Pentair Reviews | Glassdoor

Pentair Reviews

Updated November 14, 2018
526 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
John Stauch
14 Ratings

526 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Management cares about its workers and takes care to hire good people" (in 41 reviews)

  • "Good Company to work, Healthy work life balance" (in 16 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (6)

    "A culture that lets you grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Golden Valley, MN
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Golden Valley, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pentair full-time

    Pros

    GREAT work life balance
    Leaders are focused on coaching/teaching instead of delegating
    Good visibility with the c-suite
    The new Pentair is based on our win right values and focuses on balancing accountability with empathy for others.

    Really great place to start off your career. I've never experienced the coaching and opportunity Pentair offers at other companies.

    Cons

    We are a lean organization, sometimes we run VERY lean.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in coaching/teaching programs for your employee. Developing employees at a young age for long careers at Pentair.


  2. "Great Opportunities to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pentair full-time

    Pros

    Fast-paced work in manufacturing facilities that stay competitive in a turbulent global marketplace. Great compensation and benefits, with opportunities to collaborate and share knowledge across disciplines and among the global team. Plenty of work for the willing.

    Cons

    Not the best position for employees that need a lot of hand-holding or struggle with hard deadlines. Also, expect the usual annoyances that come with working for a large, multinational, publicly-traded corporation.

    Pentair Response

    Oct 29, 2018 – Talent Aquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoy the fast paced work and collaborating across team's on a global level. We appreciate your feedback, and for your contributions to Pentair!

  3. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Saint Louis Park, MN
    Former Employee - Vice President in Saint Louis Park, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pentair full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people who are truly committed to excellence. Inclusive and engaged.

    Cons

    Lots of change, but if you are ok with change the company is always moving forward.


  4. "Quality Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pentair full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people, great place to work.

    Cons

    Large companies change rather slowly.


  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Pentair full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, safe place to work

    Cons

    Low salary for fresher employees

    Pentair Response

    Nov 5, 2018 – Talent Aquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts in this review! Pentair works hard to create a positive work environment. We're glad you feel safe and enjoy a great work life balance. We work hard for... More


  6. "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Apopka, FL
    Current Employee - Electrical Engineer in Apopka, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pentair full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Very casual and low stress. Pace of work is normal. Hours and vacation are good.

    Cons

    Compensation on the low side. Product managers not familiar enough with the products they manage. Short staffed.

    Pentair Response

    Oct 29, 2018 – Talent Aquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for the review! We take action in providing a healthy work-life balance to our employees. As a result, we are #11 on Forbes World’s Best Employers.

    Your feedback on compensation and our... More


  7. "Bad management, no communication, descent pay and benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Chardon, OH
    Current Employee - Machine Operator in Chardon, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pentair full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent pay, good benefits, overtime, consistent hours

    Cons

    No communication, lots of waste, terrible management, high turn over rate

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees on the floor, fix problems, communicate with your employees

    Pentair Response

    Oct 29, 2018 – Talent Aquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback. Pentair strives to create an environment focused on open communication. We are committed to continuous improvement, and appreciate your input.

  8. "Everyone's nice, but the tasks get boring"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Pentair full-time

    Pros

    In my opinion, everyone was very friendly.

    Cons

    The tasks got repetitive. I felt like I always had to ask what to work on next.

    Advice to Management

    Plan out all the big projects intern is going to work on

    Pentair Response

    Oct 15, 2018 – Talent Aquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve. This feedback will be shared with... More


  9. "Great Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in White Bear Lake, MN
    Current Employee - Scientist in White Bear Lake, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pentair full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The company has some really great people and amazing potential to make a difference in water resources. Since the restructure, there have been concerted efforts to build a positive functional corporate culture and to put resources toward innovation. Pay is good and benefits average.

    Cons

    Communication between the Tech leadership and Marketing could be better, and provide a clearer direction for efforts.

    Advice to Management

    Also, don't be stingy with your R&D - it will pay off in the end.

    Pentair Response

    Oct 15, 2018 – Talent Aquisition Coordinator

    Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback, and for your contributions to Pentair.


  10. "Good products horribly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pentair full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Profitable company and some decent products.

    Cons

    Pay was well below average and salary freezes were implemented last year. No opportunity for advancement whatsoever including directly telling employees they are needed where they are so don’t expect anything better. Several months back the wrong people were promoted or hired into management positions and the company culture badly suffered from incompetent managers doing anything possible including being dishonest and throwing other managers and even their own direct reports under the bus to try to cover up their own incompetence. Also they can’t seem to ever release any new products and the quality engineering department is a revolving door of disgruntled employees who are treated very disrespectfully. Also some of the assembly personnel are illiterate which can make it difficult to control processes. Furthermore the production managers are constantly in conflict with quality and engineering so they can meet their production goals and look good to higher ups no matter the consequences. Layoffs and salary freezes in-spite if record sales and profits. Forced retirements of older employees so they can be replaced by younger less expensive employees.

    Pentair Response

    Oct 15, 2018 – Talent Aquisition Coordinator

    We are sorry to hear your experience as it does not reflect the Win Right values that are the foundation for Pentair and shape how we do business and treat one another. Your feedback will be shared... More


Showing 526 of 566 reviews
Reset Filters