Peoples Home Equity Reviews | Glassdoor

Peoples Home Equity Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 58 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Aaron Wimsatt
40 Ratings
Pros
  • "PHE offers all the tools you would need to be a great originator so that you can close loans on time every time(in 10 reviews)

  • "Ability to work remotely and great loan officers(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sub standard benefits package/health insurance, chaotic work environment, poor leadership, unprofessional work atmosphere(in 2 reviews)

  • "There are no cons working for PHE(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Loved my time at PHE/Cardinal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Marketing in Santa Rosa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Peoples Home Equity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great ownership, creative freedom, they care a lot about their people

    Cons

    Ownership at times spread thin, but find a place where that isn't the case.

    Advice to Management

    Have confidence the culture builds success, not the other way around.

    Peoples Home Equity2019-01-16
  2. "Dont Be Fooled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PROCCESSOR/LOAN SET UP/DISCLOSURE DESK/VERIFICATIONS in Santa Ana, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peoples Home Equity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Beginning is all great. Dont believe the facade. My Title changed constantly. Never knew what I was supposed to do. Just bend over I guess.

    Cons

    End is not all great. VP tried to throw me under the bus. Ask my lawyer. I won😉

    Advice to Management

    Dont pigeonhole your staff. I had hoped to advance. Not happening here.

    Peoples Home Equity2019-06-12
  3. "Depends on your branch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Peoples Home Equity

      Pros

      Underwriting staff was fantastic to work with. Most of them would help you work through any unforeseen issues.

      Cons

      I worked for two separate branches. Depends on your manager and where you fit in. First branch was pretty good, even though you were expected to put in 60+ hours a week to keep up with demand. Tons of overtime, but don’t expect to ever get a raise. Second branch was terrible. Had to pay out of pocket for VOEs if you had to order online. Had to pay for my own DocuSign. And Adobe. With no OT, it cost more to work there...

      Show More
      Peoples Home Equity2019-02-11
    • "Mortgage Processor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oakbrook Terrace, IL

      I worked at Peoples Home Equity full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Ability to work remotely and great loan officers.

      Cons

      Favoritism, low bonus structure and insurance

      Peoples Home Equity2018-11-21
    • Helpful (2)

      "LP2"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - LP2 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Peoples Home Equity full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Branch is great to work for... Fantastic people fantastic opportunities

      Cons

      Company "Merged" and said no changes now people are losing jobs and changes are happening everywhere

      Peoples Home Equity2018-07-19
    • "PHE"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Branch Manager in Bellevue, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Peoples Home Equity full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      The dedication to getting things done for our clients and referral partners is second to none. I also love that their are not multiple layers of management to jump through hoops. You can pick up the phone call and UW etc. Back to the old friendly days of mortgage. Not the I’m untouchable attitude.

      Cons

      None at this moment.

      Peoples Home Equity2018-04-20
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great company to work for!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Mortgage Professional in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Peoples Home Equity full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Having Chris Lekousis as the VP of Western Operations. He really understands the retail platform and how hard it is to build and sustain self-sourced business. He always has the sales force in mind which then waterfalls down to his staff. PHE offers all the tools you would need to be a great originator so that you can close loans on time every time.

      Cons

      Can't really think of anything.

      Advice to Management

      Keep the entrepreneurial spirit.

      Peoples Home Equity2018-04-16
    • "Enjoy work again."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Branch Manager in Bellevue, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Peoples Home Equity full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      My team and I have enjoyed a smooth transition to PHE. We have enjoyed the culture coming from a company who was so vocal but lacked it. The jumping off point for the move was the ability to control our expenses, set margins and seeing the pricing on real scenarios. The lack of multiple management layers and being able to pick up the phone and know exactly who to call for an escalation has been refreshing. I have...

      Show More

      Cons

      Nothing at this time. I enjoy this company.

      Peoples Home Equity2018-04-19
    • "Love It!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - LP II in Roseville, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Peoples Home Equity full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I feel very well cared for. Everyone has been their 100% to assist us in on boarding and getting us settled in. Its hard being new and some times a little scary but they have made it easy. I feel like part of the family!

      Cons

      Healthcare package is not very good

      Advice to Management

      Kaiser for the west coast people the deductibles are to high through the current plans

      Peoples Home Equity2018-04-19
    • "hometown family atmosphere"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Manager 
        Recommends
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Peoples Home Equity full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        flexible company. willing to work with you

        Cons

        quick growth in sales operations falling behind

        Peoples Home Equity2018-04-05
      Found 58 reviews