KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Petco

Is this your company?

Petco

Add a Review

Petco Reviews

Updated Aug 1, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3,945 of over 4,074 reviews

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Petco CEO Ron Coughlin
Ron Coughlin
831 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits promotions working with animals(in 392 reviews)

  • "Bring pets to work is the only positive(in 97 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Nothing bad , if you love animals(in 394 reviews)

  • "Low pay/ upper management unstable(in 188 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Petco and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Leadership

      Jul 29, 2021 - Supply Chain Manager in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Leadership is great Vision of healthy pets Corporate values Flexibility to work different hours and locations ESPP

      Cons

      Recently went public Average age of employee Not technology driven

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not great pay or management

      Jul 29, 2021 - Senior Dog Trainer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The job itself was very fun and engaging, you met a lot of people and helped them with lots of different advice and training methods, there was a variety of animals to interact with that the store sold or customers brought in with them.

      Cons

      The commission is so low for how much work you put into the training classes and the management was supportive of the training program but overall it was a lot of pressure to meet sales goals by yourself as well as little pay off. The training program only teaches you how to train healthy happy puppies with happy nice owners, that’s not the common pet parent. Usually you get rescue dogs or dogs with behavioral issues with obstinate owners or confused owners and limited training to work on those issues. You either deny them training/help and not make sales goals or you take them on and learn as you go and through trial/error and possible refunding of the class to the owner when you can’t make progress you weren’t trained to give. I wasn’t prepared for 80% of the training I was doing and I was pressured by sales goals to take on cases that required a lot of after work study and lesson planning on my behalf to be able to offer them what they needed.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Management has good intentions,

      Jul 26, 2021 - Marketing Data Analyst in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Petco can be a fun company to work for, the people in non-management roles are always great, very nice to work with. Compensation is average, lately the CEO / human resources have tried to focus on putting the employee first, but they are many years behind to get to a point where people actually enjoy working there and want to stay. Shifting priorities make analyst / lower manager level take the brunt of the stress.

      Cons

      I was asked by the VP of my department (analytics) to: 1. Be responsible for work that others outside my department do not complete, to the point where it was my fault if it wasn't done. They expected me to work 60-80 hours per week on a regular basis. 2. Give up my weekends to finish this work, on top of weekly hours. (feeding into the constant snowball of lack of accountability, no work/life balance) This was the reason I left the company, there was no boundary/level of respect for the fact that I would like to have a work/life balance. This company refuses to staff up to a level where the work is shared evenly/realistically. Everything is always a fast sprint, and it never ends. It was clear to me that my VP did not care about me and my well-being, so I left. I would highly discourage anyone from ever working here for too long, it takes a toll on your personal/family life working so much.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Company, not an "easy" job

      Jun 21, 2021 - General Manager in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Strong company that has wellbeing of partners (employees) as part of its mission. Support through COVID was a great. Pay is improving. Benefits are great for full-time partners. Executive management seems to legitimately care about well being of partners. While not the easy, play-with-animals-all-day job that people expect, it is fulfilling work when you can genuinely connect with a guest and help them make a positive change for their pet.

      Cons

      Sometimes there is a disconnect between executive initiatives and middle management execution. While executives seem genuinely concerned about removing roadblocks to success, middle management sees roadblocks as excuses. Executives speak of creating a better work/life balance, middle managers expect subordinates to be able to report on performance of initiatives on a constant basis via personal device without regard to scheduled off time.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Minimum Wage Retail, But With Animals

      Jul 3, 2021 - Guest Experience Specialist in Mount Kisco, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The interactions with the animals, both the ones on the store floor and the ones brought in by customers, are usually the highlight of the day. Helping families provide the best possible care for their pets can be very rewarding. You will build a surprisingly broad knowledge base regarding the animals and products.

      Cons

      Getting a raise is extremely difficult, and when you do get one it's usually very small. The first raise I received was, within months, utterly dwarfed by state increasing the minimum wage by a dollar. Apparently a significant portion of the population pay absolutely no attention to the products they buy for their pets, and expect you to know based on vague or inaccurate descriptions. Schedule is extremely inconsistent and shifts will be moved around or changed without any notice. Seeing a schedule made more than a week in advance is rare. The amount of hours you are scheduled to work is based on how many are given to the store, which itself is based on sales. New hires cause drops in everyone else's hours. How hard one works is pretty irrelevant. Even being the direct cause of the store earning top marks in some metric was never rewarded with anything more than a verbal "Good Job". Customers will routinely ignore necessary information on pet care and either complain about you for correcting them, or blame you when something inevitably goes wrong. You will be reprimanded for customer complaints regardless of whether or not that complaint has merit. No matter your race, you will experience some degree of racism from customers. Be prepared to take on duties outside of your position but not be compensated. Unfortunately this is usually because it's gone ignored and if you don't do it, nobody will and the animals will suffer.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Worst Management Ever

      Jul 10, 2021 - Corporate Operations in San Antonio, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ability to take dog to work, discounts on pet supplies

