Pepsi Bottling Ventures Reviews | Glassdoor

Pepsi Bottling Ventures Reviews

Updated Nov 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
35%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Pepsi Bottling Ventures CEO Paul Finney (no image)
Paul Finney
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Local company with good benefits and pay(in 14 reviews)

  • "(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Many many long hours in bad weather(in 7 reviews)

  • "very demanding work for low pay, no helpers in summer & will work you to death 60(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pepsi Bottling Ventures full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, ability to build some really high-level relationships, enjoyed the culture and help from others.

    Cons

    Growth in moving to higher position is slow, director level next.

    Pepsi Bottling Ventures2018-07-11
  2. "-----"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ---- 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pepsi Bottling Ventures full-time

    Pros

    4 day work week. Decent benefits. Weekly pay.

    Cons

    Almost impossible to advance career. It's all about you know and who you're "buddy-buddy" with rather then your actual work ability.

    Pepsi Bottling Ventures2019-11-04
  3. "Downhill Slide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bulk Customer Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pepsi Bottling Ventures full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Globally recognized brand. Honest hard work. Engaged, experienced territory managers. Managers leave you alone if you do your job, or their too busy covering routes to notice you.

    Cons

    Apathetic corprate/senior leadership, people walk off job almost daily, always begging for help or extra work days, underpaid, unrealistic customer demands or too much work for 1 person to complete in 10-12 hours/day. 1990s computers

    Advice to Management

    Modernize, add some (any) help, pay your people better, Good employees are worth far more than good customers, they're what makes a customer loyal after all.

    Pepsi Bottling Ventures2019-10-16
  4. "You might like this if you’re a morning person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Swing Merchandiser in Goldsboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pepsi Bottling Ventures full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There’s decent pay and discounts on products

    Cons

    Staggered days off; never two days in a row Have to get up early in the morning; if you’re not a morning person this isn’t for you

    Pepsi Bottling Ventures2019-09-03
  5. "Everything but the culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Key Account Manager in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pepsi Bottling Ventures full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is great. Pay is good, Benefits are good.

    Cons

    Office moral is low and makes it hard to enjoy coming to work.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to adress the issue and remove those reponsible.

    Pepsi Bottling Ventures2019-08-15
  6. "Food Service sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Representative in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pepsi Bottling Ventures full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Local company with good benefits and pay. Strong brand portfolios for sales calls and presentations.

    Cons

    Management has been an issue for the company. I had 4 different directors in the 5 years I was employed. Customer rapport and relationship building are non existent and can cause issues with account retention. Lack of CRM technology.

    Pepsi Bottling Ventures2019-08-13
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fairly decent pay at the expense of brutal conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Swing Merchandiser in Goldsboro, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pepsi Bottling Ventures full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay Discount on products Working inside away from weather conditions

    Cons

    Poor management Harsh working conditions Unrelenting demands Dead end; virtually no room for growth ever Crazy hours; working every weekend

    Pepsi Bottling Ventures2019-08-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Could Be Worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician in Raleigh, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pepsi Bottling Ventures full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have a lot of freedom during the day since I work out in the "field." I spend a lot of time alone which is something I enjoy. All tools are paid for by the company. The company vehicle and gas card make it very easy to get comfortable with this job.

    Cons

    Absolutely no training what so ever. There is also a huge shortage of qualified people for this job so we are very short handed which means more work. We are also forced to prioritize some service calls over other projects which usually hands the customer the short end of the stick.

    Advice to Management

    Train people correctly and hire a couple more people to even the work load a little better.

    Pepsi Bottling Ventures2019-07-03
  9. "Good job when young"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Bulk Sales Representative in Conway, SC

    I have been working at Pepsi Bottling Ventures full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is good for this area.

    Cons

    Very long hours during tourist season.

    Pepsi Bottling Ventures2019-06-04
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Not value, easily replaceable, targeted."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bulk Customer Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pepsi Bottling Ventures full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You get paid,not much else is good.

    Cons

    You have to watch your back with the company. Management is well known and documented to talk behind your back and target employees. They will make up reasons to terminate employees, as they must fire a certain number during time periods. No raises. No room for advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to treat your employees. Stop letting ones who have been there for 15 years get away with not working, while letting hard working employees take the brunt of your anger.

    Pepsi Bottling Ventures2019-06-12
Found 120 reviews