Perkins Coie Attorney Reviews | Glassdoor

Perkins Coie Attorney Reviews

Updated Nov 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
94%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Perkins Coie  Managing Partner John Devaney (no image)
John Devaney
2 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    West Coast vibe; Genuinely cares about its employees; Making headway in diversity.

    Cons

    Still a way to go with diversity.

    Perkins Coie2019-11-08
  2. "Law Firm Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Associate Attorney 

    I worked at Perkins Coie full-time

    Pros

    Excellent training, beautiful offices, great salary.

    Cons

    The hours can be long.

    Perkins Coie2019-10-12
  3. "BigLaw"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Attorney 

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time

    Pros

    Good reputation in Seattle, WA

    Cons

    Does not pay market in an expensive city

    Perkins Coie2019-08-02
  4. "Document Review Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Document Review Attorney in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Perkins Coie for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work, low stress, laid back.

    Cons

    Work is not engaging and you aren't really developing any useful skills. Low opportunity for advancement and work is very cyclical. No case, no work, no pay. Definitely not a job you want to stay in for too long.

    Perkins Coie2018-11-04
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Good for a "biglaw" job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Attorney in Seattle, WA

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, nice colleagues. The hour requirements aren't too bad for a major firm. The firm makes an effort to do little things to make work congenial (regular parties, thank you gifts, etc.). Flexible vacation and remote policy is helpful for those who need it.

    Cons

    As the firm grows (both in geography and headcount), it's become more profit-oriented and numbers driven. In the process, there's less interest in doing the little things that make employees feel supported. While the pay is fairly good, it isn't always commensurate with the cost of living (i.e., Seattle and Portland have lower pay scales, even though those housing markets/economies are booming).

    Advice to Management

    More clarity about long-term career paths and expectations.

    Perkins Coie2018-06-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Progressive for BigLaw but still a lot of work to be done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Attorney 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    No Jerks Intelligent Coworkers Competetive Salaries Generous Vacation Good Health Insurance Progressive Company Culture

    Cons

    Little Room for Development outside of a Niche Area Absolutely Zero Boundaries/Low Work-Life Balance

    Advice to Management

    Partners can be overly protective of associates and this creates stagnation for associates to branch out and take on new projects. People get stuck doing things they hate exclusively/can't grow from because partners won't let them work for other partners.

    Perkins Coie2018-05-22
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Document Review Attorney in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Perkins Coie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice facility with good bus service

    Cons

    Recruiters stressed how busy they were and how important attendance was, then didn't offer work for 3 weeks. Turned out it's sporadic for doc reviewers but have to commit to taking no other employment, so can end up being very unpleasant. Late notice, unfriendly, toxic

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication. Respect employees and their time.

    Perkins Coie2017-11-09
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Discovery Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Discovery Attorney in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Perkins Coie for more than a year

    Pros

    The legal teams treated the discovery attorneys with respect and trusted us with important issues. Also, it's easy to tell that the leadership for the discovery services team genuinely cares about the discovery attorneys.

    Cons

    The downside in contract work is that you inevitably have days and weeks where there is no wor.

    Perkins Coie2017-09-06
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Best law firm I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Attorney in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Perkins Coie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture, clients and coworkers at Perkins Coie. The recognition Perkins has received for a great place to work is well deserved. This holds true for both attorneys and staff members. I truly enjoyed my time at Perkins Coie and would highly recommend the firm to other attorneys and professionals.

    Cons

    It's difficult to identify any cons that are unique to Perkins. There are some large firm administrative hurdles to get things done, but this comes with the territory.

    Perkins Coie2017-07-24
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good lifestyle firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Associate Attorney 
    Recommends

    I worked at Perkins Coie

    Pros

    Great people. Reasonable hours for a law firm.

    Cons

    None really that wouldn't apply to any firm. Better than most.

    Perkins Coie2016-09-24
Found 19 reviews