KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Pet Supplies Plus

Is this your company?

Pet Supplies Plus

Add a Review

Pet Supplies Plus Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 806 of over 816 reviews

3.4
51%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Pet Supplies Plus Chief Executive Officer Christopher Rowland  (no image)
Christopher Rowland
201 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get to meet your neighborhood pets(in 99 reviews)

  • "The customers (neighbors) are nice and polite in almost all cases(in 35 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Cleaning up after customer's animals(in 71 reviews)

  • "Low pay, sometimes its slow so can get boring(in 41 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Pet Supplies Plus and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      cool job

      May 7, 2021 - Shift Supervisor in Watertown, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun to work with animals

      Cons

      none i like the job

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pet Supplies Plus Response

      Senior Vice President - Human Resources

      Thank you for sharing this feedback and for providing our neighbors and their pets with great service. We're glad to have you on our team.

    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Really good starting point

      Jun 18, 2021 - Team Member in Denton, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers and managers are super friendly and incredibly understanding about taking time off, making mistakes, etc. It's a great environment and easy work, especially if you love animals (particularly fish and reptiles, at our store at least) and the hours are alright sometimes, but it really depends on the person who makes schedules at each store.

      Cons

      Before I started, I told them I CANNOT work one particular day of the week, and they listened to that for about two weeks before I started getting scheduled on that day. If you work under 5 hours, they don't have to give you a break, so more likely than not, they're only gonna schedule you for 5 hours a day, and probably for 5-6 days in a row. It's not too bad, but on top of that, the shifts will be closing and opening back to back. The pay isn't great, but there Are opportunities for raises, but the raises are very small when you get them. The pay is good for someone just getting an entry-level job, and it IS above the absolute minimum wage, but that really doesn't mean much, especially when you have bills to pay and don't know what your hours are gonna be

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pet Supplies Plus Response

      Senior Vice President - Human Resources

      Thank you for sharing this feedback and for providing our neighbors and their pets with great service. We're glad to have you on our team.

    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Do NOT work here

      Jul 18, 2021 - Team Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The animals are fun to interact with and take care of

      Cons

      Literal back breaking work will little regard for employees health Pay is awful and any attempt to discuss pay is met with the response of "the owner doesnt care, you are replaceable" It is common knowledge that the owner of my store engages in shady buisness and has "donated" to the police to ensure they look the other way managers regularly play favorites leading to issues where the favorites are not reprimanded and are allowed to do whatever they want Management does not care if animals are properly taken care of as certain team members regularly take care of animals improperly and any attempts to complain are met with indifference Customers are always right even when they are wrong and can cause serious harm to their animals We are not allowed to refuse to sell animals to people who are obviously not going to take care of their animals properly, leading to many dead and abused animals being returned Several workers including myself have been sexually harassed by customers with management brushing it off when brought up Policies and such are not fully explained, leading to mistakes being made because we were not told how to do things Constantly understaffed leading to multiple issues and customers being angry

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Cashier at Pet Supplies Plus

      Jul 26, 2021 - Sales Associate/Cashier in Naperville, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work environment, friendly staff, working with animals is fun.

      Cons

      Pet supplies Plus would sometimes over schedule employees. If asking for part time hours, they would try to give more.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Company

      Jul 18, 2021 - Key Holder 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy environment to work in depending on the store. We were a franchise so probably different from a corporate store.

      Cons

      A bit of disconnect between area managers and store teams, more interested in looking for flaws and/or being cheerleaders than actual mentoring.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Easy

      Jul 25, 2021 - Team Member 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy going and fun. Great starting job for animal lovers

      Cons

      Pay isn't great and sometimes animals are neglected by management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Poor communication

      Jul 20, 2021 - Assistant Store Team Leader in Akron, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay was nice, they don’t like assistants to get overtime, and it’s fun working with and around animals.

      Cons

      Team members aren’t paid well so it’s hard to keep them, you can be moved without being asked and have no help, you don’t get training on everything you're required to do and use.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Could be a great place to work but they need to do better by their employees

      Jun 27, 2021 - Team Member in Howard Beach, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great coworkers, great environment, employees actually care about the animals and are very knowledgeable about the care and well being of the animals that are sold in the store as well as animals not sold in the store

      Cons

      My specific location hired a bunch of new people and cut everyones hours and days to bare minimum or close to it and the managers/supervisors/boss are the only ones that get to work full time so other employees of lower rank don’t get offered benefits. The lack of hours and days makes it difficult on people who need to pay bills and other expenses. Not worth the stress in my opinion.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Pet Supplies Plus Response

      Senior Vice President - Human Resources

      Thanks for leaving this review. We would like to speak with you to learn more. Can you please send an email to onlineservice@petsuppliesplus.com with your name and phone number so we can reach out to you?

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Worry About Job Expectations

      Jun 4, 2021 - Inventory Manager in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Learning about animals, even though that education came from cleaning up their waste.

      Cons

      I did not realize that the title inventory manager was code for doing everything in the store. It wouldn’t be unusual to have to order, accept and stock a delivery of inventory, while preparing a money order to get change, while fielding a phone call, while helping the cashier with a transaction error, while helping someone find a new food to help their dog’s allergies. I was also in charge of a million dollars worth of perishable inventory while making a dollar more than the floor workers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pet Supplies Plus Response

      Senior Vice President - Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback and for the time you spent with us. Can you please send an email to onlineservice@petsuppliesplus.com with your name, phone number and the store number of the location where you worked so we can connect you with the franchise owner?

    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company if you know what you’re getting into

      Jul 12, 2021 - Assistant Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere Decent management Okay benefits Flexible scheduling

      Cons

      Upper management can be iffy Pay isn’t the best

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Pet Supplies Plus Response

      Senior Vice President - Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback and for the time you spent with us. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 806 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Pet Supplies Plus Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Pet Supplies Plus? Share Your Experiences

    or