Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Reviews | Glassdoor

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation CEO Allen D. Biehler (no image)
Allen D. Biehler
15 Ratings
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

    Pros

    Decent pay for the amount of work that is asked of you.

    Cons

    The most boring internship I have ever had.

    Advice to Management

    Give interns more responsibility

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2017-11-09
  2. "QA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Philadelphia, PA

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Because I leave in Philadelphia & I want help everyone

    Cons

    the way I will once I join to team

    Advice to Management

    ready to start anytime

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2017-08-30
  3. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Summer Engineering Intern 

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of hours and paid mileage if you are in the construction department.

    Cons

    Job really dependent on what engineer you get assigned too.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2017-08-10
  4. "Not much room for growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Montoursville, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Obviously great benefits, time off, nice employees.

    Cons

    Very political, denials from management after trying to move closer to home. Didn't want to lose someone to a different office.

    Advice to Management

    Work with employees. They have families and lives that require time and moves closer to home.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2017-06-20
  5. "flagger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

    Pros

    Good money, friendly staff and safe

    Cons

    Weather, a lot of time standing

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2017-05-01
  6. "either a very easy job or tons of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Attendant in Wilkes Barre, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work is easy for the pay. (sometimes)

    Cons

    Didn't want to give full time, work schedule all over the place, people call in a lot, and you have to cover their shifts. During busy seasons or holidays you will work you but off, although there are times you literally do nothing.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better workers not just older people on disability that can't do the work they were hired for. Pay employees more to get them to stay, and offer full time.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2017-01-21
  7. "AirWatch Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mobile Device Manager in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, a lot of on the job training, Employer willing to work with the employees

    Cons

    Some of the work is over the weekends and after hours but you are well compensated.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2016-10-18
  8. "PennDOT is superior to other PA State Government agencies; however..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

    Pros

    PennDOT values training and development far above other Agencies under the Governor's jurisdiction.

    Cons

    Severe silos with many upper managers paralyzed in management skills of 30+ years ago; slow to foster improvements on culture change.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2016-06-29
  9. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

    Pros

    Learned a lot. Nice people.

    Cons

    Not a lot of opportunities for other positions

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2015-12-02
  10. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

    Pros

    Good pay for summer job. Definitely a good place where an engineering student can get his or her foot in the door. Would recommend for first engineering job.

    Cons

    not a lot of interesting work, if any works. Often spend a lot of hours not really doing anything at all. Which makes the job a lot worse than a job where you actually have to work.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more work to interns. In my opinion must students are coming eager for their first real world experience, giving them spreadsheets will even make them happy.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2015-12-15
Found 48 reviews