Perkins Coie Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Perkins Coie Associate Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.8
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Perkins Coie  Managing Partner John Devaney (no image)
John Devaney
5 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    West Coast vibe; Genuinely cares about its employees; Making headway in diversity.

    Cons

    Still a way to go with diversity.

    Perkins Coie2019-11-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good to start your career in Seattle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Perkins Coie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Well connected, large firm with reputable name so it sets you up for the future. Despite the Cons below, this firm set me up for my future career - but those 6 years were hard earned and at great expense.

    Cons

    As a minority, female associate, don't count on significant or any mentorship opportunities (definitely no sponsorship opportunities). It still is very much a white organization, with good intentions (they're good at marketing diversity), but no real institutional follow through. If you start here from law school, unless you find a willing sponsor partner, don't count on making partner - they typically bring in associates from the East coast that have been trained by their respective firms. This is practice specific but I do think this is consistent for people of color. My photo/name was typically used on pitches, but I was NEVER brought to pitches (therefore, no partnership development) - I only found out after I left that younger white male associates were being brought to pitches. White associates were typically invited to partners homes for dinner etc., but women (especially single women) seldom got the same. Among the rank, the good news is most of the women, and people of color do talk and there is a strong sub-network (so I was able to leave with their help). But partnership for people of color typically is a mirage (just look at the partnership ranks). Note I don't think this is specific to this firm - it is a major big law problem. Just don't buy the hype on their diversity scores (non timekeepers are typically treated better).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop putting diversity efforts on the shoulders of people (women mostly) of color - if they are pressured to bill, they can't also be helping your firm become better with diversity. White allies are real. Also, be honest with the likelihood of associates to be advanced if they don't have sponsorship from partners. Help them earlier to leave the firm.

    Perkins Coie2019-12-05
  3. "Law Firm Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate Attorney 

    I worked at Perkins Coie full-time

    Pros

    Excellent training, beautiful offices, great salary.

    Cons

    The hours can be long.

    Perkins Coie2019-10-12
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Best in town"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Highly connected firm, great clients, great people

    Cons

    Sometimes long hours, but work life balance is highly practice group specific.

    Perkins Coie2019-02-07
  5. "Solid Firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Perkins Coie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Certain partners are knowledgable and accessible.

    Cons

    Compensation tends to lag that of other large firms.

    Perkins Coie2019-01-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Progressive for BigLaw but still a lot of work to be done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No Jerks Intelligent Coworkers Competetive Salaries Generous Vacation Good Health Insurance Progressive Company Culture

    Cons

    Little Room for Development outside of a Niche Area Absolutely Zero Boundaries/Low Work-Life Balance

    Advice to Management

    Partners can be overly protective of associates and this creates stagnation for associates to branch out and take on new projects. People get stuck doing things they hate exclusively/can't grow from because partners won't let them work for other partners.

    Perkins Coie2018-05-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, high caliber work

    Cons

    Too deliberative decision making process

    Perkins Coie2018-03-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Summer Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Associate in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Perkins Coie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work, great mentorship, great opportunity

    Cons

    Too much fun at times

    Perkins Coie2017-09-14
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good lifestyle firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Attorney 
    Recommends

    I worked at Perkins Coie

    Pros

    Great people. Reasonable hours for a law firm.

    Cons

    None really that wouldn't apply to any firm. Better than most.

    Perkins Coie2016-09-24
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Perkins Coie

    Pros

    All pro bono work counts toward billables. Attorneys have lives outside of work---most are gone by 6. It's big law with a smaller law feel. The firm is incredibly transparent. The firm is very stable and well run.

    Cons

    As with all places, there are some bad partner apples. Compensation is slightly lower, but that's still really high and more sustainable for a lot of practice areas.

    Perkins Coie2016-02-16
Found 16 reviews