Pet Paradise Reviews | Glassdoor

Pet Paradise Reviews

Updated Sep 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
72%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pet Paradise Owner John Severts (no image)
John Severts
1 Rating
  1. "Love this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pet Paradise

    Pros

    Dogs dogs dogs, and kitty cats all day long

    Cons

    None, except communication problems between foh and boh

    Continue reading
    Pet Paradise2016-10-04
  2. "Stressful (sometimes), fun and rewarding job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Associate 

    I worked at Pet Paradise part-time

    Pros

    Great co-workers, hanging out with animals

    Cons

    Having to deal with entitled customers, management taking advantage of their position

    Pet Paradise2019-09-03
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Creates low self esteem ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant in Port St Lucie, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pet Paradise part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job perk was getting to interact with customers's adorable pets.

    Cons

    Treated with little regard. Last minute schedule changes such as when you walked in , owner could tell you- I just called And left you a message to tell you I do not need you today. I would be traveling 20 minutes already to get there and hear this.

    Continue reading
    Pet Paradise2015-09-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Kennel Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kennel Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pet Paradise part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with all kinds of dogs and fall for them quick, some of the coworker literally become family, there is possibility for advancement.

    Cons

    You work pretty much full time but don't get benefits, you work in the back and take care of the whole facility but get paid close to nothing compared to the office management who only sit around all day. You have to really love working with animals to stick with this job.

    Continue reading
    Pet Paradise2014-08-01
  6. "Consider other options depending on your experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kennel Associate in Gainesville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pet Paradise part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of my coworkers I really enjoy and they understand what is needed to be done. They are great with fitting in schedules for people in school or with other jobs. Nothing is really that hard to understand.

    Cons

    The environment can get VERY fast pace and sometimes it's like the managers do not understand that. The pay is horrible compared to other dog kennels I've worked at. They raised it to 8.18 but a past dog kennel I worked at paid 10 dollars an hour to their employees and their prices were cheaper to the public. Management really doesn't listen that often or know what's going on in the kennels - they usually just assume everything is wrong. I feel like the company does not respect us because the pay is very little and you only get a chance to get a raise once a year which is absurd!

    Continue reading
    Pet Paradise2014-04-02
  7. "very relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere, great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Master Groomer in Danville, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pet Paradise full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    very down to earth yet still professional co-workers who encourage you to learn each day, Always willing to take the time to explain unfamilar techniques or situations without making you feel like an idiot lol. Owner was amazing to work for and I still to this day consider him a good friend

    Cons

    not many downsides other than working with reptiles and at times not getting the hours I wanted but it was not for lack of trying on the owners part, went above and beyond in most cases. You are at risk of being exposed to mites and other pest but fortunately I never experienced any of that in my 3 years there.

    Continue reading
    Pet Paradise2012-11-07
  8. "A family run business that works with you to find that special pet or item for your pet."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Retail - Inventory in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Pet Paradise part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The store is close knit and definitely family centered. Everyone who works there care about their job and the animals they are in charged of. The animals are well taken care of and it shows in the animal's behavior. The customer and workers are encouraged to interact and handle the animals daily.

    Cons

    The pay is not known to be the best and in some cases the hours can fluctuate from time to time.

    Continue reading
    Pet Paradise2012-09-04

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews