Perkins Coie Reviews | Glassdoor

Perkins Coie Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
78%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Perkins Coie  Managing Partner John Devaney (no image)
John Devaney
38 Ratings
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Discovery Attorney"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Discovery Attorney in Seattle, WA

    I worked at Perkins Coie for more than a year

    Pros

    The legal teams treated the discovery attorneys with respect and trusted us with important issues. Also, it's easy to tell that the leadership for the discovery services team genuinely cares about the discovery attorneys.

    Cons

    The downside in contract work is that you inevitably have days and weeks where there is no wor.

    Perkins Coie2017-09-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Summer Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Associate in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Perkins Coie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work, great mentorship, great opportunity

    Cons

    Too much fun at times

    Perkins Coie2017-09-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Accounting Administrator in San Francisco, CA
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Supportive in everything we do...I handle billing and it is a challenging job but worth it.

    Cons

    I truly do not have any cons for this job or company

    Perkins Coie2017-09-05
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Best law firm I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Attorney in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Perkins Coie full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing culture, clients and coworkers at Perkins Coie. The recognition Perkins has received for a great place to work is well deserved. This holds true for both attorneys and staff members. I truly enjoyed my time at Perkins Coie and would highly recommend the firm to other attorneys and professionals.

    Cons

    It's difficult to identify any cons that are unique to Perkins. There are some large firm administrative hurdles to get things done, but this comes with the territory.

    Perkins Coie2017-07-24
  5. "paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Perkins Coie part-time

    Pros

    nice work environment. busy work days

    Cons

    busy days. Morale is low.

    Perkins Coie2017-08-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Comm Litigation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie for less than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative and entrepreneurial environment where creativity is encouraged. Upward mobility possible in almost every area and level. Not like a law firm "mill" like Cravath.

    Cons

    No European presence. Slow to embrace the 21st Century in terms of working from home for staff.

    Perkins Coie2017-06-28
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work, Like They Say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Commitment to diversity, flexibility, great people, super interesting work.

    Cons

    It's client service industry. Sometimes you are working on someone else's schedule.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Perkins Coie2017-06-22
  8. "Counsel at Perkins Coie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Counsel in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice people. (Generally) Humane partners.

    Cons

    Salary is not quite market.

    Perkins Coie2017-06-20
  9. Helpful (3)

    "opportunities differ widely depending on your team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Specialist in Seattle, WA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is about $4k in training money from HR every year. You will be reimbursed if you fill out the forms and pass the classes. Excellent medical and dental benefits. There is a surprisingly high percentage of nice people. The red wagon is a unique perk for the Headquarters floors. Every couple months two people bring a Radio Flyer wagon filled with alcohol and snacks around the floor. There are some incredible pro bono cases. I am proud to be a member of the firm that got Sara Kruzan out of prison.

    Show More

    Cons

    Job openings are rare, departures are rare, and additional positions are rarely added. Don't expect any battlefield promotions. All of the position changes I have seen during my time here were from people who had worked here for at least 5 years. The sole exception was by far the most competent people I have ever met. Most of your coworkers have been here for at least a decade and a few of them have given up on learning new things. Some teams and people get all the opportunities. If you are on the wrong team, then this is the best dead-end job you will ever have. You will learn skills here but many of them are not transferable outside of the legal industry.

    Show More
    Perkins Coie2017-06-23
  10. "Support Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Staff 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Perkins Coie full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Perkins Coie is a very socially conscious law firm. Pay and benefits are very good and there is room for growth.

    Cons

    The same as any other law firm, which are not deal-breakers; people who create unnecessary stress, billing quota requirements and pecking order.

    Advice to Management

    Teach lawyers that everyone who works for the company is there because of their own qualifications and everyone deserves respect and kindness, no matter their title.

    Perkins Coie2017-04-27
Found 178 reviews