Pet Supplies Plus Reviews | Glassdoor

Pet Supplies Plus Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 499 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Christopher Rowland
115 Ratings
Pros
  • "Interacting with people that love pets(in 78 reviews)

  • "Its nice to be able to help neighbors that come in(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "The animals will try to bite or scratch you sometimes, they are still(in 62 reviews)

  • "I work as stock and i feel minimum wage is not the correct pay for that job(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus full-time

    Pros

    You get to work wkth animals, managers and coworkers are always nice, its relatively easy work, and you get a lot of good experience.

    Cons

    They pay isnt all that great and customers can be pretty rude at times.

    Pet Supplies Plus2019-05-20
  2. "Fun Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Team Leader in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pet Supplies Plus full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great culture, growing company, petcentric

    Cons

    Growing pains. Good pains to have.

    Advice to Management

    Transparency is always appreciated

    Pet Supplies Plus2019-05-21
  3. "Cashier/Stocker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus part-time

    Pros

    Good hours, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Bad pay and bad management

    Pet Supplies Plus2019-05-22
  4. "Great place to start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Payable Associate in Livonia, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Company culture, team members, flexible

    Cons

    Sometimes it felt that management operated in more of a hierarchy versus flat organization.

    Advice to Management

    Empower employees a little more. Involve them in meetings when the circumstances are right. Don’t always rely on management to management communication. Sometime the person down in the trenches has a valuable perspective

    Pet Supplies Plus2019-04-18

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    May 6, 2019Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thanks so much for taking the time to leave this review. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and for the time you spent with us. Good luck to you in your future endeavors!

  5. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mooresville, IN
    Recommends

    I worked at Pet Supplies Plus full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Working with and around animals

    Cons

    When it’s slow, it gets really boring and your shift lasts forever

    Pet Supplies Plus2019-04-17

    Pet Supplies Plus Response

    May 6, 2019Senior Vice President - Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing this review. We're glad you enjoyed your time with us and we appreciate your feedback.

  6. "Only Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate in Bryan, TX

      I worked at Pet Supplies Plus part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Good environment, easy-to-maintain store, customers were easy to deal with.

      Cons

      Too much work for too little pay.

      Pet Supplies Plus2019-04-29

      Pet Supplies Plus Response

      May 6, 2019Senior Vice President - Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We would like to connect you with the franchise owner. Can you please send an email to onlineservice@petsuppliesplus.com with your name and phone number?

    • "Great Managment and Great Staff, Lots of cute puppies coming in daily."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Pet Stylist in Boardman, OH
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Pet Supplies Plus full-time

      Pros

      I just started however so far so good. I have worked in retail many years and what I like about PSP vs the other retail stores I work at is every Lead and staff are very nice! They make you feel very welcomed! They also have a awesome app that allows you to see your schedule and reminds you when you work so you don't get confused on what days you are working and what time you start. It also allows you to message the store...

      Show More

      Cons

      I just started so I don't see any cons as of yet.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing a amazing job! Everyone there has said they love working there because everyone is treated fair and equal. Jobs I have had in the past have showed favoritism forward a certain workers but that don't go on a the PSP I work at. My advise to management would be Keep up the great work.

      Pet Supplies Plus2019-04-12

      Pet Supplies Plus Response

      April 22, 2019Senior Vice President - Human Resources

      Thanks for taking the time to leave this review and for providing our neighbors and their pets with great service. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to have you on our team!

    • "Fun job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Store Team Member in Short Hills, NJ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Pet Supplies Plus part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You get to pet dogs! Really get to know customers

      Cons

      gross cleaning up dead fish

      Pet Supplies Plus2019-04-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Do not work here"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Store Associate in Gladstone, MO
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Pet Supplies Plus part-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Flexible hours Literally nothing else at all

      Cons

      Dont work here, especially at the Kansas City, MO locations. The company has proven that they do not care about employees, only money. The pay is terrible, minimum wage, no chance of raises, no benefits. Managers make $.90 more than minimum wage. The managers are allowed to treat employees like garbage and make them feel bad. They can talk bad about employees and choose favorites and pick sides during employee disputes...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Get new managers, pay more, offer benefits, put yourself in your employees shoes

      Pet Supplies Plus2019-05-16
    • "Good for a corporate chain"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Team Leader 

      I worked at Pet Supplies Plus full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Attempts to create a good working environment and heavily customer focused. Willing to comp travel for training, overall one of the better experiences I have had in both corporate pet retail and corporate retail in general.

      Cons

      Poor internal communication, you really have to luck out with a good District Manager, Top box review structure is brutal, willing to screw you on pay negotiations, you will likely be stuck as a store manager for a long time which limits your advancement opportunities (which is retail standard).

      Pet Supplies Plus2019-04-26

      Pet Supplies Plus Response

      May 6, 2019Senior Vice President - Human Resources

      Thanks for leaving this review. We are concerned with your feedback and would like to speak with you to learn more. Can you please send an email to onlineservice@petsuppliesplus.com with your name, phone number and the number of the store where you worked?

    Found 499 reviews