PetVet Care Centers Reviews | Glassdoor

PetVet Care Centers Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
39%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
PetVet Care Centers CEO Gino Volpacchio
Gino Volpacchio
33 Ratings
Pros
  • "Providing work life balance for all employees especially DVM's(in 4 reviews)

  • "I have been blessed with the opportunity to work for Petvet and know that I will continue to do so for a long time coming(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "However, after PetVet took over this place did a complete 360(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "No bad experience here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Credentialed Veterinary Technician in Cave Creek, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetVet Care Centers full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    My prior clinic owner retired and sold his practice to PetVet. I have seen no major negative impacts from the change in ownership; in fact the only changes I have seen have been positive ones. Being a long-time employee, I immediately got 4 weeks of PTO which was nearly double what I had before, and CE PTO outside of that. Health insurance ( a little pricey, but better than nothing). 401k (the match isn't great... but heck, it is SOMETHING). Our regional manager has been nothing but helpful and responsive (thank you Emily). We have not been a PetVet hospital for a full year yet so I cannot speak to the review process at this time, but I remain hopeful that it will be fair and timely: My last formal review was more than 3 years ago!

    Show More

    Cons

    None at this time.

    PetVet Care Centers2019-02-23
  2. "Exceptional Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DVM Recruiter in Huntington Beach, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetVet Care Centers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Support and partnership is amazing. Providing work life balance for all employees especially DVM's. If you are at DVM GP or Specialty, this is the company to consider! Excellent pay, benefits, 401K, and so much more.

    Cons

    Have not found anything, which is a good thing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great job!

    PetVet Care Centers2019-09-09
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Company Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Veterinary Technician in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PetVet Care Centers full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great employees, benefits for own pets, benefits for full time employees, flexible with hours/time off, PTO

    Cons

    Understaffed, underpaid, under appreciated, they don’t care about employees that have received further education or loyalty to the practice, expect to work overtime

    Advice to Management

    Hire more staff, pay attention to the staff worth, stop treating people as disposable

    PetVet Care Centers2019-09-27
  5. "Overworked; Underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Veterinary Technician in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetVet Care Centers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers make you feel welcome and appreciated and are understanding to one another.

    Cons

    Underpaid, understaffed, overworked, and underappreciated by upper management. Expect to get overtime and have meal penalties because of how flooded of work we get when there's not enough staff to compensate.

    Advice to Management

    Please treat your employees better and make them feel more appreciated. Don't promise your long-time working employees raises when you aren't planing on giving them.

    PetVet Care Centers2019-09-09
  6. "Senior management is disrespectful of demonstrated industry experience and knowledge."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetVet Care Centers full-time

    Pros

    At the hospital level, great individual team members that are in it for all the right reasons.

    Cons

    Senior leadership lacks knowledge, experience and expertise. It’s all about the $ and notably, very male in upper management positions - despite evidence that our industry thrives under capable, female leadership. They seem incapable of vision and big picture. Questioning leads to write ups- management by scolding. Promotion is based on towing the line instead of disrupting, questioning and creativity.

    Advice to Management

    The people that have demonstrated knowledge and drive deserve to be listened to. Please don’t lecture a senior leader about what leadership is. It is rude, demeaning and demonstrated your failure to know who you are speaking with. Take a moment to know your employees. Veterinary hospitals are only as capable as the people within.

    PetVet Care Centers2019-09-13
  7. "Great support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetVet Care Centers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been in the veterinary field for over five years now and never have I worked somewhere that has so much support from upper management. I have been blessed with the opportunity to work for Petvet and know that I will continue to do so for a long time coming.

    Cons

    I truly do not see a downside to working for Petvet.

    PetVet Care Centers2019-08-07
  8. "Please dont do this to yourself."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Play Coach in Burlington, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at PetVet Care Centers part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with amazing clients, an hour long lunch, job experience.

    Cons

    No training, underfunded and understaffed, horrible environment, no thought or care for animals, and a constantly changing set of rules that you are once again, never trained on

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Try having compassion and caring about pets.

    PetVet Care Centers2019-08-23
  9. "Guarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Veterinarian 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetVet Care Centers full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fair compensation to the doctors

    Cons

    Slow to get anything done, order new equipment, and unable to keep products and medications on the shelf due to budgeting issues.

    PetVet Care Centers2019-06-02
  10. "Great Place to Work with Lots of Growth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Accountant II in Westport, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetVet Care Centers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company with lots of potential for growth. Ability to take responsibilities for various tasks. Pleasant and helpful co-workers and management.

    Cons

    Employee portion of benefits are a bit higher then expected.

    Advice to Management

    Need to work on the employee benefits to provide greater support.

    PetVet Care Centers2019-04-27
  11. Helpful (3)

    "So disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Practice Manager in Santa Cruz, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PetVet Care Centers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefit package is decent and comparable to other national veterinary consolidators.

    Cons

    They don’t value employees, they only care about the bottom line. They look at daily revenue compared to daily support staff costs and do not take into consideration open invoices. Might work for a general practice, but not specialty and ER when you have patients in hospital for days to sometimes weeks. Very short sighted, resulting in understaffed hospitals, overworked technicians/support staff.

    Advice to Management

    Have integrity and be genuine in your decision making. Don’t go in shake staff hands tell them everything will be fine then walk out and say that you are closing that location.

    PetVet Care Centers2019-05-28
Found 52 reviews