Penzeys Spices Reviews

Updated May 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
45%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Penzeys Spices CEO William Penzey Jr (no image)
William Penzey Jr
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "401k for part time employees, good living wage, great customers, laid back atmosphere(in 6 reviews)

  • "Friendly and laid back work environment(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you're the kind of person who can't cope with frustration, Penzeys will bother you very quickly(in 16 reviews)

  • "I'm fortunate to live in a town with more kindness than anger so I am not so impacted(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Penzeys Spices part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved working here. So many great things from the low stress environment and support of the employees to paid lunches and ability to give input. Paid well for the type of job it was.

    Cons

    No opportunity for full-time work. No benefits.

    Continue reading
    Penzeys Spices2020-03-07
  2. "Decent Place for some extra cash"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Customer Service 

    I have been working at Penzeys Spices part-time

    Pros

    Flexible Scheduling and friendly environment

    Cons

    Almost zero ways to grow a career with this company

    Penzeys Spices2020-05-26
  3. "decent job for retail sales"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Penzeys Spices part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    401k for part time employees, good living wage, great customers, laid back atmosphere

    Cons

    lack of leadership at local level

    Penzeys Spices2019-11-16
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Please start leading by explain"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Penzeys Spices

    Pros

    Free food and a few free spices

    Cons

    This is to Mr Penzeys. Start looking from within if you want to make change! You recently lost a TON of Exceptional employees, due to the fact that you are unwilling to see what is happening internally. I was an employee for almost 7 years and walked off the job… Yes unprofessional… However due to your opinion… Which you do have a right to… You make the entire climate feel unsettling and unsafe. I was an employee for almost 7 years and walked off the job… Yes on professional… However due to your opinion… Which you deliver right to… You make the entire climate feel unsettling and on safe. There is no real structure and no real Consequences for the “rules” that are put in place. It’s a constant complaining to get an employee written up for being late… He was late 37 times before he was actually written up. Physical fights happened with in your picking in boxing department because there is no communication and your store employees let a violent employee back into the building after being let go. The pay is low and you are constantly working endless amounts of overtime due to the lack of planning of promotions. If you are truly a family company you will take this into consideration and really put what is happening under a microscope. Please do better I used to believe in your mission.

    Continue reading
    Penzeys Spices2019-10-19
  5. Helpful (3)

    "CEO not so kind"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Oak Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Penzeys Spices full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The spices are amazing and make a big difference in your meals. Laid back work environment

    Cons

    The CEO Bill Penzey talks a big game about love and kindness but if you have conservative values you may want to seek employment elsewhere. He is so political and is actually advertising that he is funding the impeachment of our President . Poor taste if you ask me .

    Continue reading
    Penzeys Spices2019-10-16
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Not for me."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Penzeys Spices part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    So many spices to choose from.

    Cons

    Political rhetoric was too much for me.

    Penzeys Spices2019-03-24
  7. Helpful (10)

    "If you can stomach the political insults it's fine"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Kenosha, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Penzeys Spices for more than a year

    Pros

    the spices are good quality

    Cons

    The CEO hates conservatives and makes it known by calling them racists and constantly blaming them for everything wrong with the country. He also hates the president and uses every chance to bash him and bash him and conservatives in his "spice" newsletter, that isn't really about cooking at all, unless it is cooking up controversy

    Continue reading
    Penzeys Spices2019-01-24
  8. "Wonderful!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Penzeys Spices full-time

    Pros

    The CEO is compassionate and kind. Genuinely good person. The company cares about its people.

    Cons

    Pay for retail employees could be a little higher.

    Penzeys Spices2018-11-27
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Not the best"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Penzeys Spices part-time

    Pros

    Free spices, starting hourly wage is higher than average retail to

    Cons

    Little to none career advancement opportunities. There is really no room for creativity or creative thinking, as everything has to be done the way management has seen to be the “best” way. While Penzeys boasts itself as a strong left-leaning company, I feel that they do not hold true to liberal ideals when it comes to taking care of their employees. Unless you are a key holder, there are only part time work opportunities. There is also an expectation to have extremely flexible availability. Work opportunities with Penzeys only cater to those who are retired and want a “for fun” job. While they continue to give more and more free things to their customers, they continue to cut down employee hours.

    Continue reading
    Penzeys Spices2018-10-26
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Company values depicted on the outside, is not what's happening on the inside."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Penzeys Spices full-time

    Pros

    Your coworkers are great. They feed you twice a week for free. Benefits are great.

    Cons

    Employee relations favor's temporary workers over permanent workers. There are no set rules or standards, what is okay one day, isn't the next. The regular, full-time employees, are intimidated by employee relations, one wrong word or phrase will get you the 3:25 walk out. There are no second chances. Keep your head down and don't talk to anyone from ER.

    Continue reading
    Penzeys Spices2018-07-06
Found 73 reviews