Pennsylvania Counseling Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Pennsylvania Counseling Services Reviews

Updated Mar 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Pennsylvania Counseling Services CEO, Founder Dr. Roy Smith, PhD
Dr. Roy Smith, PhD
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "I was treated with dignity and respect throughout my entire tenure with PCS(in 7 reviews)

  • "Care about clients and employees(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "The only con I can think of is the fact that I had to move on from PCS due to a relocation out of state otherwise I would have hoped to stay at(in 6 reviews)

  • "Unfairly Low Pay- I worked in my department for 3 years and was the 2nd longest person there, yet I was the lowest paid(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Nurse Practitioner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Counseling Services part-time

    Pros

    This is a great company to work for. They have grown quite a bit over the years but still value their employees!

    Cons

    I can’t think of any!

    Pennsylvania Counseling Services2020-03-14
  2. "Excellent Place to Work and Grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BSC/MT in York, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Counseling Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    PA Counseling services is a family oriented and caring place to work. They maintain a business while also meeting their employees needs and where they're at. They work with their employees to find their strengths and to offer promotions from within. They also try to hear you out and accommodate where they can. There is lots of flexibility within the job and supports to ensure you feel comfortable. The health benefits and time off are also competitive if not the best in the area.

    Cons

    If you're hourly vs salaried and clients no show or cancel last minute it can effect your pay.

    Pennsylvania Counseling Services2020-02-20
  3. "Executives do not practice what they preach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Care Navigator in Harrisburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Counseling Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great non-executive level co-workers, wonderful clients and nice straight pictures on the walls

    Cons

    Micro management and executives that care more about their investors than their employees. They preach that relationships matter but this is not reflected in the way that they treat their employees. And don't even try to hang something on the wall in your office.....

    Continue reading
    Pennsylvania Counseling Services2020-02-06
  4. "meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Forensic Therapist in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Counseling Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company offers supervision and consultation at most times. Each clinic is supportive. The training's are in-depth and have increased my knowledge as a clinician.

    Cons

    The top dogs either micromanage or are unsupportive. Once a program is started they forget about it.

    Continue reading
    Pennsylvania Counseling Services2019-09-12
  5. "Good stepping stone into the field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Therapist in Lebanon, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Counseling Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cheap supervision and access to free training.

    Cons

    Pay, non-compete contract of 5 years with a 30 mile radius, time off is limited, turnover, massive amounts of paperwork and constant change.

    Continue reading
    Pennsylvania Counseling Services2019-06-29
  6. "Family based therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Counseling Services

    Pros

    Community centered. Continued education. Supportive

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations regarding paperwork. Headquarters is more interested in the money rather than the individual therapist.

    Pennsylvania Counseling Services2019-06-11
  7. "TSS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tss in York Haven, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Counseling Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome coworkers and you make your own schedule

    Cons

    They’re are no cones

    Pennsylvania Counseling Services2019-06-05
  8. "Best company I've ever worked for!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Counseling Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This company was amazing to work for! I started as a TSS and was promoted into a BHRS Administrator position. This company fostered my learning, development and encouraged my growth within the company. I was treated with dignity and respect throughout my entire tenure with PCS. I honestly can not recommend this company enough. PCS really set the tone for my career. Another huge plus is the amazing people that I met during my career at PCS. My co-workers turned into family. We encouraged each other to ensure that the children and families we were working with succeeded in the process. I truly believe in the PCS mission and the work this amazing organization and employees are doing every day. PCS is truly helping ALL people to discover their greatness.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is the fact that I had to move on from PCS due to a relocation out of state otherwise I would have hoped to stay at PCS for my whole career.

    Continue reading
    Pennsylvania Counseling Services2019-04-12
  9. "Wonderful Company with chances for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tss in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Counseling Services part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible Schedule -On the Job Training -Weekly Support Meetings -Fair Hourly Pay INCLUDING Travel Time -Direct Support Services for Students with Disabilities -Great Benefits -Opportunity to Grow within the Organization -Does not Discriminate -Fulfilling Job Working in the Community If you have just graduated from college, and need a job to help pursue your career goals, Pennsylvania Counseling Services is the organization for you! Wonderful on the job training, weekly team meetings to provide feedback, generous wages and benefits, and a supervisor assigned to each employee who is available around the clock for guidance and feedback to help problem solve your first job experience working directly with clients. This job provided a wonderful stepping stone for me to apply the material I learned in college to the real-life work situation of the day-to-day working with struggling clients. A completely rewarding job I highly recommend.

    Cons

    - Sometimes clients are difficult to manage, but there is always support in place if needed. I have seen negative reviews on this site, which saddens me. It appears these negative reviews come from former employees who work ethic is questionable, and they feel scorned from being called out about their work performance. The job is NOT easy, but is highly rewarding to those individuals with a strong commitment to providing services for the under deserved community. Sometimes the only structure these clients receive are from this organization, so keep that in mind when things are difficult.

    Continue reading
    Pennsylvania Counseling Services2019-02-12
  10. "Overall Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in Lebanon, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Counseling Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very family oriented. The dress code was casual, I could come to work in leggings and a shirt everyday. The owner walked around occasionally and would actually acknowledge you; You aren't just a number there. The benefits were awesome as I didn't have to pay ANYTHING towards it. If I was sick, or just needed a mental health day, I didn't feel shamed for calling off. Being that it is a family owned operation and not some big corporation, they were more lenient and understanding towards employees and their situations.

    Cons

    Unfairly Low Pay- I worked in my department for 3 years and was the 2nd longest person there, yet I was the lowest paid.

    Pennsylvania Counseling Services2019-02-11
Found 61 reviews