KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

PeopleMatter

Part of Snagajob
Is this your company?

PeopleMatter

Add a Review

PeopleMatter Reviews

Updated Mar 13, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 of over 57 reviews

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
PeopleMatter President & CEO Nate DaPore (no image)
Nate DaPore
41 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

383

57 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "People are awesome and fun.(in 8 reviews)
  • "There are people here that you want to become friends with and you can! HR is also doing a really great job of coordinating activities for the team members to do — for example, monthly volunteering and weekly yoga.(in 8 reviews)
  • "Comapny culture seems awesome from the outside.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Awesome benefits, great comp, and tons of room to expand and grow professionally.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Unlimited Vacation for FT Employees(in 4 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I love working here and so do my dogs!

    Nov 10, 2014 - BDR in Charleston, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great environment- the benefits of having a fun and challenging environment make going to work pretty sweet. I love bringing in my dogs and everyone from the top down

    Cons

    If you don't want to work hard and be challenged that would be a con for someone.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    nothing

    Mar 13, 2022 - Çustomer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    good company to work for

    Cons

    nothing to say about them

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Challenging work, exciting environment, and great people!

    Jul 20, 2014 - Software Engineer in Charleston, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management really cares about you. They want to help you do well in your career and in your personal life. They pay attention to your progress and want to make sure that you stay interested in your work and challenged. Unlimited vacation is a pretty awesome perk. It's great to be able to take time off whenever you feel you need it without the worry of using up your precious "2 weeks". Working hours are also extremely flexible if you ever have errands to run, need to take a kid to the doctor, etc. Mentoring is also a big deal here. They want to invest in their future leaders. I have never heard of a company where the "C"-level execs mingle with the team members. But that is a regular part of life at PeopleMatter. They all try really hard to stay personal with team members and their doors are always open to anyone who needs to talk. The engineering stack is good, and it's constantly improving. There's still room for new ideas - so you won't get bored, but it's also consistent enough that we have a strong set of patterns and a pretty clean codebase. There's also plenty of interesting problems to solve.

    Cons

    It doesn't seem to matter how awesome a situation can be, someone will always find something to complain about. There are some folks around that like to whine without offering any solutions for improvement - you'll have to learn to stay positive and discourage the naysaying. Housing is pretty expensive in Charleston, although not as bad as a lot of other major cities I suppose. There is also still a lot of silent racism here. Overall it's still a great city to live in though.

    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    You'll work hard, but it's all worth it!

    Aug 26, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Let me start off by saying, you'll work harder than you ever have before in your life! If you want a 9-5 job, then go down to a bank because you'll crash and burn at PeopleMatter very quickly . . . however, the work is very rewarding. Our company mission, to change the way the employee and employer interact and make it better, is truly at the heart of all the decisions that are made as a company. We listen to our customers and respond appropriately with product and feature changes. I am confident that we are on the right path to continue to build a very large company that has and will continue to make a positively disruptive impact to the marketplace. Come join us! Just a few other perks . . . generally flexible work environment (just get your work done, no one is checking the clock on you), unlimited vacation (yes, you read that correctly!), exceptional health benefits for the employee (if you have a family, it is high to add them, but that's pretty standard these days), tuition reimbursement, 24/7 access to the Visitors' Center Parking Garage (even on the weekends, never have to worry about where to park downtown:), and you get to bring in your dog to the office with you!

    Cons

    There is a tad lack of transparency at times from upper managements on the true motives behind some company direction and resource changes; however, we are in a very competitive industry . . . they can't be expected to share everything with us.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Must Earn It

    Jan 18, 2016 - Business Development Representative in Charleston, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    While the pom-pom waving culture at PeopleMatter is overblown - there is a great culture for those who know how to work in teams and can communicate effectively. As in any small company - change is constant and its harder on those who expect everything to be easy or handed to them the way they want it. There's a ton of opportunity to make variable comp money, have an impact and develop your skills, and work on a platform that delivers what its expected to. Most employees are great to work with and the location in Charleston is world-class.

