Percolate "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Percolate Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jul 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Percolate CEO Randy Wootton
Randy Wootton
27 Ratings
Pros
  • "Percolate is a great company with a very good work life balance(in 8 reviews)

  • "Awesome office, awesome people, great product, passionate clients(in 8 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "What Percolate's Like"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Percolate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Extremely transparent company to work at with every aspect of communication; if you'd like to know something, simply ask -If you're looking to get into more activities culturally with a company they provide every opportunity to do so with associated clubs/wellness activities -Truly value their employees and their participation within company events -Direct Managers as well as executives provide autonomy to their... employees and encourage giving you the chance to enhance your career and learn -Excellent work/life balance

    Show More

    Cons

    -No 401k match -Health benefits are not great

    Percolate2019-03-11
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Exodus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Percolate full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Once upon a time, Percolate had an amazing culture. It's still kind of there, but a little worse for the wear. Even so, there's some truly lovely people that work there. In the time I was at Percolate, I never had anything but positive interactions with my peers. Everyone's a professional and seems to work hard at their job. There's nice little perks like catered lunch once a week, cold brew on tap and healthy... snacks. There's even a full espresso machine. Every so often there's small office events with food and booze - always nice. Engineering is a mixed bag, but there's no denying that a lot of stellar work was done on the tooling and infrastructure. Regardless of the outcome, there's a lot of smart people trying to create and maintain good processes. The work can be hard, but overall there's real personal control of work/life balance.

    Show More

    Cons

    People are leaving in droves, so bandwidth suffers constantly. It's hard to tell if the ship is sinking or just afloat and abandoned. Either way, I wouldn't recommend it to anyone else. For me, the physical environment was unpleasant. The engineering floor is called the "fish bowl" because all the desks are in the middle of the floor surrounded by a perimeter of glass conference rooms. The benefits are the worst... I've ever had at a startup - no 401k matching and a poor medical plan. There's stock options, but nobody I know bought any. Leadership is probably the biggest problem. Both of the founders left the company. Make of that what you will. The current CEO is very nice, but a bit reminiscent of a used car salesman. Senior leadership has intelligent people, but they still can't seem to figure out how to manage people and organize teams properly. Although they are seemingly transparent, it often feels like lies and lip service. Expectations are all over the place, and you can't count on consistent support. Unfortunately, this negatively impacts everything else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put your employees first, and stop trying to climb the ladder. Playing politics is incompatible with transparency and real connectedness. Figure things out fast, or get out of the way so someone else can fix the organization. Percolate can be an amazing company if you don't ruin it.

    Percolate2019-07-25
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Engineering team LOVES installing new and useless processes constantly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Percolate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. If you can put in 4-5 hours a day here you will be considered a top performer.

    Cons

    I apologize for not finding a way to sugar coat this because there are some very nice people in engineering here, but overall the engineering org is probably going to be the downfall of this company. The management in that group is in waaaaaaay over their heads which is the biggest problem, but somehow the other execs do not see this. Engineering management seems obsessed with putting in new processes all the time,... which ultimately leads to less time to, you know, fix bugs and deliver features. Does not seem like a recipe for success for a mid-stage startup.

    Show More
    Percolate2019-05-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing work culture with incredible employees to match!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Recruiting Coordinator in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Percolate for less than a year

    Pros

    Percolate is a great company with a very good work life balance. The employees are all stellar at what they do and everyone has a positive attitude that is contagious. The growth opportunities are also very transparent and available.

    Cons

    I personally didn’t have any while I was there.

    Percolate2018-10-11
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Sinking fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Percolate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office locations and good coffee

    Cons

    Where to start...Direction from the top is atrocious. Unapproachable and accusatory. Both founders believe they are gifts from above the way they treat their employees There is a real lack of mgmt. The people that are put in place, do not have the experience to make decisions Absolutely no accountability when things go wrong. Do not believe in any work life balance. You are looked down upon if you take... vacation. Product has no real market fit. It is a nice to have. Not a need to have. From every part of the organization, people are looking to get out. My advice to anyone looking at a job here is to speak with current employees outside of the hiring process to get a real feel on what its like to work there.

