PetSmart "working with animals" Reviews | Glassdoor

PetSmart Employee Reviews about "working with animals"

Updated Nov 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
291 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I do wish we didn't sell enclosures that weren't good for the animals (i(in 401 reviews)

  • "You do have to clean up after dogs if owner’s refuse to pick it up or just leaves it(in 242 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working with animals"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Petshotel Associate 

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working with animals was great

    Cons

    People not working together was not so great

    PetSmart2019-08-14

    PetSmart Response

    August 15, 2019Employer Branding

    That's great to her you enjoyed your life at PetSmart for a number of years! Thank you for all you did for pets and pet parents! We agree - working with animals every day is pretty special. Thank you, again, for sharing!

    Continue reading
  2. "lots of independence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Care Associate in Bethesda, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good coworkers, working with animals

    Cons

    cleaning fish tanks and habitats

    PetSmart2019-11-22

    PetSmart Response

    November 25, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review! We couldn't agree more - it's our colleagues, pets and pet parents who make PetSmart such a special place. We appreciate you sharing your experience!

    Continue reading
  3. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Rowlett, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you like working with animals this is an awesome place

    Cons

    Cleaning up pet waste and touching crickets, if you are scarred of critters this is not a job for you

    PetSmart2019-11-04

    PetSmart Response

    November 7, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review! We think working with animals every day makes PetSmart pretty great, as well. Please know, you can always share feedback via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as well. Thank you, again!

    Continue reading
  4. "Okay to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Fun work with animals and animal lovers

    Cons

    Not enough pay, but it was part time

    PetSmart2019-11-07

    PetSmart Response

    November 8, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience at PetSmart! We think working with animals every day makes it a pretty great place, as well. Please know, you can always share feedback via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as well. Thank you again!

    Continue reading
  5. "Company that most certainly does not "love you back.""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Care Specialist in Henrico, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. Working with animals 2. Getting to know pet parents 3. Mostly friendly co-workers 4. Being able to make a difference in an animal's life 5. Fast-paced environment 6. Early morning shifts

    Cons

    1. Horrible management 2. Favoritism 3. Unpredictable hours 4. Stressful environment 4. No equal pay 5. Newer people getting more hours and a higher pay grade 6. Management generally making it difficult to enjoy your job 7. Management does not care about you unless you're one of their favorites

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2019-11-02

    PetSmart Response

    November 4, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    I'm sorry to hear you aren't enjoying your time at PetSmart. Definitely feel free to reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, so we can help. We value the contributions of all our associates in helping making pets' lives happy and healthy and would like to learn more about your experience. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and taking the time.

    Continue reading
  6. "Okay for part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There's a diversity of people that work with you. Management is laid back but expects you to do your best. Very friendly staff and working with animals is awesome. Flexible schedule. Good if you are taking classes.

    Cons

    Absolutely no one wants to work as a cashier. You are on the register for 4+ hours or your entire shift with no intention to switch. It's mentally draining and it's one of the main reasons i'm quitting. I would arrive to work and the person on the register gets off because they expect me to take over for them every single time. It turns out that they've been there all day! It's an endless cycle. We are always short on cashiers/back up so people from pet care have to take over even when they are busy. We will have 3-4 petcare associates, ONE cashier, and a manager/associate lead. I've been working here for 2.5 years and only got one raise and never got my second year review even after asking for it. It's like the managers don't have time for you and your success. We recently got a lot of new hires (like 4-5). They all went to petcare. Remember me saying that we were short on cashiers? Yeah...okay.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2019-10-23

    PetSmart Response

    October 24, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    I'm sorry to hear you aren't enjoying your time at PetSmart. Definitely speak with your management team or the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as both can help. We value the contributions of all our associates in helping to make pets' lives happy and healthy and would like to learn more about your experience. Thank you for taking the time.

    Continue reading
  7. "Too much stress for little pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bather/Groomer Trainee in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working with animals & learning about safety.

    Cons

    Pay.. getting bitten by stressed out dogs, bathers are left to do everything!! Answer phones, book/cancel appointments, check in/out your dogs plus groomers dogs, clean etc...While groomers just groom.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2019-11-11

    PetSmart Response

    November 11, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We'd like to understand your experience more, as the safety of our associates and the pets in our care is our #1 priority. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Changing in a bad way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Care Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Get to work with animals, share my passion with customers

    Cons

    Expected to do everyone else's job and somehow still get our actual job done.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2019-10-16

    PetSmart Response

    October 16, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 so that we can understand further. Thanks for all that you do for the love of pets, and again for taking the time to review.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good job, but corporate is horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandise and Inventory Leader in Clovis, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedules Fantastic customers Working with animals is always a plus

    Cons

    Corporate slashes hours like crazy Company has crappy communication

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2019-10-15

    PetSmart Response

    October 17, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the feedback. We always appreciate hearing from our associates - the positives and the areas of improvement. We'd love to understand more about your experience. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you again!

    Continue reading
  10. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Engagement Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great support and management team and getting to work with animals

    Cons

    Beung understaffed and having to take on Alot of tasking

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2019-09-23

    PetSmart Response

    September 23, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review! We always appreciate hearing feedback from our associates and appreciate you taking the time. Please know, you can also share your thoughts via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thanks, again!

    Continue reading
Found 387 reviews