Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission Reviews

Updated Apr 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
88%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission CEO Joe Brimmeier (no image)
Joe Brimmeier
8 Ratings
  1. "Toll Booth Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Toll Booth Operator in Stevens, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission for more than a year

    Pros

    Money is good to start out

    Cons

    Can be boring at times

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission2015-12-13
  2. "Just OK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission full-time

    Pros

    Fairly OK place to work.

    Cons

    bureaucratic and dysfunctional, but in a crazy uncle sort of way

    Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission2019-04-19
  3. "Turnpike"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission full-time

    Pros

    The money, benefits and breaks

    Cons

    Hours, workers, managment, and customers attitude. People only really stay because of the money.

    Advice to Management

    Get somebody to check the checkers

    Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission2018-07-26
  4. "Depends which Department!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, generally nice people

    Cons

    Rumors, favoritism, unqualified people in high level positions

    Advice to Management

    I would never work here again, even if it was my only option. Great CEO/COO, TERRIBLE at the department level. If all you care about is free benefits then this would be perfect.

    Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission2018-05-22
  5. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people were very nice and flexible

    Cons

    You have to be really good at math. Cash register do not do the math for.

    Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission2018-02-27
  6. "Great Pay. Within 3 years you make over $23.00 an hour. Union Job. Although Teamsters sucks. But good benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Toll Collector in Middletown, PA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Money is great. Benefits and retirement are great. Many opportunities to relocate to another area if you are moving within Pennsylvania.

    Cons

    Management is not the best. Union is not the greatest. High Union Dues even for Non Members.

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to get rid of Toll Collectors and stop raising the tolls.

    Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission2017-08-19
  7. "Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Maintenance in New Stanton, PA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission

    Pros

    Great work environment, friendly co workers, great hours.

    Cons

    None at that I can think of.

    Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission2017-06-14
  8. "It's a decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Inspector in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, in regard to vacation, sick days, holidays and healthcare. A level of professionalism in order to perform job duties beyond a satisfactory rating.

    Cons

    No room for advancement or growth potential beyond your position. Some upper management is disconnected from what it takes to perform job duties and deliver an outstanding project. Overwhelmed with work and unable to obtain assistance if needed.

    Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission2017-04-19
  9. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission

    Pros

    Comfortable working spaces, beautiful entrance

    Cons

    There aren't too many cons

    Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission2017-03-20
  10. "toll collector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission full-time

    Pros

    Good way to make money and I'm good with money.

    Cons

    Stuck in a little box for long hours

    Advice to Management

    I work well with people

    Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission2017-03-09
Found 16 reviews