KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

PetSmart

Engaged Employer

PetSmart

Add a Review

PetSmart Employee Reviews about "dogs"

Updated Jan 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
688 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with animals is fun, schedule is flexible(in 456 reviews)

  • "Fantastic work for a college kid with a future in animal work(in 187 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Poor management that did not care for the animals' safety as much as the bottom line(in 469 reviews)

  • "Prone to dealing with misbehaving dogs(in 286 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of PetSmart and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "dogs"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Gotta Love Dogs AND People

      Jan 16, 2021 - Pet Training Instructor II in Simi Valley, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get hourly pay plus commission and room for growth.

      Cons

      You can't train the dogs yourself; you have to be able to communicate well enough to teach people how to train their own dogs.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Depends what store you're in

      Sep 24, 2020 - Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I've worked in a few different stores, so it greatly varies. My one store was really awesome and I had an amazing group of people I worked with! - Decent Pay - I was personally promoted quickly. - Getting to know regulars and their pets - Flexibility with requesting off - PTO / Benefits for full time - 50% off certain brands

      Cons

      At the store I left, I decided to leave because of messed up management. The store leader could not retain staff and was extremely passive aggressive. They were afraid to address issues with any staff, and would talk about them behind their back. They also lied about everything, even to the DM. Lower level management was aloof and never really did anything. He would just complain and be done with it. Our store leader went through several people in the management team in a couple years. - The company handled COVID like complete garbage. We lost a lot of staff because of it. - Ridiculous corporate expectations with limited staff. - Animal vendors; animals constantly coming in sick and dying. They need to switch to adoptions only. - Wasteful with cardboard displays, too many signs, taking down the same tags every month to hang up the same sale. - People letting their dogs pee and poop in the store without cleaning it up. - HR is a joke if you have an issue. They forward it to the DM who just tells your store leader anyway. - Hour fluctuations for part timers / low pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Masquerading as a “caring” company

      Jul 20, 2020 - Pet Stylist in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The animals is honestly the ONLY thing good about Petsmart. Some pet parents are amazing people, and you get to make some good relationships with pet parents and fellow coworkers. Pay can be good, but honestly you have to work yourself to the bone and then it’s not even really worth it.

      Cons

      Upper management. They don’t even try to hide how little they care about their employees. Anything at all that requires their assistance is responded with severe critique and negative reinforcement. Funny how we train dogs at Petsmart with positive reinforcement, yet can’t extend that to employees. I could honestly go on for ages about all the cons of working here, but to put it plainly: the company is run by soulless, apathetic, and abusive upper management. You would literally have to devote every waking moment to back breaking work to be able to get even the slightest approval from management. I’ve worked almost every position in the store, so I’ve seen first hand how the environment is nothing but apathy, stress, and degradation. Pretty bad that there aren’t many other places to groom that match Petsmart with pay, stability, and benefits. You just have to sell your soul for it.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Social Media Community Manager

      We're very sorry to hear this was your experience and appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We want to understand more if you wouldn't mind contacting the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. We truly appreciate all that you do for pets and the pet parents that come into our salons. Thank you, again.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great way to start a grooming career

      Dec 17, 2020 - Bather/Grooming Trainee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They are basically paying you to train and become a dog groomer. Once you become a groomer the pay doubles. My coworkers are awesome.

      Cons

      The pay sucks while you are in training although I do get insurance and 401k match. Picking up heavy dogs is hard on your back, make sure you know how to lift properly.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      Thanks for taking the time to review and share with us. We're happy to hear you love your life at PetSmart and appreciate all that you do for pets and pet parents that come into the salon!

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Misleading interview and job description

      Dec 23, 2020 - Petsmart PetsHotel Associate in Delray Beach, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Caring for Some sweet animals

      Cons

      If you’re new- prepare to do the grunt work nobody wants to do. You’ll spend 7+ hours in one room on your feet in doggie day camp and when you ask to do something else management makes excuses and if that doesn’t work they’ll tell you you’re “paying your dues” All day mopping pee and poop, yapping dogs, you aren’t allowed to let the dogs play like they would at a dog park. They don’t want them even wrestling or making noises- they encourage you to squirt them with water. The dogs are miserable. The pay is awful. Think of yourself as the janitor for the dogs and that’s all.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A good company

      Dec 2, 2020 - Professional Dog Bather 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They’re very picky about who they have work for them. They want good people with great people skills. They’re very understanding about scheduling. They actually care about keeping everyone safe and treating pets well.

      Cons

      Being a dog bather is not easy. It is NOT a job for people who cannot handle feces, vomit, aggressive dogs, and awful customers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      Hi! Thanks for taking the time to review. We'd enjoy getting to speak to you further about a few of the things you mentioned above, as this is not in line with our values. Please feel free to reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693.

    7. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      So fun

      Dec 6, 2020 - Doggy Day Care Attendant in Beaver, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Dogs, more dogs, dogs are really cute. Being able to create bonds with the dogs that regularly come in was fun, and their pet-parents are nice too!

      Cons

      Picking up fecal matter wasn't always fun, but the dogs made it worth it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      Hey there, thanks for the review! We appreciate you taking the time to share with us. Please feel free to reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 if you want to speak with us further. Thanks again!

    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not for me

      Jan 17, 2021 - Dog Groomer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Convenient location near by me to work

      Cons

      Dogs are not very nice to me

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Rough

      Jan 5, 2021 - Pet Grooming Apprentice 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pets. At any other grooming salon I love my job. It was the people I worked with I couldn’t stand.

      Cons

      Company only cares about how many animals come through the door. Don’t care about quality. In a 5 hour shift I would be scheduled around 6-8 dogs. So obviously I didn’t do my best work. Also they post everyone’s numbers in the back as if it’s a competition to have the most volume of add ins and how quickly you can get pets done. Also management was too emotional. It was like being in a middle school lunch room with how much drama and trash talk went on.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good job for college students

      Jan 2, 2021 - Dog Bather in Chino, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours and overall good vibes

      Cons

      Prone to dealing with misbehaving dogs

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      PetSmart Response

      Associate Employment Brand Manager

      Hey there! Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at PetSmart with us. We love that you enjoyed your management, coworkers, and work environment! Thank you for all that you do for the love of pets!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 286 Reviews

    Popular Careers with PetSmart Job Seekers

    Store Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Merchandising and Inventory Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at PetSmart? Share Your Experiences

    or