Pet Supplies Plus Reviews

Updated Jul 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
42%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Pet Supplies Plus Chief Executive Officer Christopher Rowland  (no image)
Christopher Rowland
151 Ratings
Pros
  • "You will become extremely knowledgeable about all pet products and get a discount for your own pets(in 90 reviews)

  • "Its nice to be able to help neighbors that come in(in 33 reviews)

Cons
  • "Animals left to die because vets are 'too expensive"(in 68 reviews)

  • "Low pay, sometimes its slow so can get boring(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very motivated and dependable"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Warehouse Team Member in Seymour, IN

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good communication skills, hard worker, and very dependable

    Cons

    I put too much pressure on myself to achieve perfection

    Continue reading

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    July 7, 2020Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thank you for leaving this review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate your feedback. Best of luck in your future endeavors!

  2. "Great Employees, Poor Ownership"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Westmont, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The employees were great to work with and know what they're doing. The groomers are incredible at their job.

    Cons

    The store owners don't care about their employees, especially the managers. They constantly berate management and make them feel worthless. We had at least 20 different managers in approx. 3 years, mainly due to ownership. There is absolutely no competitive pay and no respect from the owners. We had 2 managers work for 3 months without a day off before the owners even started to look for a new store manager and the one ended up leaving due to lack of gratitude and respect from the ownership. The owners constantly tell managers they're all replaceable and don't do anything.

    Continue reading

  3. "Pleased with the pet industry"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Stockton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being around animals & managing employees

    Cons

    Working all holidays & weekends

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    July 30, 2020Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and for the time you spent with us. We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best of luck in the future.

  4. "No consistencies"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus full-time

    Pros

    animals and hours of operations

    Cons

    inconsistent policy/procedures. no or little pay increases. upper management non-existing - corporate is unreachable

  5. "It was okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed the pets and the people - upper management wan't great

    Cons

    The management could be better- employees were apathetic

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    July 7, 2020Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thank you for leaving this review. If you would like to provide more feedback, please send an email to onlineservice@petsuppliesplus.com with your name, phone number and the store number of the location where you worked, and we will connect you with the franchise owner.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Athens, GA

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good managers Employee discount for store products

    Cons

    The pay was minimum wage and there were no benefits

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    July 7, 2020Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and for the time you spent with us. We appreciate your feedback and wish you the best of luck in the future.

  7. "Poor management, favoritism"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Findlay, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meeting new people and their pets.

    Cons

    Management is poor. They only care about the score card and getting the customers money. There is a lot of butt kissing and favoritism going on. They allow inappropriate things to go on in this place. Apparently, its ok for someone to steal from the store because a report was made and the person only got a warning. If management or higher up doesn't like you, they will do every little thing they can to try and force you out. The employees are treated poorly unless they are well liked by management.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be Great!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning about all the different types of pets, their needs, and all the food companies.

    Cons

    raises are few and far between now, no consistency in scheduling, favoritism

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    July 7, 2020Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thank you for leaving this review. If you would like to provide more feedback, please send an email to onlineservice@petsuppliesplus.com with your name, phone number and the store number of the location where you worked, and we will connect you with the franchise owner.

  9. "Awesome people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Richardson, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, cute animals, flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Low pay, sometimes its slow so can get boring.

    Continue reading

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    July 7, 2020Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing this feedback and for providing our neighbors and their pets with great service. We wish you the best of luck in the future.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Ehh it was okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Manager in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Worked directly with store owner and mangement team -small group -flexible hours

    Cons

    -awful pay -No one knew what they were doing -I felt like i was in an abusve relationship with a boyfriend I just couldn't dump.

    Continue reading

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    July 7, 2020Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We would like to connect you with the franchise owner to learn more. Can you please send an email to onlineservice@petsuppliesplus.com with your name, phone number and the store number of the location where you worked?

Found 586 reviews