Pet Paradise Resort Reviews | Glassdoor

Pet Paradise Resort Reviews

Updated Feb 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
59%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Pet Paradise Resort President & Chief Executive Officer Fernando Acosta-Rua (no image)
Fernando Acosta-Rua
44 Ratings
Pros
  • "The resort staff is great about communicating with vet services on medical issues(in 8 reviews)

  • "Great culture - everyone including top Management genuinely cares about the pets & each other(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Be aware of scared animals, they could bite(in 7 reviews)

  • "I’ve had jobs that required a specific license as well as having a few prior years of experience working at a pet resort(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Awesome place to work!!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pet Paradise Resort full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Everything is a Pro and everyday is different and challenging!!!

    Cons

    Stressful at times and sometimes miss spending time with my family during holiday times.

    Pet Paradise Resort2020-02-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I Would Recommend Pet Paradise!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Huntersville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pet Paradise Resort full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to hundreds of lovable animals, great family of animal lovers working together

    Cons

    It's not all puppy kisses and kitty purrs. There is poop, constant cleaning and a lot of responsibility. Yet, the pros definitely outweigh the cons.

    Pet Paradise Resort2020-01-26

    Pet Paradise Resort Response

    February 11, 2020Recruiting and Employee Relations

    Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review with others. It is a lot of responsibility, but it is also very rewarding. We appreciate the job you do!

    Continue reading
  3. "decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Resort Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pet Paradise Resort full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    pay, work hours, dogs, clients

    Cons

    Medical benefits are not affordable

    Continue reading
    Pet Paradise Resort2020-01-25

    Pet Paradise Resort Response

    February 14, 2020Recruiting and Employee Relations

    Thank you for the positive feedback! Working with dogs is absolutely amazing - we couldn't agree more! We also appreciate your feedback on the benefits. Please feel free to contact us to share more. Thanks, again!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Corporate demands a lot of employees but gives very little."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pet Paradise Resort full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with the dogs and cats (unless they’re are aggressive- we don’t get training on this but are expected to handle them anyway)

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations by corporate for staffing and budget (ie we need more staff then they allow and budget restrictions are tight, forcing staff to use their own money to purchase necessary supplies for the resort), work life balance is nonexistent, communication between corporate office and individual resorts is terrible, benefits and pay aren’t great, favoritism runs rampent, training

    Continue reading
    Pet Paradise Resort2020-01-26

    Pet Paradise Resort Response

    February 14, 2020Recruiting and Employee Relations

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We fully understand how important it is for our teams to have the proper support to perform their job. We would welcome the opportunity to learn more by speaking with you directly. We strive to provide not only pets, but also our employees with a safe, clean and fun environment.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great company but low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pet Paradise Resort full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people, excellent growth opportunities

    Cons

    Low pay no matter what your position

    Continue reading
    Pet Paradise Resort2020-01-26

    Pet Paradise Resort Response

    February 11, 2020Recruiting and Employee Relations

    Thank you for the feedback. We appreciate hearing from our team – both the positive and the areas where we need to improve.

    Continue reading
  6. "Living to work, instead of working to live"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pet Paradise Resort full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Dogs & Cats. The handful of the clients that appreciate us.

    Cons

    I want my life back.

    Continue reading
    Pet Paradise Resort2020-02-04

    Pet Paradise Resort Response

    February 11, 2020Recruiting and Employee Relations

    I’m sorry to learn you aren’t enjoying your time at Pet Paradise. Definitely speak with your regional leadership team or the HR department at 904-363-3330, as both can help. We value the contribution of our management in helping to provide a safe, clean and fun environment for our pet guests. We want to learn more about your experience and collaborate with you to find a positive outcome. Thank you for sharing.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "The dogs were great, but, the people were horrible!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Daycare Attendant in Wesley Chapel, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pet Paradise Resort full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love working with the dogs.

    Cons

    The problem here is the people. I’ve been working for a while and age, race, gender, orientation, etc., has never been something that bothered me. But, here, you’re dealing with a bunch of immature, petty, back-stabbing, gossips who we’re constantly breaking the rules and thought they knew everything. This goes for not only the employees, but, the managers as well. Speaking for myself only, I was constantly told one thing by one person, and then something else by another person. Now, not only do I have several years of job experience under my belt, but, I’ve also been very successful in those jobs having won several awards in both customer service and productivity. I’ve had jobs that required a specific license as well as having a few prior years of experience working at a pet resort. But, I get here and I was treated with so little respect and acknowledgement that you’d think I was a teenager and this was my first job. Like if I would notice something that maybe wasn’t being done efficiently, I would try to offer an alternative solution, but, everything I said or did was heavily scrutinized and then disregarded. But, the end for me was when my integrity was being questioned. I’m not sure who I offended, but, at some point people started judging my work ethic and saying that I wasn’t doing my job. And then from there people started saying that I was acting inappropriately. Meanwhile, I witnessed dogs being left in the play yard unattended, doors being left open and dogs running freely through the halls, the wrong dogs being brought to customers, dogs being grabbed roughly by their scruffs, dogs being called the “R” word and several other things, fellow employees talking about lesbian porn in front of trainees and several other things. So, the end result was that it was ok for certain people to do certain things, but, not others. Also, I think it’s fair to mention that within the 7 weeks or so that I was there, there were a dozen or so employees that quit either right before or during my employment. And, apparently, it was for a lot of the same reasons.

    Continue reading
    Pet Paradise Resort2019-12-30

    Pet Paradise Resort Response

    February 11, 2020Recruiting and Employee Relations

    I’m sorry to hear this was your experience and I appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We’d like to discuss more so we can understand better, as this is not in line with our values. Please contact us at (904)363-3330. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Culture and Love the Petd"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pet Paradise Resort full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and career opportunity. The well being of the pet guests is their number one priority/

    Cons

    It's hard work but it's worth it.

    Continue reading
    Pet Paradise Resort2019-11-05

    Pet Paradise Resort Response

    February 11, 2020Recruiting and Employee Relations

    Thank you for taking the time to provide such a positive review with others. We appreciate the job you do!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Corrupt leadership or clueless CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Playtime Attendant and Resort Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pet Paradise Resort full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free boarding/daycare, some benefits after a year.

    Cons

    Corrupt corporate leadership who sweep things under the rug. Hiring incompetent employees. Horrible training

    Continue reading
    Pet Paradise Resort2019-11-30

    Pet Paradise Resort Response

    February 14, 2020Recruiting and Employee Relations

    We are very sorry your experience was not a positive one. We value the feedback of all of our current and former employees. We would be happy to learn more about what specifically made you feel this way. We wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  10. "Lovely place if you love pups"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Winter Garden, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pet Paradise Resort part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Surrounded by dogs, fun people that love dogs, great atmosphere. Better than working with shoes/people at my previous job

    Cons

    Dogs are animals that can smell

    Pet Paradise Resort2019-10-21

    Pet Paradise Resort Response

    February 14, 2020Recruiting and Employee Relations

    Thank you for the feedback! Working with animals is absolutely amazing - we couldn't agree more! We strive to hire Pet People! Thanks, again!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 105 reviews