned improvements in the Learning & Employee Development department, since we have focused so much on our employees growth and training over... More

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Compliance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pennrose full-time

    Pros

    Great training, good benefits at low cost compared to the market.

    Cons

    Clicks - If a regional Manager does not like you, you wont have a chance. Had a regional moving people into units without files being approved, because she wanted her reports for upper management to look good. Why have compliance if you don't follow the rules. Regional did everything to make me look bad, I finally quit. Heard she just left the company so maybe this will change.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to everyone, not people in higher positions. Sometimes they are wrong and really don't have the best interest of the Company, just their own look.

    Pennrose Response

    Jan 12, 2017 – Vice President, Marketing & Communications

    Thank you for your review. We work very hard to not have situations like you mentioned. Great advice.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Attempting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Lovely modern affordable housing communities

    Cons

    Poor salaries, oppressive upper management, attempting to improve morale.

    Advice to Management

    Allow your employees to have a voice.

    Pennrose Response

    Jan 12, 2017 – Vice President, Marketing & Communications

    Thank you for your review. We are committed to an annual employee engagement survey each year, and work very hard to respond to the suggestions expressed by our employees.


  10. "Good learning company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pennrose full-time

    Pros

    Good company, starting to Invest in learning and development. Learned everything about property management without prior experience from here. Compared to other companies, they do care about their employees. Lots of opportunity to move up.

    Cons

    Understaffed and heavy amounts of work can lead to burn out. Very slow moving company, nothing ever gets done in a reasonable amount of time.

    Advice to Management

    More hands on, corporate training. Learned a lot of what I know from experiential learning and from other coworkers. Sometimes what you learn from others can be wrong or not the most efficient way of doing things.

    Pennrose Response

    Aug 2, 2016 – Vice President, Marketing & Communications

    Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you have benefited from the employee learning and development focus that Pennrose has had for the past few years. Great suggestion for providing... More


Showing 41 of 42 reviews
Reset Filters