KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

PennyMac

Engaged Employer

PennyMac

Add a Review

PennyMac Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 of over 796 reviews

3.7
65%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
PennyMac CEO  David Spector
David Spector
333 Ratings
Pros
  • "Very considerate company with lots of great people(in 18 reviews)

  • "So glad to have such good people to work with(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "work life balance can be hard to manage(in 22 reviews)

  • "There are a lot of politics based off of the Countrywide model, an old school guard and "who knows who"(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Finance

    Join the conversation on

    Finance

    1y

    works at 

    JPMorgan Chase

    Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

    891

    87 Comments

    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of PennyMac and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      NEVER LEAVING THIS COMPANY

      Oct 6, 2020 - Contract Specialist in Westlake Village, Optional[CA]
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Respect from colleagues and higher ups - Work/life balance is encouraged - GREAT environment - Ample diversity and inclusion efforts - Training opportunities - Upward mobility - Competitive pay and benefits - Superiors are open and friendly - Career growth programs - Relocation opportunities PennyMac really encourages me to be a better professional. Everyone I have encountered has been friendly, helpful, and willing to go the extra mile for each other. I came into a new industry terrified; and I have had the best experience of my life. This company changed my entire life, especially in a time where the pandemic had me feeling like I would never find a good fit. They treat me exceptionally well, which really makes me want to perform my best and put in 200% of my effort to contribute to the company's success. I was hired in June and I am never ever leaving. :)

      Cons

      Literally, there is a 5 word minimum for cons but I can't think of any.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great salary and good work environment

      Jan 13, 2021 - Business Systems Analyst in Agoura Hills, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Very competitive starting salary - Casual attire at all offices starting in 2020 - PTO starts at three weeks - Pretty good work/life balance but sometimes you have to be proactive about setting that balance yourself.

      Cons

      - Very siloed work streams so you don't learn much outside of your specific duties - The gears turn very slowly on raises and promotions

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work!

      Jan 11, 2021 - Financial Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      lots to learn and great entry position to develop your skills

      Cons

      work life balance can be hard to manage

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Dec 31, 2020 - Mortgage Underwriting Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture, great leadership, and growing company

      Cons

      Lack of training for new hires Lack of PTO and Sick Time (limited work/life balance) Low base pay compared to other companies

      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company!

      Dec 30, 2020 - Home Loan Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, people, upper management support and growth.

      Cons

      It would be nice to have a bit more paid vacation offered for promoting a more balanced work-life balance.

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Do not recommend

      Jan 11, 2021 - Home Loan Specialist in Plano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Knowledge of mortgage and helpful coworkers

      Cons

      No work life balance Heavy workload Leadership is horrible

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good Company

      Jan 4, 2021 - Financial Analyst in Westlake Village, Optional[CA]
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice growing company, opportunity for growth

      Cons

      Not much emphasis on work-life balance

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      No work/life balance

      Dec 10, 2020 - Loan Officer in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice compensation. If you hit the weekly goals, you can earn a very nice income.

      Cons

      Sales, sales, sales! There is no work life balance. Management expects overtime on a regular basis to meet sales goals. Working 50 hours a week will become the norm and if you don’t hit your goal for the week your manager may require you to come in the weekend. If you need to take time off for any reason at all, good luck! If you’re looking for a company where you feel valued as an employee and not just a cog in the machine, look elsewhere.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Best Company I have ever worked for.

      Aug 12, 2020 - Mortgage Loan Closer in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cares about their employees, great management staff, very good at cross training in other departments, always promotes from within, open door policy for managers, very good work/life balance, very transparency

      Cons

      Pay is not comparable to other mortgage companies

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      PennyMac

      Jul 11, 2020 - Sales Manager in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a 5+ year employee for PennyMac, this is one of the best companies I have worked for. From their core values to the culture that has been created makes this a wonderful workplace that anyone can thrive in. PennyMac offers a great lead source of existing customers and a booming comp plan with a work life balance that is hard to find. Career opportunities for growth are always available as PennyMac continues to grow.

      Cons

      Due to Covid, I am no longer able to work side by side with my team members.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 35 Reviews

    Popular Careers with PennyMac Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at PennyMac? Share Your Experiences

    or