Penske Media Reviews | Glassdoor

Penske Media Reviews

Updated Oct 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Penske Media CEO Jay Penske
Jay Penske
61 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Best Company Ever. Kindness and Humanity are overwhelming!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corp Staff in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penske Media full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are several things about PMC that make it an amazing place to be - too many to list. I wanted to simply point out that for those employees in the LA headquarters, we received this email from our CEO and HR team recently: 'With tonight’s forecasted winds and the threat of fires returning around the area, we want those of you in potential evacuation areas to know PMC is thinking of you and are here to... support you. Should you and your loved ones be affected by evacuations, PMC would like to offer assistance and/or a place to stay during this time. Please simply reach out to us in Human Resources should there be a need of any kind.' I can't think of any other company, corporation, institution or business that would go out of its way for their employees like PMC does.

    Show More

    Cons

    not applicable. read above.

    Advice to Management

    keep being you.

    Penske Media2019-10-31
  2. "Excellent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting Manager in Danbury, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Penske Media full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, President truly cares about his employees, flexibility when personal crisis arises

    Cons

    Older building a bit run down

    Penske Media2019-08-24
  3. "Incredible company, great tech team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penske Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company is the real deal. After watching the rounds & rounds (and rounds) of layoffs in the publishing space, it's wonderful to find a company that is strategic & growing. I work in the technology group, where the team is smart, fun & hard working. Also it's nice to see a woman leading a tech org! Jay Penske is a great leader, I trust him and admire his strategic leadership.

    Cons

    Acquisitions are exciting & mean the company is growing, which isn't really a con but you need to be ready for lots of change and a fast pace.

    Penske Media2019-04-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "The Best Decision I Ever Made"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penske Media full-time

    Pros

    PMC has an impressive portfolio of brands and when I was looking to start my career in media, I knew PMC was the place to be. I connected with the talent acquisition team at Penske and throughout the interview process they took the time to learn about my experiences, understand exactly what I was looking for in my career, and they ended up presenting a different position to me than the one that I had initially... applied to. They helped me take my career in a different direction by matching me with a role that was much better suited for me and for that I am forever grateful. I had the privilege of working at WWD for 2 years. The team there is incredibly close-knit, management is thoughtful and encouraging, and there is ample opportunity for growth. Working at PMC was the best decision I ever made.

    Show More

    Cons

    The team is small but mighty! You have to be open to embracing change, working hard and taking on new challenges. This may be a con for some, but personally I love this about PMC. Incredible opportunity to learn new things!

    Penske Media2019-04-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Empowered to get things done!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penske Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I come to work each day knowing I have the autonomy to get things done & to make a difference. Employees are encouraged to share their ideas and suggestions and are given the ability to put them in motion.

    Cons

    Employee benefits are more expensive than other places I have worked.

    Advice to Management

    Continue listening to the ideas of the employees who strive to make PMC a great place to work.

    Penske Media2019-04-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penske Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My supervisor provides me with autonomy, but is also very supportive when needed. Working with employees in various PMC departments and brands keeps the work challenging and interesting.

    Cons

    Medical plan benefits and cost.

    Penske Media2019-04-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Best Professional Decision Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penske Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PMC has an amazing culture that rewards success. The leadership team makes every attempt to connect with each and every employee.

    Cons

    The pace can be intimidating at times.

    Advice to Management

    The pace can be a bit intimidating at times.

    Penske Media2019-03-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penske Media full-time

    Pros

    Always growing, lots of different brands.

    Cons

    Always growing. Sometimes it's hard to keep track!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Penske Media2018-12-18
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penske Media

    Pros

    Editor-in-chief is amazing, fair and understands news, content and publishing. She’s a pro and it was an honor to work with her

    Cons

    They’ve fixed the cons by firing a overbearing, manipulative, rude and controlling co-managing editor who wanted to be the EIC soooooo badly.

    Penske Media2018-12-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Penske Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall, PMC has been a great, supportive place to work, and I am proud to be an employee! Within the tumultuous world of media, PMC provides stability and a pool of supportive colleagues who approach the industry through an entrepreneurial lens.

    Cons

    There is no 401K matching

    Penske Media2018-08-02
Found 72 reviews