Pensacola State College Reviews | Glassdoor

Pensacola State College Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pensacola State College CEO Edward Meadows
Edward Meadows
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "College Library"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Library Clerk in Milton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pensacola State College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is the most peacefully place I have ever worked. The Milton campus library is more of a warm and inviting atmosphere. They are family here, they care about their employees, students, and patrons. If you want to work somewhere you can have a stress-free experience, feel like part of the family, have down time to further your educational goals, be surround by intellectual individuals, and learn something new everyday,...

    Show More

    Cons

    If you are a person who does not care for quietness, does not know how to make good use of down time, are not a team player, and needs constant supervision, this is not for you, as the only rushes we get are during dual enrollment periods.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, I truly have no complaints.

    Pensacola State College2019-02-06
  2. "Not just a career but a community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pensacola State College full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are incredible! There are numerous opportunities and resources for professional development--a great way to earn while you learn.

    Cons

    The pay could be more competitive.

    Pensacola State College2019-06-12
  3. "Great place to work, not very helpful in reassigning contract employees when they decide that they want to close a dept."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Math Lecturer in Pensacola, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pensacola State College full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    State Benefits, students, atmosphere, satisfaction in knowing you have helped a student succeed

    Cons

    Advancement, raises, helping with organizations and/or clubs

    Advice to Management

    You were once in lower level positions at some point, so please keep this in mind when you drag out decisions that affect an employee's pay.

    Pensacola State College2019-03-03
  4. "Trio Program Tutor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Pensacola State College part-time

      Pros

      You get to help out students from all levels of education, from middle school to college students.

      Cons

      None that I remember.

      Pensacola State College2018-06-19
    • "Watch out"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Pensacola State College full-time

        Pros

        A chance to help people

        Cons

        Watch out for really bad company politics

        Pensacola State College2018-07-09
      • "Instructor Job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Instructor in Pensacola, FL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Pensacola State College full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Everyone is helpful and friendly.

        Cons

        The salary is pretty low, while the workload is excessive.

        Pensacola State College2018-05-21
      • "Working at PSC"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Instructor in Pensacola, FL
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Pensacola State College full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Colleagues are great, supervisor is supportive, lots of academic freedom. Quite a few of the students are looking to go on to year colleges or graduate school and are of the highest quality.

        Cons

        Salary is well below average. ; Health care unaffordable for family

        Advice to Management

        Higher salary

        Pensacola State College2017-11-14
      • "Review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Pensacola State College full-time

          Pros

          I studied medical science at Pensacola sate college and I have my phlebotomy certificate.

          Cons

          I'd like to further my area of knowledge in the medical field.

          Pensacola State College2017-10-24
        • Helpful (2)

          "AS other have said, stay away from Financial Aid"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at Pensacola State College full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Holidays, free tuition for you and your dependents, that's basically it.

          Cons

          Horrible pay. It's almost laughable that most jobs require some type of degree but pay just above minimum wage. I cannot speak for other departments but Financial Aid is a horrible place to work. The supervisors blame it on the high stress of Financial Aid in general. That's not the reason, the supervisors themselves are the reason. It is like working for middle school girls who have their clique and not one else can...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          You aren't in middle school anymore. Grow up and stop spending all of your time gossiping about everyone behind closed doors. Stop celebrating when yet another employee quits.

          Pensacola State College2017-09-27
        • "I had a great time"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at Pensacola State College part-time

          Pros

          Great Co-Works, people in other departments are friendly and helpful.

          Cons

          The maintenance team is slow to fix anything.

          Pensacola State College2017-08-16
        Found 46 reviews