      Cons

      Low and terribly uncompetitive pay (and even lower raises), lack of internal advancement paths, the worst medical benefits I ever had, highly unethical upper management and HR departments, witnessed many examples of harassment especially against people of color, witnessed many employees pushed out of organization, almost impossible to ever take time off, almost impossible to maintain work-life balance, upper management constantly arguing and changing, mid-management and employees undertrained through out organization, high turnover through out organization (3 CEOs in my time??), departments very disorganized and wasteful, CEO and CHRO inarguably do not care about the people or the organization, witnessed the CHRO yelling at people during town hall meeting because she was called out on lying to the entire organization about benefit and pay increases over a year back, very outdated technology and processes through out the organization causing waste of millions of dollars that could be better spent improving processes and retaining talent by paying a decent salary, outsourcing and downsizing of departments when it makes no sense and hurts the organization--while simultaneously retaining overpaid and underqualified management and upper management despite ongoing volatile issues, would be surprised if the company lasts another decade.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Overworked

      Jul 29, 2021 - Sales Associate in Port Chester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice to help people with their pets and gain a bit of expertise about the animals while working retail--great for a pet lover who already has a bit of experience caring for animals of any kind.

      Cons

      Management was terrible, even as a new hire I was left completely alone on the floor and expected to help people throughout the large store and work the cash register at the same time, and I was chastised for not looking busy even when there was nothing I needed to do. I understand that a closing shift often involves staying a bit later than the end of your shift, but we were expected to meticulously "front face" for over an hour, and were chastised by management for leaving a single thing out of place or not as straight as it should be. Sorry, but as both a worker and a customer I don't understand the point of that.

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee

      AWFUL ....TOXIC ..... DEBILITATING — STAY AWAY!!!

      Jul 30, 2021 - Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Health insurance? But this place makes you ill

      Cons

      Honestly, I’ve never worked in environment that’s less healthy. The senior leadership here are not good people. It’s every man for himself, partners of no consequence. Everything is super shallow. All anyone focuses on is the superficial messaging. Behind the curtains, it’s a royal mess and no one cares. The CEO has gotten rich from the IPO and it’s all about that for him and for his insular senior team rubbing their greedy hands together at the expense of everyone else. In reality he could care less about Petco and doing what’s right. Someone should write this place up as a case history of what not to do. I am sure the stock will tank because with the culture like this it’s inevitable. It’s a serious nightmare. I’m doing my good deed today by letting people know : You do not want to come here!

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      It's okay. It can be better.

      Jul 23, 2021 - Junior Pet Stylist in Coppell, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      One of the few companies that show inclusivity in the store year-round; Recently branded as a Health and Wellness for pets and is taking steps to own up to that; Company overall is very open to feedback; Pandemic things: Offered 5 days extra PTO if you showed signs of COVID, allowed leave if you have health issues or lived with someone with health issued that COVID would be dangerous for, furloughed people instead of firing them, gave $75 incentive to get the vaccine and donated $25 to their animal charity

      Cons

      Pay needs to be higher with how high-risk the job can be; Not great health insurance; Stayed open during the pandemic and was slow to incorporate mask-wearing and sanitation practices; salon booking and stylist's ability to use PTO needs improvement; No sick days unless you live in a state that legally requires it.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great company, if your store manager doesn't suck

      Jul 19, 2021 - Guest Experience Leader (GEL) in Saint Peters, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I started at my first Petco as soon as I turned 18, and even though it's just a pet store, there is a ton of room for growth. and very easy to get on the management track, and fast. I started as a Guest Experience Specialist, which is basically a glorified cashier. In a few months I became a Guest Advisor, and in no time I was trained to become a Dog Trainer, then within 6 months I became head trainer. Next I moved stores as a Guest Advisor (a store with a higher turnover due to promotion) allowing me to have opportunities to climb the ladder without waiting for someone to leave, which management never does because they love it. Inside of 6 months I became the Merchandise Operation Manager, and within a few months the Companion Animal Leader and then on to Guest Experience Leader. I was on track to be ready to take on my own store in under a year, at only 21 years old. The biggest problem, TRAINING. My first store's manager was a sweet, but a bit too much sassy attitude, she would ride you hard, but she did it so you would learn. After changing stores, my new manager, however, didn't train me on the important details of my positions, leaving me to scramble to complete them when I realize it needed to be done, leaving my whole management career hanging in the balance when corporate came to town. Early on in my time our corporate lead was a very loved, capable, personable, and respectable man. When he left, it broke everyone's heart. His replacement definitely came in and rubbed everyone the wrong way, but if you showed him inside your walls, he would do the same. He was royally upset because I hadn't been doing several tasks, but I asked him to show me how, and explained how I kept getting sent up the ladder, but never received any specialized training for each role, and he dedicated several hours to helping me learn, he even continued to teach me each time he came to town. Moral of the story, they love their employees, they love their pets, they removed all dog foods that are subpar, they may get a bad rap for conditions of the animals they sell, but that is SOLELY DEPENDENT on the location. Corporate is VERY strict, and if your management cares, so will do they. It could have been perfect. 21 and store lead, $80+... But there are only so many stores, and the only one that would be needing a manager would be a two hour one way drive in another state, and without major relocation assistance, that wouldn't have worked,

      Cons

      When you climb the ladder fast, some subordinates won't respect your authority, and don't expect them to be forced to either. Pay for lower end employees is merely acceptable, but great pay for higher ups and management. Groomers and trainers receive commission.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful