Penrose St. Francis Hospital Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Penrose St. Francis Hospital Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Penrose St. Francis Hospital CEO Brian Erling (no image)
Brian Erling
1 Ratings
  1. "Love it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tumor Registry Assistant, Per Diem 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penrose St. Francis Hospital part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoy working here and utilizing/gaining experience in the field of Cancer Registry.

    Cons

    Looking for full time employment.

    Penrose St. Francis Hospital2019-03-08
  2. "RN role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - R N 

    I worked at Penrose St. Francis Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Friendly work environment ; magnet status

    Cons

    Physician oriented facility but good partnership

    Penrose St. Francis Hospital2019-09-04
  3. "good pay and better benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Patient Service Representative in Denver, CO

    I worked at Penrose St. Francis Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Good pay but better benefits!

    Cons

    30 minute lunch breaks were cut to 10 minutes, if understaffed.

    Advice to Management

    Provide employees with a full 30 minute lunch break.

    Penrose St. Francis Hospital2019-08-08
  4. "Big NO for me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Nutrition Service in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penrose St. Francis Hospital part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mostly good people to work with, 7 dollars worth of free food, gym, seeing kind patients and nurses.

    Cons

    No and stolen pto, no benefits, sickness, so many issues it's insane!

    Advice to Management

    Just shut down this hospital or get a new staff. There's hardworking people here who have to suffer the fate of the ones who dont do the work. I have a personal issue with health which is my doing. But the work place should care more for everyones sick days. Not just four per year. And help with more easy to qualify for benefits, more instructions, and no rewuired testing on fields you dont work or study in. And... when people have such things as school, religious, and other important obligations to let them be met!

    Show More
    Penrose St. Francis Hospital2019-05-14
  5. "Will terminate while on vacation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician CPhT in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Penrose St. Francis Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Knowing you saved a life throufh what you do.

    Cons

    They eliminate their elder employees for leaving pist it notes or addressing the laziness of coworkers or they tell you the position has been eliminated mean while you are teaining the person taking the "eliminated" position. They hire friebds famimy members who have zero experience in the field by that I mean they bypass the standards written in the posted job and then lie about it.

    Advice to Management

    Stop using the term CHRISSIE values when you your self as a manager have violated every one of them.

    Penrose St. Francis Hospital2019-05-17
  6. "ICU"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ICU RN 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Penrose St. Francis Hospital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good staff, general ICU where you see a lot of variety, good staff/patient ratios

    Cons

    No weekend differential (but you're required to work weekends), parking sucks

    Penrose St. Francis Hospital2019-01-19
  7. "Unit clerk/ reception"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Penrose St. Francis Hospital full-time

    Pros

    Many locations to choose from. Great co-workers.

    Cons

    Management is out of touch with employees.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees and make them feel more appreciated. Too big and you can feel like you’re a number. Employees are never informed of big changes until they happen.

    Penrose St. Francis Hospital2018-12-17
  8. "I worked with friends/ family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNA, Monitor Tech 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Penrose St. Francis Hospital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of America's 50 top hospitals, it shows in the staff/ management and how the hospital was run. Acknowlegement of workers. Clean Food

    Cons

    I had to leave due to relocation

    Penrose St. Francis Hospital2018-11-29
  9. "Does not deserve its’ Magnet status"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penrose St. Francis Hospital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Education reimbursement just recently increased

    Cons

    People were laid off for restructuring and then some units were left short-staffed but lots of call offs in other areas. A lot of money went in to remodeling but patient visits are going down due to poor management.

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent and listen to your nurses

    Penrose St. Francis Hospital2018-08-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Of your lower then a CEO your nothing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Penrose St. Francis Hospital part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best laboratory technicians to work with ever

    Cons

    Upper management, has poor communication skills. They only care if they look good and could care less about their employees that are dependable and hard workers, take extra shifts and stay late to get the job done. The general consensus is that you are not worth the time and effort. They keep employees as part time so they don't have to pay full benefits for you. If you want to be treated like dirt go ahead and... join the team.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop treating the employees like second class citizens. Why doesn't the 42 million dollar CEO take a pay cut and give full time positions to your employees. I'm sure they could spare a couple million and keep jobs in colorado.

    Penrose St. Francis Hospital2018-06-07
Found 43 reviews