    Show More
    Percolate2018-01-03
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Great product, great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Percolate

    Pros

    -Unique product -Great work culture- monthly office events, group outings, good work-life balance -Collaborative culture -Room to grow in your role & agency to take on projects of interest

    Cons

    -Like any startup, it's a fast paced environment and you must be able to adapt quickly

    Percolate2017-08-28
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great People, great work environment, room for growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Percolate full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been at Percolate for a little under a year now and these are my pros and cons. -Amazing colleagues! You will make friends at Percolate. -Management and execs are easy to get along with and very reachable. -Flexible Work/Life Balance (Unlimited vacation days, Work from home if needed) -I have yet to experience any form of micro management. -Room to grow, Percolate University and tons projects... you can work on. -Extensive documentation and resources -The product is great. -Amazing customers that love what Percolate has to offer. -Transparency -Percolate Clubs!

    Show More

    Cons

    The cons percolate has are the same as a lot of startups that are growing. -Constant change -just, okay compensation -Inconsistent workload

    Advice to Management

    My Director and VP have been fantastic to my team and I. Everyone I speak to enjoys them. My advice to them is to continue being thoughtful of your employees and continue to lead us to exceeded expectations.

    Percolate2017-04-06
  8. Helpful (17)

    "Poor leadership is driving this place into the ground"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Success in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Percolate full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - The people. For the most part, the people are really smart AND fun to work with. - Focus on design. The product and company really prioritize design and you can see that in the product and marketing materials. - Coffee - lots of free coffee, the espresso machine, cold brew on tap - The alumni network - got my next job through it and people are always willing to helping each other out.

    Cons

    - Management. James and Noah have no idea what they're doing when it comes to building a tech company (for reference, see all the reviews below). The people they've brought in at the top are all from big tech companies and never had to get their hands dirty. Just because you ran a small team at a 50,000 person tech company, does not mean you actually know how to grow a sales, engineering, support, marketing etc team... at a start up. - Pay. Everyone across the board was grossly underpaid and there were promises to make it right and/or promote people and then they'd change their mind at the last minute. Also, since when are promotions without a pay increase ok? - Product. The idea for what they're building is great, but the actual execution is TERRIBLE. So many broken features, the roadmap is never followed through on, and customers are VERY unhappy. Customer churn is around 70% - yikes! - All of the lies. Percolate is busting at the seams with the lies it tells to prospects, customers and even internally. - Work life balance - LOL, what life? I was given the code to get into the office on the weekends my first week there.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop chasing big deal contracts and completely shifting the product for those few customers. Hire people who have actually worked at start ups/growing companies. Make smarter financial decisions when it comes to hiring people - in my 1.5 years there, I saw over 150 people come into the company and about 250 leave. it's crazy to think about how much time & money was wasted bringing those people in and training... them, just to fire them a month later.

    Show More
    Percolate2016-12-07
  9. Helpful (28)

    "Wishy-Washy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Product Specialist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Percolate for less than a year

    Pros

    - Talented folks - A clean and beautiful product to look at - You’ll learn a lot about people’s characters - You’ll learn to be much more “efficient” - Working in Austin is not as stressful as working in NYC

    Cons

    - Promised an office overlooking downtown, instead they crammed 6 Customer Success folks in a tiny square box at Capitol Factory - Told “you’ll be surprised how efficient you can be and how well you can handle stress” without much guidance - Management seemed to not care about our work life balance only how many clients we could manage until things hit the fan - Burned money on pressed juice, in-house florists,... hipster swag and etc. prior to hiring the CFO

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Don't hire hardworking, talented people then lay them off 5-6 months later – you are screwing with their lives. Yeah, I get it – welcome to the real world but again, carefully think through things. - Rather than spending every Friday afternoon on wins for an hour, use that hour to either let your employees enjoy their weekend early or spend it nailing down what needs to be done to better the organization.

    Percolate2016-04-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Product-Focused Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Product Team Member in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Percolate

    Pros

    - Great product that's been able to evolve and improve with the business - Product team is engineering-focused: reliable systems, good automation, contemporary software and hardware, etc. - Great product design and marketing teams, good taste throughout the org - Sane work-life balance - Leadership is honest and supportive (Important note: if you browse through the negative reviews here you'll see that none... of them are on the product side of the business.)

    Show More

    Cons

    - Comp is average, no 401K match

    Advice to Management

    - Increase comp to hire and retain top people

    Percolate2016-04-20
Found 19 reviews