PennyMac Reviews

Updated May 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
PennyMac CEO  David Spector
David Spector
88 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very considerate company with lots of great people(in 17 reviews)

  • "good people here at the company(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "There are a lot of politics based off of the Countrywide model, an old school guard and "who knows who"(in 19 reviews)

  • "Upper management doesn't care for their employees(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Incredible Company - Didn't realize mortgage companies like this existed"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PennyMac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Income: one of the most generous compensation plans I've seen in the industry with a mix of base and bonus pay -Promotional Opportunities: If you work hard and excel at your position it will not go unnoticed. I am living example and was promoted within 3 months of my start date. - Intelligent and Ethical Leadership Staff: Some of the sharpest minds in the industry and decisions are universally made compliantly and ethically -Customer base: PennyMac has a massive and loyal customer base. From a sales perspective it makes customer retention warm and simple and customer acquisition attractive. Company Culture: Positive, Fun, and competitive work environment.

    Cons

    Every job presents daily challenges but this is a place I truly love working and enjoy coming to work every day.

    PennyMac2020-05-11
  2. "Happy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PennyMac full-time

    Pros

    I'm very happy with the company so far... the culture is great.

    Cons

    None at this time fortunately

    PennyMac2020-05-04
  3. "Well I never did work that but I know two friends that work there"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PennyMac part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My friend says it's a great company to work for

    Cons

    Challenges is to be a great customer service

    PennyMac2020-05-28
  4. "Great place to work!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PennyMac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to build skills Management is very transparent

    Cons

    Can feel very hierarchical at times

    PennyMac2020-05-17
  5. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Underwriter in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at PennyMac full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, many departments work on the same loan

    Cons

    benefits expensive, pay is low

    PennyMac2020-05-15
  6. "Management is holding this company up from being what it strives to be."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PennyMac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Close to home Feed you sometimes

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime often No work/life balance Only 3 sick days for the whole year Vacation req are hard to get approved even well in advance Management is not not knowledgeable when assistance is needed

    Continue reading
    PennyMac2020-05-29
  7. "Review"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credit Risk Manager in Westlake Village, Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PennyMac full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work , great people.

    Cons

    Compensation could be better compared to other companies

    Continue reading
    PennyMac2020-04-22
  8. "Great company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Technician 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PennyMac full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very considerate company with lots of great people

    Cons

    As a part-timer I wasn’t able to move up the chain as quickly as I’d hoped

    PennyMac2020-04-08
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Horrible experience"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PennyMac full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At least you get an hour lunch.

    Cons

    We were doing great working from home. Now everyone has to come back in the office. Why?? You have to wear a mask over your face while talking to customers if you’re working in the office. Do you know how muffled that sounds and how uncomfortable that is?? Let people stay working from home! You can’t social distance in the bathrooms and break rooms, they’re too small. Someone is going to spread covid19. Let us stay working from home!!

    PennyMac2020-05-12
  10. Helpful (2)

    "OK Entry Level not for long term"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor in Tampa, FL

    I have been working at PennyMac full-time

    Pros

    Nice Coworkers Everyone is fun and friendly

    Cons

    Promotions and raises are hard to come by

    PennyMac2020-04-03
Found 336 reviews