PetSmart Employee Reviews about "animal"

Updated Jan 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 186 of over 6K reviews

3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
710 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with animals is fun, schedule is flexible(in 456 reviews)

  • "Fantastic work for a college kid with a future in animal work(in 187 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor management that did not care for the animals' safety as much as the bottom line(in 469 reviews)

  • "Prone to dealing with misbehaving dogs(in 286 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of PetSmart and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "animal"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Cashier for a Year

      Jul 28, 2020 - Cashier in Everett, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing coworkers, everyone really cares about the customers and the pets alike and is willing to step up to care for any animal

      Cons

      Customers were demanding, often understaffed with lines throughout the store, some managers could be nitpicky and overachieving

      1 person found this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      We are so happy to hear your experience at PetSmart was positive! We think the people that work with us are a huge part of what makes life at PetSmart so awesome. Thank you for sharing!

    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good job, bad employer

      Sep 6, 2020 - Petcare Specialist in West Chester, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Petsmart is the best place to work in terms of doing something you’re passionate about with animals. It is a rewarding job when seen as an animal care specialist.

      Cons

      This employer cares only about the retail side of the company. They don’t care if an animal dies. They don’t care if the cages are overcrowded. They will tell you to fix it but will give you no time or help doing so. They will continue to nitpick on how you smile at customers when you really need to be taking care of a sick fish. There isn’t enough time or people-power to properly take care of animals here. Pet care is a fancy word for vet tech, animal expert, retail expert, customer service expert, and merchandise stocker. This is a poorly managed company because the people on top are hoarding the money that could be used to actually pay employees. Employees that are juggling 5 aspects of the job I mentioned above are being paid minimum wage and expected to break their backs. These are adults with bills since the minimum age for petcare is 18 years old. It is impossible to hire good employees if the company doesn’t want to pay them. The animals are the ones that ultimately suffer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      Thank you for sharing your experience. We'd like to discuss more so we can understand better, as this is not in line with our values. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. We are fully committed to our pets and people across the organization and greatly value everyone's contribution. Thank you, again, for bringing this to our attention.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Experience

      Nov 10, 2020 - Pet Care Associate in Manahawkin, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Once in awhile there are things that warm your heart like when an animal is received pregnant and you get the experience of raising baby animals. There is a lot to learn and it can be a great experience if you are open to learning.

      Cons

      There are some people who care more about sales and business than the health and safety of the pets so always make sure you advocate for the animals. The biggest con is that there is a huge disconnect between corporate and the store employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We're glad you enjoyed your life at PetSmart. Please know, you can always connect with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to chat through anything mentioned above. Thank you!

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good place for biology/animal science students

      Jan 8, 2021 - Petcare Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule, Hands on animal care experience, diverse workplace, excellent way to work on customer service experience. A decent place of learning for biology/animal science students

      Cons

      pay, understaffed at times (because of covid), retail duties may get in the way of petcare

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to share your life at PetSmart with us and for bettering the lives of pets! We appreciate your feedback. Please know, you can always connect with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to discuss further. Thanks again!

    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Pretty fun job!

      Jan 7, 2021 - Student in Harrisburg, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic work for a college kid with a future in animal work.

      Cons

      Doesn't pay a living wage for my area.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We're glad you enjoyed your life at PetSmart.

    6. 4.0
      Former Employee

      good for part time

      Jan 11, 2021 - Pet Care Associate in Latham, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      learn varied retail and animal care skills

      Cons

      management was not the best

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you've found life at PetSmart to be fulfilling. Thank you for all you did each day for your fellow associates, pets, and pet parents. Please know, you can always connect with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to chat through anything mentioned above. Thank you!

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Don’t Work Here.

      Dec 1, 2020 - Pet Care Associate in Raleigh, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Getting to work with animals, building relationships with coworkers, gaining experience in an animal science field, gaining experience working with customers

      Cons

      Low pay, no room for climbing within the company, poor management, very difficult with scheduling, little to no training, 30 minute lunch breaks, and only on 5+ hour shifts. 15 minute lunch every other day.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We're sorry that this was your experience and would like to help. Please feel free to connect with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 so we can learn more. Thank you!

    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great work environment

      Nov 19, 2020 - Associate Lead in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Usually leads to promotion and typically they promote from within. Very rewarding for animal lovers.

      Cons

      Heavy workloads and co-workers can be inconsistent. Your schedule can be inconsistent and you will be used where needed.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      We're happy to hear you enjoy your life at PetSmart! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Toxic Management and Culture

      Jan 9, 2021 - Senior Petshotel Associate in Farmingdale, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great way to get animal handling experience and learn to work under pressure.

      Cons

      Turnover was incredibly high, high level management never had any experience with animals and had poor communication. Turnover even at high level management was insane, leading those left to become overworked and underappreciated. The care of the animals in the PetsHotel suffered immensely from this.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      Hello, thanks for taking the time to review and share with us! Please know, we take your concerns seriously and would love to connect with you so that we can help. Please reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to talk more with us.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Petsmart

      Jan 11, 2021 - Pet Hotel Associate in Clovis, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly, great communication, rewarding for animal lovers

      Cons

      management is messy, not flexible with schedules

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We're glad you enjoyed your life at PetSmart. Please know, you can always connect with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to chat through anything mentioned above. Thank you!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 186 Reviews

    Popular Careers with PetSmart Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews