Perkins Coie Reviews | Glassdoor

Perkins Coie Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Perkins Coie  Managing Partner John Devaney (no image)
John Devaney
38 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, high caliber work

    Cons

    Too deliberative decision making process

    Perkins Coie2018-03-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free coffee; the secretaries are friendly

    Cons

    Poor management; not much PTO

    Perkins Coie2018-03-20
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Legal Practice Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Practice Assistant in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful people, both staff and attorneys. Pays well and has great benefits including health insurance, paid parking, generous 401(k) contributions, an end of year bonus, a Wellness program, and access to an on-site gym. In general, they respect work-life balance and encourage employees to take time off.

    Cons

    Communication is not always great and the firm depends a lot on various programs and software, which crash a lot. A lot of time is wasted on administrative tasks, which often need to be done and re-done several times. Management is rolling out new initiatives and the culture is changing. Not sure yet whether it will shake out to be good or bad.

    Perkins Coie2018-02-19
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Perkins Coie full-time

    Pros

    Good Hours Great Coworkers Great Training Free Food Great Office

    Cons

    Sexual Harassment No Growth Salary Not Supportive Bad Communication

    Advice to Management

    Look for the constant sexual harassment from superiors

    Perkins Coie2018-02-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good Stuff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Secretary in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Perkins Coie full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    *The corporate attorneys were, for the most part, really easy to work with. I started my legal career in NY (at a different firm), and the Perkins Portland lawyers treated the support staff with far more respect than I previously witnessed -- super refreshing. *If you've only ever worked in small offices prior to Perkins, you will be amazed at the resources. Seriously, there's a department/team for everything. It's kinda awesome. *Good pay and benefits, including sabbaticals for support staff, plus tons of parties/perks. This place loves to celebrate.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you live out in the 'burbs, your commute is gonna be long and slow to Perkins/the Pearl District. That said, I believe Tri-Met has extended its MAX lines since we left the Portland area, so perhaps it's not as bad as it was in 2015(??). Garage parking was expensive, though it's in the same building, so very convenient if you can afford it.

    Perkins Coie2018-01-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time

    Pros

    Friendly, supportive, entrepreneurial workplace with good leadership.

    Cons

    A lot of people work from home

    Perkins Coie2018-01-09
  8. "GL Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Perkins Coie full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work, great atmosphere

    Cons

    Lots of overtime expected from the employees

    Perkins Coie2017-12-29
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Marketing Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Perkins Coie full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits, some really good departments, nice to have HQ in Seattle, loved the standing/sitting desks available.

    Cons

    Messages (from Management) to the Marketing department were not always in alignment with how the firm positions itself in terms of work/life balance. Disappointing to find out that the Marketing department had a long standing reputation as a "nightmare".

    Perkins Coie2017-12-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Legal Practice Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Legal Practice Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers Positive management Learning environment Down to earth attorneys - even on the partner level. Great benefits - seriously wonderful medical/dental. Central location Free stuff/Fun culture/Parties! Thank You Card program Wellness program Community Service Committee Pro Bono Committee Always advancement or learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Slow to react to HR issues.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff and attorneys. We are all aiming for success.

    Perkins Coie2017-10-24
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Document Review Attorney in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Perkins Coie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice facility with good bus service

    Cons

    Recruiters stressed how busy they were and how important attendance was, then didn't offer work for 3 weeks. Turned out it's sporadic for doc reviewers but have to commit to taking no other employment, so can end up being very unpleasant. Late notice, unfriendly, toxic

    Advice to Management

    Improve communication. Respect employees and their time.

    Perkins Coie2017-11-09
Found 178 reviews