Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Intern Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation CEO Allen D. Biehler (no image)
Allen D. Biehler
1 Ratings
  1. "Good Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Civil Engineer Intern in Mercer, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation for less than a year

    Pros

    The people in the department are very nice

    Cons

    The road work can be tough at times with traffic and people

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2018-08-09
  2. "Not horrible but not that good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Intern 

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance, decent pay considering I worked after my freshman year. Learned a bit about road construction

    Cons

    Way too much downtime, not really their fault though. Very boring experience overall

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2019-09-16
  3. "Engineering Intern Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Engineering Intern in Oil City, PA

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible Hours. Get to learn the area well.

    Cons

    Paperwork heavy. Involved lots of driving.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2018-04-17
  4. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Summer Engineering Intern 

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hours and paid mileage if you are in the construction department.

    Cons

    Job really dependent on what engineer you get assigned too.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2017-08-10
  5. "Boring and useless work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in King of Prussia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

    Pros

    You're getting payed decently for a summer internship and all of your miles traveled are reimbursed. It's a resume booster.

    Cons

    All of the work you're doing is basically useless and menial. It's very hard to convince employers that you actually learned or accomplished anything. If you get into the construction field of the internship you'll spend the entire time shadowing an inspector. This is some of the most boring work you can do. You're watching someone else watch other people work. I was suppose to be given a key to the office so I... could get in but at both internships I was never given one so on multiple occasions I had to stand outside the office until somebody else showed up. Most frustratingly was the fact that the intern for the contractor had a key to the office but not intern of the company who's office it was.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There is no communication between the district offices and supervisor. After my orientation I was given directions to the field office. I was given the wrong directions and was miles away from where I was suppose to be. After calling 3 out of the 4 numbers I was given, I finally got ahold of someone. Apparently they didn't even know that they had an intern.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2017-01-04
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

    Pros

    Good pay for summer job. Definitely a good place where an engineering student can get his or her foot in the door. Would recommend for first engineering job.

    Cons

    not a lot of interesting work, if any works. Often spend a lot of hours not really doing anything at all. Which makes the job a lot worse than a job where you actually have to work.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more work to interns. In my opinion must students are coming eager for their first real world experience, giving them spreadsheets will even make them happy.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2015-12-15
  7. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Engineering Intern in Allentown, PA

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment, and Time Flexibility.

    Cons

    limitations of communication between upward management and subordinates

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2015-11-18
Found 7 reviews