Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Engineering, Scientific, and Technical Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Engineering, Scientific, and Technical

Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Reviews

Updated 27 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation CEO Allen D. Biehler (no image)
Allen D. Biehler
15 Ratings
  1. "Network Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Network Operator in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation for more than a year

    Pros

    Kind hearted professionals and warm work environment at the server farm for PennDot.

    Cons

    I do not have any negatives at PennDot.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2015-11-15
  2. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

    Pros

    great experience in the department

    Cons

    could not move to multiple positions

    Advice to Management

    allow movement throughout the summer

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2015-11-05
  3. "Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Engineering Intern in Allentown, PA

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working environment, and Time Flexibility.

    Cons

    limitations of communication between upward management and subordinates

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2015-11-18
  4. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineering, Scientific, and Technical Intern in King of Prussia, PA

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

    Pros

    Easy job. Not too much hard work for a summer internship. There are lots of variances in the sections that they assign interns to. Some of these are much harder and you get overtime. Some are easy and you can leave early on most days.

    Cons

    Work is not that hard, which isn't right for some people. Also must have your own vehicle and King of Prussia location is very hard to get to. Very low pay compared to other internships.

    Advice to Management

    Actually give interns more responsibility which is hard. Or at least let the engineering interns get some work with PEs. If you want to be a role player in a DOT, you'll need to eventually get your PE.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2015-10-29
  5. "Solid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

    Pros

    Pretty easy work environment with the opportunity to learn a ton about heavy construction.

    Cons

    Pay isn't that great, and contractors are usually not the greatest.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2015-09-16
  6. "Clerical Pool"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation full-time

    Pros

    Jobs are easy to come by once you pass the test.

    Cons

    Busy work that is often tedious and repetitive.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2015-09-24
  7. "Legal Presence Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation for more than a year

    Pros

    Advancement opportunities for forward-thinking employees with good work ethic.

    Cons

    Low pay wages, advancement opportunities occur at a slow rate, often seniority plays key role in qualification for promotions.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2015-08-10
  8. "Job Security vs. Career Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation full-time

    Pros

    Job security, Benefits, the normal government job perks

    Cons

    Non-cohesive staff, 10 percent do 90 percent of the work, politics and picking favorites, monotonous

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2015-07-01
  9. "I enjoyed the internship position at Penndot."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Surveyor in Indiana, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation

    Pros

    Nice hours, good pay for an internship, helpful staff and the work didn't get too boring

    Cons

    Routine, long meetings on Fridays, set hours so there was no chance of overtime

    Advice to Management

    Training could be planned better

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2015-03-05
  10. "I enjoyed working for PennDOT because of the free-flowing work day, the work was interesting, and each day was different"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - STAMPP Member in Indiana, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Pennsylvania Department of Transportation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked under limited supervision, pay was adequate, set hours

    Cons

    No overtime, no GPS provided for locations

    Advice to Management

    More in-depth training, I feel like I was rushed through and didn't comprehend everything in the short time.

    Pennsylvania Department of Transportation2015-02-20
Found 48 reviews