PerkinElmer Reviews | Glassdoor

PerkinElmer Reviews

Updated Jul 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 458 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
PerkinElmer CEO Rob Friel
Rob Friel
205 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor upper management and support(in 25 reviews)

  • "Current senior management has some ambitious plans, but there aren't enough people below them to execute effectively(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Financial Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Financial Accountant Associate in Kraków
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at PerkinElmer full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      People, Wide spectrum of job possibilities, Medical insurance

      Cons

      i do not see many for a moment

      PerkinElmer2018-11-18

      PerkinElmer Response

      November 21, 2018Supervisor, Talent Acquisition Operations

      It's great to hear from our team in Krakow! Thank you for your contributions to PerkinElmer and for sharing your positive feedback.

    • "PerkinElmer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at PerkinElmer full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good Company to work with...

      Cons

      Nothing to talk about the negative

      PerkinElmer2019-04-27
    • "CSE"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Field Service Engineer in Chicago, IL

        I worked at PerkinElmer full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        The people you work with

        Cons

        Poor upper management and support

        PerkinElmer2019-06-07
      • "Awful"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales in Waltham, MA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at PerkinElmer full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Some good people, relatively close to my home and after a while, I could work from home. Salary was competitive, not great, but certainly not bad. Nice gym on-site.

        Cons

        Just a horrible place...no clear direction from upper management. I had 4 different bosses in 14 months before they consolidated the dept, eliminated my job and laid me off...best thing that could have happened. Pricing structure for some products was all over the place. Morale was a joke, very high turnover.

        Advice to Management

        Shareholders should get rid of top executives and just clean house

        PerkinElmer2019-06-28
      • "Decent company but nothing special"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Operations in Waltham, MA

        I have been working at PerkinElmer full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Flexible hours for a bad traffic area

        Cons

        Low salary. No work-life balance

        PerkinElmer2019-04-29
      • Helpful (1)

        "OK"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Sales Representative 

          I have been working at PerkinElmer full-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Stabile and growing at least for now.

          Cons

          Quality has slipped, so it is hard to sell.

          Advice to Management

          Listen to your employees more.

          PerkinElmer2019-04-02
        • "Great Company"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Manager 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at PerkinElmer full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Everybody really cares about the customers and the business

          Cons

          None, really. They suffer from the normal resources, tools, and process issues that most companies do.

          PerkinElmer2019-03-19
        • "Good place to work!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Lab Technician in Hebron, KY
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at PerkinElmer full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Great team, friendly, and collaborates well!

          Cons

          Better communications between departments and lab.

          PerkinElmer2019-03-29
        • "This company has friendly people but not much interesting things to do"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at PerkinElmer full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          friendly people, casual environment, nice town,

          Cons

          not much interesting to do

          Advice to Management

          management people are good

          PerkinElmer2019-03-15
        • Helpful (6)

          "Extremely confused company"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Service Org in San Jose, CA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I have been working at PerkinElmer full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          The Pros depend strongly upon which group you are in. In general, there is a wealth of scientific and technical knowledge, and a genuine help-the-customer attitude in the service organization. There are a fair number of field offices which means that geography is less of a limitation in terms of where you can work. There seems to be a fair amount of collaboration within the service organization.

          Cons

          I'm afraid that there are a lot of ex-GE managers here. As GE sheds managers, capital and employees, there is a glut of them in the market. The issue is, that the GE mentality was one of cut costs and people; innovation died down. I'm afraid the same mentality is permeating the upper ranks at Perkin Elmer. Good people have got laid for no rhyme or reason; tanking entire product lines with them. The tech used to track...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          There isn't much I can add that other people have not.

          PerkinElmer2019-03-14
        Found 458 reviews