Pet Supplies Plus Reviews | Glassdoor

Pet Supplies Plus Reviews

Updated July 26, 2017
339 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Christopher Rowland
50 Ratings

339 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Calm atmosphere, working with animals (in 15 reviews)

  • I have been a cashier for 6 months now and I will hopefully soon be moving my way up to a Customer Service Associate (in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • I was an animal care SPECIALIST making minimum wage with far more responsibility than any of the other part timers yet made the same amount (in 30 reviews)

  • Low pay with limited opportunities for merit increases (in 20 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great Pet Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Pet Supplies Plus full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Wonderful, driven people that truly care about their customers

    Cons

    Could use more resources at times to accomplish everything they want to

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    Jul 28, 2017 – Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thank you for the feedback and for giving us so many years of hard work. We look forward to many more!


  2. "high pressure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pet Supplies Plus full-time

    Pros

    Great team atmosphere
    Pay is good
    Vacation time
    Easy to advance

    Cons

    Hours are very slim for scheduling so you have to wear many hats. You get no hours to train new employees, and corporate makes it mandatory to host quarterly meetings for your team and you have to use the allotted store hours to pay the team.

  3. "Typical retail management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Florence, KY
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Florence, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good training, good products, good culture/values

    Cons

    Don't want to spend the money for enough quality hourly associates, left alone to lift heavy bags of dog food and unload trucks while pregnant; animals for sale just considered inventory and not always given proper vet care when necessary

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    Jul 28, 2017 – Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    The care of both our animals and our team members are top priorites, so we’d like to speak with you to learn more about your experience. Could you please send an email to... More


  4. "On balance positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Current Employee - General Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pet Supplies Plus full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Happy as neighbors are shopping for their pets, members of the family

    Cons

    Constant pressures, as internet competition is taking market share in the category

    Advice to Management

    Listen more to the franchisee partners, as they have been the standard bearers for the brand.

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    Jul 28, 2017 – Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    We appreciate your hard work as a store manager and truly value your experience and input. If you would like to share more specifics about your feedback with the franchise owner, we encourage you to... More


  5. "Great Environment, great pay for managers. Flexible Scheduling and Time Off!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Sunrise, FL
    Current Employee - Shift Supervisor in Sunrise, FL
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pet Supplies Plus full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Managers get good pay and benefits, and flexible scheduling with school and time off if needed and requested is almost fulfilled every time

    Cons

    Team members get payed crap so they have no will to work, stop caring, managers listen but don't do anything about problems within the store.

    Advice to Management

    Listen more, and hire responsible people!

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    Jul 10, 2017 – Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Input from our team goes a long way to making us better as a company, so we appreciate you sharing this feedback with us.


  6. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus part-time

    Pros

    good people were working there

    Cons

    had to take care of snakes

    Advice to Management

    keep it going

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    Jul 10, 2017 – Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thank you for taking great care of our snakes for all of our neighbors that love them. We appreciate you leaving this review and wish you the best.


  7. "A long process for not much pay off."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Knoxville, TN
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Spending time with animals is great, and a good deal of employees are very kind. The management was excellent as well.

    Cons

    The general atmosphere just fell a little off from day one. Some of the animals have to be put down if they don't sell, and it felt as if they were seen more as objects then living things. Selling their brand was pushed more than helping people's pets.

    Advice to Management

    View the animals as living beings and not a means to get paid.

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    Jul 28, 2017 – Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    We’re extremely concerned by your feedback and want to have you speak with the franchise owner in order to learn more about your experience. Could you please send an email to... More

  8. "Shift manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pet Supplies Plus full-time

    Pros

    Promotion opportunities within the company

    Cons

    Pay and benefits were very poor.


  9. "Good Starting Company. Not so good otherwise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Bedford, NH
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Bedford, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Friendly Enviroment. Okay Managers. Good overview of Company goals and products.

    Cons

    LOW pay. Slow to train (Opening store). My store had a stench and had no 'real' breakroom for a while.

    Advice to Management

    Because of a store opening, we began with a boatload of employees, but slowly the number dwindled. However, that being said, I saw some decent employees just suddenly get cut/laid off due to business overload and store not doing as well as advertised in the beginning. According to later results, I was one of the last "Casulties" of this incident. It was upsetting. I did learn a lot with the store and I somewhat enjoyed it. But I needed more training. I needed managers to be more accomidating. I think that led to my demise here.

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    Jul 28, 2017 – Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thanks for sharing this with us. We’d like to learn more about your experience so we can make sure we’re doing everything we can to help our team members grow. Could you please send an email to... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Store Manager inept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker in Brunswick, GA
    Former Employee - Stocker in Brunswick, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus part-time

    Pros

    Assistant team leader went above and beyond what his job entailed. Enjoyed everything except my interactions with the Team Leader.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, the "Team Leader" spent most of her time talking and making the workplace a popularity contest. When I needed off for baseball I left with the intention of returning, the franchises' owner's son did the same. When I returned to see if I was added to the schedule, she told me next week. This wouldn't have been an issue but she did this to me three weeks in a row. The Assistant Team Leader and Key couldn't verify if I was still employed because she wouldn't even communicate with them, which seemed to happen often.

    Advice to Management

    The assistant should be the team leader and the current team leader should be gone. She could have told me I no longer had a job rather than leading me along for over 3 weeks! Shouldn't the team leader have the nerve to tell their employee that they're fired? I could have already had another job...

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    Jul 10, 2017 – Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thanks for reaching out. We'd like to connect you with the franchise owner to talk further. Could you please send an email to onlineservice@petsuppliesplus.com with your name and phone number?


Showing 339 of 339 reviews
Reset Filters