Petco "animals" Reviews | Glassdoor

Petco Employee Reviews about "animals"

Updated Dec 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
49%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Petco CEO Ron Coughlin
Ron Coughlin
438 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with animals always a pro(in 346 reviews)

  • "i made money and got to pet dogs at the same time(in 193 reviews)

Cons
  • "Watching people bring back dead animals because they didn't listen to your advice(in 347 reviews)

  • "Never having upper management say anything positive(in 168 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "animals"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "My job as a Groomer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dog Groomer in Kingwood, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Petco full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I loved working with animals. I learned a lot about animals and their temperaments. It was a fun job. The staff was great.

    Cons

    some animals are really scared and react aggressively

    Advice to Management

    Keep making your employees happy!

    Petco2019-09-24
  2. "Good work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Petco part-time

    Pros

    Pays a little more than other retailers. Good management

    Cons

    Must know a lot about all animals. Learning is required but company has mandatory training

    Petco2019-12-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Ethicsl Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Stylist in Eagle, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good amount of PTO, good discounts

    Cons

    Poor management, pay structure, supply chain, work environment, treatment of animals

    Advice to Management

    More supervision, fix cameras, quit raising prices, require better skills and more accountability, train your managers, localize HR

    Petco2019-11-30
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Double Edged Sword"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Advisor in Brooklyn, NY

    I worked at Petco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with animals, learning experiences, coworkers usually had best interests at heart.

    Cons

    You will inevitably have to deal with animals dying, especially because of improper care provided based on company standards. Managers were usually really petty and everyone threw each other under the bus.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about the animals sold in the stores, not just the dogs & cats. Provide better & more accurate training to new employees. Staff more people during busy shifts.

    Petco2019-10-31
  5. "They used to be an animal company-but not anymore."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Companion Animal Department Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Petco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All the pets and animals

    Cons

    Animals aren't a specific priority when it compares to merchandising. Pay isn't competitive compared what you're expected to do.

    Advice to Management

    Communication.

    Petco2019-10-23
  6. "Fine not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Providence, RI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Petco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Its fun to work with the animals

    Cons

    you dont get as much time with the animals as you would expect. The cash registers are VERY out of date.

    Petco2019-09-27
  7. Helpful (15)

    ""Thank you for your honest review. We’re all in this together!""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Leader in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Petco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Relaxed dress code, ability to own your store's schedule. With this much work, who needs a gym membership?

    Cons

    In recent months, top executives in the company found it necessary to cut about 30 hours of payroll out of each store. They have acknowledged this on national conference calls and said there isn't anything that can be done about it...glad to see they are all smiles in trips all over the country. Could those dollars spent flying top leaders all over the nation be spent in the stores? 30 hours might not seem like a... lot, but when there is only one "salaried" person in each building, and a paper thin crew as it is, it's completely devastating to our ability to help our customers. I have lost track of how many trackers and goals we have. Grow every inch of your business while you are register coverage / getting fish / selling animals / having 30 minute conversations with customers trying to convert them to $100 dollar bags of food. It is clear to everyone in the company that the top level executives truly don't know what it's like. "A labor of Love" our CEO Ron has stated. They see the stores when they are prepared for visits. They see the horse and pony show, but no one is brave enough to talk to the struggles.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Cut the canned replies of "We're all in this together" Stop showing us pictures of your expensive trips to China and all over the nation...we are desperate for help in the field. Well, back to trying to grow our average transaction, since that's the flavor of the week. Wonder what next week will be? Remember...dental is never going away!

    Petco2019-09-11
  8. "Okay place to work part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Petco part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy work fun atmosphere Animal time Pretty good about breaks

    Cons

    staff incompetent at times dirty--had to clean up after animals

    Petco2019-09-17
  9. "Terrible treatment of animals."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Experience Specialist in Citrus Heights, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Petco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Got to interact with lots of animals, some coworkers were nice.

    Cons

    Management was terrible, treatment of the animals was appalling. The back room was constantly filled with sick and dying animals. There wasn't much that the few caring employees could do when management didn't care.

    Advice to Management

    Hire better managers, raise standard of animal care.

    Petco2019-09-13
  10. "I love petco"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Petco part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    they treat you well and work with you especially if you are a student.

    Cons

    sometimes some animals are just mean and will bite you so becareful.

    Petco2019-08-28
Found 347 reviews