People’s Postcode Lottery Reviews | Glassdoor

People’s Postcode Lottery Reviews

Updated Aug 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
People’s Postcode Lottery CEO Clara Govier
Clara Govier
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Call centre"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at People’s Postcode Lottery full-time

    Pros

    - Good salary - Good Pension - Good company days out (two days a year) - Good product to sell - Excellent charitable work that the company undertakes and staff can volunteer at a charity a day a year

    Cons

    - Lack of clear communication and focus within the department, difficult to know what to focus on work wise in a given week. Also relates to getting the monthly bonus as this depends on saying specific things in a call which often change without proper briefings. - Break, Lunch and toilet breaks are timed and staff are constantly informed to keep them low (no chat at the water cooler) - Compulsory overtime with time in lieu given instead of time and a half pay. - Unsociable shift patterns - Constant pressure to sell, retain and cold call - Disciplinary for being ill more than 3 times a year - Excessive layers of management who have tick box exercises for staff feedback and often communicate in a disrespectful manner

    Continue reading
    People’s Postcode Lottery2017-07-09

    People’s Postcode Lottery Response

    July 14, 2017People's Postcode Lottery

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We’re sorry to hear your comments around working within our Customer Experience department, especially when so many of our team members have provided such fantastic feedback about being a part of the team and communications within it – that’s part of the reason why they voted us one of The Sunday Times Best Small Companies to Work For in 2016. We see from your review that you are a current team member here at People’s Postcode Lottery. We would really appreciate it if you would feedback your concerns to your line manager or the HR team so we can do our best to address them with you personally. Please don’t feel that you would have to discuss this review in order to do so. If not, please be assured your feedback has been passed on in its anonymous form to our HR team, who always welcome feedback from team members to ensure People’s Postcode Lottery is a great place to work.

    Continue reading
  2. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at People’s Postcode Lottery full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    PPL go out of their way to look after their staff and make it a fun and interesting workplace. It's a great feeling to work somewhere that does so much good, and to work with colleagues that are excited and engaged in trying to do even more.

    Cons

    There have been some really good changes to make hours and working practices more flexible but I think there is an opportunity to do more, and become a leader in this area, as PPL are in so many other areas.

    Continue reading
    People’s Postcode Lottery2019-08-16
  3. "A rare culture with strong vision and values-. A happy place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Undisclosed in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at People’s Postcode Lottery full-time

    Pros

    There are good people at the heart of this organisation They always put players and supported charities first. I've never worked somewhere that values their customers so highly. They are spoken about with respect and always striving to do the best by them and value them Good culture. A family feel. Staff are treated well. Lots of fun involved. Aligns with their marketing

    Cons

    Hard to think of any. The working day is a longer than standard 9-5, but they offer flexibile working. You're always at risk of one or two members of staff who aren't great over time, but all in all a strong, positive workforce

    Continue reading
    People’s Postcode Lottery2019-07-12

    People’s Postcode Lottery Response

    July 17, 2019People's Postcode Lottery

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I’m pleased to read you believe that People's Postcode Lottery has a strong vision and strong values. As you rightly point out, it is not just our team who are at the heart of what we do but also our players. Without our players we would not be able to achieve all that we have for charity. We strive to make the experience of working at People's Postcode Lottery as good as our player experience, and believe that a happy team leads to great customer service. We appreciate your feedback on working hours, this is an area that we are currently looking at. In the meantime, many of our team members are making good use of our flexitime policy. If you have any more feedback or suggestions please do feel free to come and speak to me or use one of our many in-house feedback methods. Thanks again, Laura Anderson, head of HR

    Continue reading
  4. "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at People’s Postcode Lottery full-time

    Pros

    It’s great being part of giving so much to good causes. Dynamic and exciting place to work. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Can’t think of anything significant!

    Continue reading
    People’s Postcode Lottery2019-02-22

    People’s Postcode Lottery Response

    February 26, 2019People's Postcode Lottery

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience of working as part of the People’s Postcode Lottery team. We have charities and good causes at the heart of all we do and an overwhelming number of our team said that giving something back is something we do really well in a recent Best Companies survey. Thanks to the feedback from our fantastic team we were named one of Britain’s best companies to work for, ranking 9th in The Sunday Times top 100 mid-size companies. We know that there are always ways to improve so please do let us know how we are doing by coming to see me or using one of our alternative internal communication channels. Laura Anderson, head of HR

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience Agent in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at People’s Postcode Lottery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary and bonus scheme Great benefits Weekends off Great training and further development

    Cons

    Can be exhausting during cut-off week but all jobs are

    Continue reading
    People’s Postcode Lottery2019-02-01

    People’s Postcode Lottery Response

    February 4, 2019People's Postcode Lottery

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I’m really glad to hear your experience of working here has been so positive. Re the cut off period, Claire and I are looking at that just now to see if we can do anything different to improve that busy period for our team. We know cut off can be a busy time (and often a very successful one for us!) but we are conscious of everyone’s wellbeing hence why we are reviewing the way we work during this time. If you have any thoughts on this that you’d like to share then please do feel free to come and speak with one of us. Once again though, thanks for taking the time to leave your positive thoughts about working at People's Postcode Lottery on here. Paul MacEachen, joint head of customer experience

    Continue reading
  6. "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at People’s Postcode Lottery full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is so supportive and encouraging. It's a great place to work!