    Cons

    Its not an easy sale - there are big obstacles to overcome, but it makes your really develop skills that will accelerate your career. Management is not very transparent - and at times was very bloated. Not in the trenches enough with their front-line. Starting pay is not aggressive for the industry - they rely on the depressed wages in the Charleston market since there is so much competition for these types of companies/jobs.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great People, Great Company

    Mar 18, 2013 - Product Owner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I truly enjoyed working at PeopleMatter. Not for one day did I ever feel uncomfortable or out-of -place. During my tenure, I not only had the chance to take a deeper dive into the world of product management but I learned that I do have a voice in not only day-to-day tasks but also longterm planning and strategy. I can say that at PeopleMatter I probably experienced the most professional growth than at any other firm. Co-Team Members and Senior Management were always game for in-depth conversations about product enhancements and where the company was going. People and their diverse talent are definitely the Company's strength. Also, the work/life balance was one of the best I have experienced.

    Cons

    As in any start up, expanding the footprint and building out the product created some growing pains. Often, decisions about the roadmap had to be made quickly which resulted in some people being left out and feeling merely directed to execute the work.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    PeopleMatter only as a means to make money

    May 22, 2012 -  in North Charleston, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Non-management is filled with awesome people - Opportunity to work with smart people - Challenging work - Should help most people advance their career - Able to work with modern tech

    Cons

    - Widely known they underpay until you threaten to quit with an offer from elsewhere - More outsourced teams from Argentina than internal - Outsourced teams will make your life miserable - Will and have promised the world to many people - You will not get much stock in the company, so you're working toward making others very rich - Takes 5 years to get all of your rather small stake in the company - Controlled by VCs and a large client - Try to act like a startup when convenient - Tons of management & senior executives that aren't needed - Sold themselves down the river to their largest client - Management who really do not care about the people - Management who openly has favorites, while having disdain for others - Management doesn't listen to those they rely upon to become successful - Extremely high turnover that they refuse to address - Waste money on worthless marketing stunts - A CEO no one working on the product likes - Wasteful company meeting every week - Yearly reviews that are throwaway and amount to a standard raise - No real company culture, since they push the one they want rather than letting it be organic - Management who don't understand your work, so don't hold much value in it - Care more about the process than the people and the quality of their work

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great potential that doesn't live up to the hype

    Aug 5, 2014 - Software Engineer in Charleston, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Generally a fun atmosphere. Benefits are pretty epic across the board. Charleston engineering is a tight crew that works well together and gets stuff done. And you cannot beat the location of the main office.

    Cons

    Features are decided based on customer pressure, and hard deadlines set based off of engineering best guesses. Company has taken in so much venture funding that management seems to spend more time placating the board than thinking about the future.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    They gone

    Nov 21, 2019 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Downtown location and free parking

    Cons

    Everything else. Like everything.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    I have learned and have had the autonomy to achieve more than I could have ever imagined at this stage in my career.

    Oct 6, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Charleston, SC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very fast-moving company that allows you to quickly grow as they do. I've worked here over a year but have felt like I have been here for 5 because of all of the milestones we have achieved in that short time. My colleagues are awesome and it is truly a great place to work. Location isn't too bad either.

    Cons

    I sometimes feel like some of the work i'm doing is all for not because Senior Management will come down and make processes mandatory that should have been thought through more. As we grow, we are becoming more rigid and it is limiting some of our creativity in a time when it could be one of our biggest assets to differentiate.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 52 Reviews

PeopleMatter Reviews FAQs

PeopleMatter has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 57 reviews left anonymously by employees. 66% of employees would recommend working at PeopleMatter to a friend and 64% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, PeopleMatter employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.5 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at PeopleMatter. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

66% of PeopleMatter employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated PeopleMatter 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.7 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at PeopleMatter to be management, career development, benefits and the cons to be compensation, senior leadership.

Work at PeopleMatter? Share Your Experiences

or

PeopleMatter Photos

+ Add Photo
PeopleMatter photo of: Welcome to 466 King St
PeopleMatter photo of: Rooftop Patio of our 466 King St Headquarters
PeopleMatter photo of: Hulk hands required
PeopleMatter photo of: Check out our rooftop patio and bar
PeopleMatter photo of: Some of our senior management team
PeopleMatter photo of: Some of our team members at the i5k event
PeopleMatter photo of: Our team volunteering at the Dream Center
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

SnagAJob.com, Inc.
See all affiliated companies