    Cons

    I can't think of any

    Continue reading
    People’s Postcode Lottery2018-11-10

    People’s Postcode Lottery Response

    November 12, 2018People's Postcode Lottery

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of working at People’s Postcode Lottery, we really appreciate your feedback. I am delighted to read that you feel your colleagues are supportive and encouraging. As you know we are continually looking for ways to ensure we remain a great place to work so if you have any suggestions please feel free to come and see me or use one of our many internal communications channels. Laura Anderson, head of HR

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at People’s Postcode Lottery full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Charity company - Company pays for courses - Nice co workers - Good atmosphere - Work life balance is very good

    Cons

    - So far there are really no cons I could think of. As an employee I have a lot of freedom and can develop my skills.

    Continue reading
    People’s Postcode Lottery2018-10-28

    People’s Postcode Lottery Response

    November 6, 2018People's Postcode Lottery

    Thank you for leaving this feedback, it's always valuable to hear comments like this. It's great to hear you like working in our development team! Craig Syme, development manager

    Continue reading
  8. "A brilliant company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Experience 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at People’s Postcode Lottery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have great colleagues who are hard working and fun to be around. I have a competitive salary, continual training programs to develop me, managers who allow me time to grow and give me freedom to make decisions and lots of opportunities to develop my career in a growing business. Add into this the benefits package we have and the work/life balance being right for me - this is a brilliant company to work for.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons to working here.

    Continue reading
    People’s Postcode Lottery2018-10-20

    People’s Postcode Lottery Response

    November 5, 2018People's Postcode Lottery

    Thanks for taking time to provide this review of working within customer experience. The progression of our team is extremely important to us and training is something the lottery as a whole is extremely committed to delivering for the team, so it’s pleasing to hear this is something that has supported your growth and allowed you to develop. We will continue to work with our learning and development team to make sure we keep current with everyone’s needs. Claire MacDonald, joint head of customer experience

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Mind numbing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at People’s Postcode Lottery full-time

    Pros

    Nice office. Friendly colleagues. Good conditions. Fruit. Bonus. Bike to work scheme. Pension. Opportunities to help with charities. Training.

    Cons

    Non stop outbound dialling. Constant scrutiny. Jobs for the boys. Anti social hours with no real consideration for work life balance.

    Continue reading
    People’s Postcode Lottery2018-10-04

    People’s Postcode Lottery Response

    October 25, 2018People's Postcode Lottery

    Thanks for your review. I’m glad you've highlighted a few of the many benefits we’ve created for our hard working team, but I do want to challenge your criticisms because I don’t believe they are accurate. • We have never had “non-stop outbound dialling” - and we never will. We have constant breaks where the team are able to refocus, refresh and relax throughout the day. • Your “jobs for the boys” comment is unfair to everyone who has successfully won promotion in our internal recruitment process. Customer experience is, and always will be, a meritocracy. Any person who is successful in moving into a new role will do so because they were the best candidate during a transparent recruitment process. • Work /life balance matters to us. That’s why we have flexible working, shift swaps, duvet days and a process where everyone can request required days off in advance of rotas being issued. We are open seven days a week (9am - 9pm Monday to Friday and 9am -5pm Saturday and Sunday) and at present our team works one late shift a week and one weekend in every four weeks. The vast majority of shifts worked by the team are either 9am – 5pm or 10am – 6pm. I understand individual experiences vary and we’re always interested in feedback. That’s why I would be happy to meet you and discuss you concerns. Feel free to get in touch. Paul MacEachen, joint head of customer experience

    Continue reading
  10. "Fantastic Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at People’s Postcode Lottery full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and approachable colleagues who truly live the core values Fun place to work Great salary Ability to make decisions and work collaboratively Significant investment in training Excellent Team Benefits including private medical insurance and gym membership Career development Team Talks so that we can find out what is happening across the business Moving toward more flexible approach with the introduction of flexitime Fun team events Free breakfasts and free fruit I have honestly never worked in a place with a culture quite like this. Everyone is really friendly and approachable and there is a real feeling of working together to achieve a common goal - to raise funds for and build awareness of charities and good causes globally. There is freedom to suggest changes and influence the work that we do and the office is amazing too.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Continue reading
    People’s Postcode Lottery2018-05-31

    People’s Postcode Lottery Response

    June 5, 2018People's Postcode Lottery

    Thank you for taking the time to post this review. It’s great to read your comments about all the different areas of life at People’s Postcode Lottery which are important to you and which we believe make People’s Postcode Lottery a fantastic place to work. As a team we’re particularly proud of our unique culture and we work together, ensuring our core values are central to all that we do. We recognise the importance of keeping the team informed which is why we recently introduced Team Talks. I am pleased that you find these useful. We have had some great feedback about what works well and how we can make these even better for the team going forward. If you have any feedback on how we can keep on improving I would be delighted to discuss this with you further. Thanks, Laura Anderson, head of HR

    Continue reading
Found 34 reviews